Armagh’s Dyas Headed for Oz

Started by screenexile, August 28, 2007, 09:51:02 AM

Spiritof98

With the International rules still in place the Gaa had a bargaining tool to use with the AFL as regarding limiting recruitment of young players. Now that the GAA cut the series the AFL has said f**k ye boys, we're taking the cream of crop and theres not single thing you can do about it.

Its a sad situation in my eyes, Martin Clarke and Kevin no doubt would have been 10 year county players and served up some tremendous battles. But if im honest, if I was in the same situation I would do the exact same thing. Good luck to Kevin from all at the Harps.
I'll go back if Marsdens back

Fremantle are in the hunt for a lump of a fella with speed to help strengthen the midfield so if any of you can think of recommending anyone, let's know.  I'll drop a line to them. ;)

i think Aerlik is a fremantle scout on here reading up on our best young players,
quick admin close the Derry/Laois MFC Thread!!!

>:(  ;)  :D

Would there be an arguement if the current trend continues that if a county had a really good underage player that they didnt want to lose that one course of action would be not to pick for county at under age level? This would ensure that the player wouldnt get the same exposure and is less likely to be spotted at a yong age by the scouts. The older the player gets the less chance there is of an aussie club taking a chance on him.

dublinfella

Quote from: orangeman on August 31, 2007, 11:28:50 AM
Noody owns them - yuo're right - but the AFL are just stepping in and taking way the best athletes we have  - you don't have any problem with that ?

The club that these people come from have devoted a lot of time and energy towards their development and the AFL scouts come and lift them.

With respect Stephenite, it's not shite to use your own well chosen and very choice expression.

I never understand the attitude that would begrudge a youngfella the chance to make a great deal of money as a professional athlete in any sport. What possible right do you have to tell him he cannot move abroad and try his luck?

QuoteWould there be an arguement if the current trend continues that if a county had a really good underage player that they didnt want to lose that one course of action would be not to pick for county at under age level? This would ensure that the player wouldnt get the same exposure and is less likely to be spotted at a yong age by the scouts. The older the player gets the less chance there is of an aussie club taking a chance on him.

That idea just has so many things wrong with it I don't know where to start!
Seriously, how could that possibly be a good approach?

dublinfella

Quote from: Tubberman on September 02, 2007, 06:30:09 PM
QuoteWould there be an arguement if the current trend continues that if a county had a really good underage player that they didnt want to lose that one course of action would be not to pick for county at under age level? This would ensure that the player wouldnt get the same exposure and is less likely to be spotted at a yong age by the scouts. The older the player gets the less chance there is of an aussie club taking a chance on him.

That idea just has so many things wrong with it I don't know where to start!
Seriously, how could that possibly be a good approach?

i think whathe is trying to get at, is that it may become in the interest of clubs to 'play down' their stars in order to keep them. i can see the logic, but never going to happen

Quote from: orangeman on August 31, 2007, 11:28:50 AM
Noody owns them - yuo're right - but the AFL are just stepping in and taking way the best athletes we have  - you don't have any problem with that ?

The club that these people come from have devoted a lot of time and energy towards their development and the AFL scouts come and lift them.

With respect Stephenite, it's not shite to use your own well chosen and very choice expression.

It is shite, also with respect. And I do have a problem with it, but the fact remains that nobody can ask for payment for something they don't own.

The question is what is the lesser evil? Compensation in the form of payment which will lead to, at the very least, some form of professionalism in the GAA or just let the young lads go.

Demanding payments now for lads like Dyas is a waste of time

Dyas is offered an AFL contract 

Kevin Dyas was part of Armagh's winning Under-21 squad
Young Armagh star Kevin Dyas looks set to switch codes after a successful four-week trial with Australian Rules side Collingwood.
Dyas has been offered a two-year contract with the Melbourne-based side and will link up with Down's Martin Clarke who is making waves Down Under.

The 19-year-old Dromintee player was impressed by the Collingwood set-up.

"They are very professional, a team that takes it seriously, and with a very professional game plan."

Dyas is expected to sit down with his family over the weekend to discuss the possibility of a move Down Under.

"I'm going to talk it out with my family and make a decision in the next week or two," said Dyas.

"It's a massive decision, and I don't want to rush into anything.

"I would be going out to give it my best shot, there would be no point wasting my time."

Clarke, who moved to Collingwood last year, has been a revelation since he was elevated into Magpies senior squad.

"He has been very impressive, and is playing really well," said Dyas.

"He was one of the best players when I was there."

hope the lad makes it over there, seems to have the right attitude and determination from the off.

Don't think anything is decided yet but best of luck to him if he goes.

kinghen

according to marty clarke, he told me that dyas has impressed all the right people over there and that the decision is basically in his hands now! i cant see him turnin it down especially with the success of marty, it would be a different story if marty wasnt doin so well! good luck to the lad!

Fair play to Dyas - there's no decision to be made here - he'll be in Australia till he or they decide otherwise.