Sligo Rovers to honour Connacht Champions at Soccer match

Started by BallyhaiseMan, August 10, 2007, 05:00:41 PM

I believe Sligo Rovers players are full time professionals and not too many locals among them.

Balboa

I wonder how Seanie would feel if Sligo were being honoured at say for arguments sake a Sligo Rovers v Man United glamour friendly........

QuoteIf Seanie is annoying the soccer loving cnut  Soccerfella he must be doing something right !!!
So you're a bigot if you love your GAA Club and County more than a Professional Soccer club based in the locality.
Give me patience.....

That's about the best summation you can have of it. I stand over all the points I've made. They are based on fact and direct experience.

QuoteIf we look at the current set up in the Showgrounds how many of the Sligo born players would make the county team?

Seeing as you asked - Gary Curran. I know you're trying to justify your support of both but to me it is undeniable that there is a conflict between the two. I only care about how my club and county team do and do not care about Rovers. If that's a crime then shoot me.

Mano

Quote from: baoithe on August 13, 2007, 07:58:07 PM
If we look at the current set up in the Showgrounds how many of the Sligo born players would make the county team? Not one of them. Connor O'Grady was there or there abouts at one stage but ultimately not good enough.

He would have been a lot better than forwards playing last week.

Gary Curran and Raphael Cretaro are 2 other footballers who played minor for Sligo and for their clubs and could be playing county football now but for soccer

baoithe

Seánie, by no means am I suggesting that it is a crime to pledge your total support to the GAA. My argument is that it is not Sligo Rovers that have hindered or continue to hinder potential success for the county team.
With regard to O'Grady and Raf, both of these lads simply prefer to play soccer. In fact O'Grady was going to sign for Longford at the beginning of the season when McDonald refused to compromise on the part-time player issue. Likewise with Raf. When he fell out with Seán Connor he went to Galway Utd. There was no talk of him playing for the county team because he simply did not want to. Even counties where there are no eircom league teams there are still lads who play soccer over GAA because they prefer to.
Now with Gary Curran I'm not so sure. I think Gary Curran pledged himself to soccer because he felt that he could make it, possibly, cross channel. A spate of injuries seem to have set him back a good bit so I think that ship may have sailed. If he prefers GAA he will return to it and Rovers will have feck all influence on him. There's nothing all that attractive about playing for Rovers.
Anyway, apart from all that, my main argument is that instead of accusing soccer of ruining our chances of success over the years we should be getting off our arse and working to improve the development of facilities and coaching throughout the county. A case in point is the ongoing saga in relation to the training facility for county teams. A well run organisation which maximises the resources available to it will most definitely reap the rewards. Sligo GAA is not there yet but there are signs of improvement.

QuoteAnyway, apart from all that, my main argument is that instead of accusing soccer of ruining our chances of success over the years we should be getting off our arse and working to improve the development of facilities and coaching throughout the county. A case in point is the ongoing saga in relation to the training facility for county teams. A well run organisation which maximises the resources available to it will most definitely reap the rewards. Sligo GAA is not there yet but there are signs of improvement.

All the issues you talk about are being addressed. As someone who has first hand bitter experience of how difficult it can be to develop facilities I'd suggest that you cut the county board a bit of slack. The people there are doing their level best and will get there. Sligo GAA is moving in the right direction. I never said Rovers are the sole reason for our lack of success - far from it. They clearly do not help matters though. That is my point. They are detrimental to things I work for.

They ran to the papers about this "presentation" without getting agreement from the people they invited. That is clumsy at best. It was purely a PR stunt. I don't see it as genuine and I'm definitely not alone in that.