Cluxton slams fairweather Dubs

Started by Balboa, October 11, 2007, 12:11:16 PM

Quote from: his holiness nb on October 12, 2007, 12:41:12 PM
Quote from: Bensars on October 12, 2007, 12:11:28 PM
Quite embarrassing really when you have a member of your own county squad coming out and criticising their own support.

Only embarrassing for the guys who dont bother going to these games with no real excuse (family/club commitments).

I for one am not embarrassed that Cluxton had the balls to tell it like it is.
Its a pity more players from other counties dont have the same courage.

Well said holiness, sure big joe slagged the armagh fans and tha was in the championship. but whatever your you boy look at it, Dublin are the best supported team in the country! No polish needed there as its just a fact!

i think on a second reflection cluxton should have said nothing. Initially i agreed but i think he said it badly. I pretty much go to all dublin games but there are some i can't get to in relation to work - family etc. does that make me as bad as all the rest. i think we all know what what he was trying to say but it came out badly and he's pissed off a number of the loyal fans i know who due to various commitments can't get to places like Ballybofey. In future he'd best off saying nothing if that's the best he can do. Considering some of the diabolical away performances Dublin have put up in recent years in the leagues it's a bit rich to be honest.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 12, 2007, 12:51:39 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 11, 2007, 01:00:23 PM
I don't think there isn't a Dublin fan who doesn't admit that there are lots of bandwagon supporters (though every county has them).....for me the problem is when people who do go to games struggle to get tickets for the big games... >:(

was it not yourself who was waxing lyrically a few months ago in a previous thread , about the huge numbers of Dubs that go to national league games.

I think this story blows that lie out of the water !

Apologies if it wasnt yourself, but it most def was one of the more prominent Dubs posters on here - using this to entirely back up their point (I cannot remember what the discussion was about though).
Whoever it was, please stick to the truth in future, rather than lying to attempt to back up your argument. Thats the preserve of the loyalists on the non-gaa part of the board!

Anyhow, so what if people dont go to games during the winter months. Theres other things to be done, houses to be fixed up that were neglected due to trapseing round the country all summer watching games !
Others have juvenile training/coaching etc.
Theres always going to be a problem in giving out tickets. Life just aint always fair. All we can do is our best.
I dont recall anyone claiming  Dublin have huge away support for the league but rather that  Dublins away support is often on a par with the home supporters of the county Dublin are  playing case in point Cork and Kerry the last time i was down their.

I don't think there isn't a Dublin fan who doesn't admit that there are lots of bandwagon supporters (though every county has them).....for me the problem is when people who do go to games struggle to get tickets for the big games... >:(

was it not yourself who was waxing lyrically a few months ago in a previous thread , about the huge numbers of Dubs that go to national league games.

Apologies if it wasnt yourself, but it most def was one of the more prominent Dubs posters on here - using this to entirely back up their point (I cannot remember what the discussion was about though).
Whoever it was, please stick to the truth in future, rather than lying to attempt to back up your argument. Thats the preserve of the loyalists on the non-gaa part of the board!

Anyhow, so what if people dont go to games during the winter months. Theres other things to be done, houses to be fixed up that were neglected due to trapseing round the country all summer watching games !
Theres always going to be a problem in giving out tickets. Life just aint always fair. All we can do is our best.

Lynchboy - apology accepted as it wasn't me waxing lyrical about that at all.........

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 12, 2007, 02:13:01 PM

Lynchboy - apology accepted as it wasn't me waxing lyrical about that at all.........

makes a change  :o
no problem- apologies again - to show I can say that, and am genuine in doing so

but I wonder which one of the Dubs contingent did - and will they admit to this....  ???

Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 12, 2007, 02:25:31 PM

no problem- apologies again - to show I can say that, and am genuine in doing so

but I wonder which one of the Dubs contingent did - and will they admit to this....  ???
How about since your the one making the wild accusation you find the post and link too it?  Innocent until proven guilty !

Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on October 12, 2007, 09:30:13 AM
Lads, (LaoisLad and GNevin) this is infantile again. Can ye not just stick to the topic at hand without calling each other fools or muppets. I'm editing all the name calling posts. Sometimes a fool's pardon can be granted to the newcomers on board who might not be familiar with what annoys other posters, but ye are both here long enough at this stage.

By the way Tankie, the first silly post came after 9pm last night. What exactly do you expect the Mods to do? Sit around all night waiting for someone to post something dodgy? Get a grip man.

:-[
Sorry i'll hand in my 100 lines in the morning

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2007, 08:36:13 PM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on October 12, 2007, 09:30:13 AM
Lads, (LaoisLad and GNevin) this is infantile again. Can ye not just stick to the topic at hand without calling each other fools or muppets. I'm editing all the name calling posts. Sometimes a fool's pardon can be granted to the newcomers on board who might not be familiar with what annoys other posters, but ye are both here long enough at this stage.

By the way Tankie, the first silly post came after 9pm last night. What exactly do you expect the Mods to do? Sit around all night waiting for someone to post something dodgy? Get a grip man.

:-[
Sorry i'll hand in my 100 lines in the morning

Your line is  Super Dubs for Sam 2008! , now get to it  ;D  and no double or tipple pens

Or maybe i should write

If Gnevin thinks that current Dublin team is destined to be anything other than glorious failures then he is more disillusioned than i thought  :-*

I'd rather be disillusioned than be like you ,having no hope .

Quote from: Gnevin on October 12, 2007, 02:27:31 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 12, 2007, 02:25:31 PM

How about since your the one making the wild accusation you find the post and link too it?  Innocent until proven guilty !
Any luck finding that Lynchboy?