Question about the film "Once"

Started by Oraisteach, January 04, 2008, 02:52:05 AM

Oraisteach

I've just seen this film.  Fantastic.  Have a question, though.  Where exactly is the location of the scene outside Dublin where the couple are up on a hill overlooking the Irish Sea?  And what a great soundtrack too.

FL/MAYO

MasterShake

Not 100% certain but I think it was around Howth Summit.
"Calmer than you are".

Posted a thread on this in September http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=4571.0

I think the scene you are talking about was filmed in Wicklow.

It's in Dalkey, the movie is the biggest pile of shite I've seen since I didn't watch L.I.T.  Actually on second thoughts, that one Studs or whatever is no better.  The soundtrack is good all the same.

Just watched it again on the link on the other thread. Close to Dalkey alright, when they look north you can see Dalkey Head and when they look south you can see Bray Head. Probably Killiney.

The film is just as good the second time round. You notice though more such as when 'the guy' is on the public phone everyone around him is on a mobile. The critics in the States have loved it some giving 100% rating to it.

If you are into fast action, Hollywood formulas or just dont like singer/songwriter types this film isn't for you.

Anyone else though is likely to love it.

Even Spielberg mentioned it in a interview a few months ago:
http://www.usatoday.com

The film has been seen by some of their idols: Spielberg said Monday, "A little movie called Once gave me enough inspiration to last the rest of the year."

Quote from: muppet on January 06, 2008, 10:22:57 PM
Just watched it again on the link on the other thread. Close to Dalkey alright, when they look north you can see Dalkey Head and when they look south you can see Bray Head. Probably Killiney.

The film is just as good the second time round. You notice though more such as when 'the guy' is on the public phone everyone around him is on a mobile. The critics in the States have loved it some giving 100% rating to it.

If you are into fast action, Hollywood formulas or just dont like singer/songwriter types this film isn't for you.

Anyone else though is likely to love it.

Even Spielberg mentioned it in a interview a few months ago:
http://www.usatoday.com

The film has been seen by some of their idols: Spielberg said Monday, "A little movie called Once gave me enough inspiration to last the rest of the year."
I'm not into fast action nor Hollywood formulae, but I do like a good story, I thought there was little in the way of a story and so much of the movie was contrived and nonsense imo.  That public phone thing got me alright, other annoying things were:
- Yer one selling the flowers - slovaks/czechs (I don't remember which she was), unless members of the romany community do not sell flowers, they rarely have cleaning jobs - they can easily get relatively well paying jobs.
- the lads next door coming in to watch 'Fair City' on her TV, TV's can be picked up for about €20 or probably free on jumble.ie, they could buy a new one for a couple of hundred anyway, it shouldn't take them too many weeks work to get that money together.
There was a pile of that type of lazy stereotypical stuff, but it's been about a month since I saw it, anyway, each to their own, you're right though, I wouldn't be big into singer/songwriter movies.

Quote- Yer one selling the flowers - slovaks/czechs (I don't remember which she was), unless members of the romany community do not sell flowers, they rarely have cleaning jobs - they can easily get relatively well paying jobs.
At no stage was it suggested she was Roma or a Gypsy. BTW she was Czech. I recently used an Irish woman with her own cleaning company with all Eastern Europeans working for her, no Roma either.
Quote- the lads next door coming in to watch 'Fair City' on her TV, TV's can be picked up for about €20 or probably free on jumble.ie, they could buy a new one for a couple of hundred anyway, it shouldn't take them too many weeks work to get that money together.
I take your point here but it is meant to be a quirky film, not a study of Irish life.
QuoteThere was a pile of that type of lazy stereotypical stuff, but it's been about a month since I saw it, anyway, each to their own, you're right though, I wouldn't be big into singer/songwriter movies.
Funny thing is I hate musicals and was indifferent to the Frames, that is until I saw the film. It isn't to my normal taste but there you go, each to their own.

Quote from: muppet on January 06, 2008, 11:53:00 PM
Quote- Yer one selling the flowers - slovaks/czechs (I don't remember which she was), unless members of the romany community do not sell flowers, they rarely have cleaning jobs - they can easily get relatively well paying jobs.
At no stage was it suggested she was Roma or a Gypsy. BTW she was Czech. I recently used an Irish woman with her own cleaning company with all Eastern Europeans working for her, no Roma either.
I know she wasn't Roma, that's why she shouldn't have been selling flowers!!
Anyway, point taken, I'm just too cynical about these things (don't start me on the vacuum cleaner scene >:().

I was curious about where that scene was as well.

I thought it must be somewhere around Dalkey until I saw the car park where they had the bike. There is a car park half way up howth hill that looks very like the one featured.

I am big frames fan myself but wouldn't be into what I would regard as arthouse films, I thought it was worth a watch, ONCE
(pun intended). I couldn't see myself watching it again, but I'm getting the soundtrack as I thought the songs were class.

In relation to the pub where the phone is, in case anyone is interested.. I looks like Grogans to me, an old haunt of Hansards. We were on a small pub crawl last Friday and I had three of the most beautiful pints of stout ever in it, so if you have never been and enjoy the black stuff it is well worth a visit.

Quote from: Louth Exile on January 07, 2008, 04:46:49 PMIn relation to the pub where the phone is, in case anyone is interested.. I looks like Grogans to me, an old haunt of Hansards. We were on a small pub crawl last Friday and I had three of the most beautiful pints of stout ever in it, so if you have never been and enjoy the black stuff it is well worth a visit.
It probably is, they have lunch just round the corner from Grogans, a spot I tend to hit myself from time to time - though I'm rarely as grungey as the normal clientele (but not never).