U/21 Mass Brawl in Laois

Started by Dinny Breen, December 19, 2007, 05:58:34 PM

Consider how the Leinster Board treated Moorefield it will interesting to see how Liam O'Neill's own Laois deal with this....but then again no TV cameras so who cares.....

Laois board delay decision on brawl
Tuesday, 18 December 2007 15:56
The Laois County Board will await the appointment of a new Competitions Control Committee before taking action over a major fracas which occurred in the Laois Under-21 Football semi-final.

The incident occured during a clash between holders Portlaoise and St Joseph's/Barrowhouse last Saturday, seven minutes from full-time.

Three players were sent-off and an ambulance had to be called for St Joseph's' Paddy Fleming.

The violence broke out after St Joseph's' Donie Kingston and Portlaoise's Cahir Healy were involved in a tangle close to the St Joseph's dugout.

Both players were sent-off by referee Eddie Whelan, while St Joseph's full-back Fleming was taken away by ambulance after being knocked unconscious in a melee that is believed to have lasted up to ten minutes.

A special meeting of the full County Board Committee has been convened for 7 January at which a new CCC will assume office.

Last night's meeting at the Heritage Hotel, Portlaoise deemed that the outgoing CCC is now defunct after last week's County Convention.

The report of referee Whelan has yet to be received and it will likely be at least a month before the teams will meet each other again for the refixture.

Portlaoise were leading 0-09 to 0-05 when the match was abandoned

Ah jaysus Dinny I thought this had slipped by without any notice so I was saying nothing.  There was a man in the crowd who got a serious belt as well and it all started over nothing.

passedit

Jeez Bud ye can set your clock by your lot. I hear yiz are batin fcuk outta eachother at county training already as well.
Don't Panic

Hand it over to Armagh county board to sort out, they'll soon have it swept under the carpet.

QuoteJeez Bud ye can set your clock by your lot. I hear yiz are batin fcuk outta eachother at county training already as well.

I never heard that, ara, I'd say it is just gossip !

passedit

Don't Panic

Was it not a bit of "handbags" ??.  :D ;D ;D ;) ;)