Eamon Coleman

Started by Mourne Rover, June 07, 2007, 10:06:49 PM

oakleafgael

JOE BROLLY
June 15, 2007 | Gaelic Life
'Burn the hurls' Eamonn Coleman roared once at Brian McGilligan, when the big man appeared back limping from a hurling match. It sent the dressing room into hilarious uproar, McGilligan ranting at him and the rest of us shouting and laughing. This was a man obsessed only with football.On Wednesday, when I arrived at his homeplace on the Loughshore with a posse of his old boys, Adrian McGuckin was standing at the door with his son Adrian. The older the young man gets, the more he looks like hisfather, both keepers of the Ballinderry flame. Standing with them was Ardboe's Patsy Forbes, who played senior football for longer than Stanley Matthews, and still looks as though he could shackle a lively corner-forward. The quartet was completed by Paddy Crozier, who lives a stone's throw away, and over the years spent countless hours in Eamonn's cottage talking football. The little general would have been impressed by the congregation.

Gary appeared at the door, and I was immediately struck by how like his father he has become. He has built a handsome
house for his own family right beside his father's, one looking on to the other, and it was hard not to imagine them standing chatting together in the evenings as the years rolled on, discussing this footballer or that one. Alas, his son has been robbed of this great pleasure, and it is most unfair.

When Eamonn took over the Derry team it was going nowhere. It was a squad full of marquee players, but underachievement
was a way of life. He set about changing this with a vengeance. He forced us to believe that we were the best. He often took me aside and said " I cannot believe how good you are, you are the best corner-forward in Ireland." Already vain, I was happy to take him at his word. It was only years later I discovered he had been saying exactly the same to Enda Gormley. There are two things that stand out about that era. First, the changing room ringing with laughter at one of Eamonn's hilarious outbursts, and second the hair standing on our necks as he breathed a fiery oration. Brian McEniff always got a touch, as did anything to do with Tyrone, and of course DJ Kane, who was Eamonn's panto villain. Sometimes when he spoke, eyes bulging, fist shaking, tears would come into his eyes. What passion! " I want you to be like those hateful Meath b........ds" he used to shout. " Derry teams is far too nice. I don't want you boys to be nice. I want you to be hateful! Nice boys win nothing! " Resistance was futile. When he told us we would win an All-Ireland we surrendered to the notion, and he never let us doubt it for a second. He didn't exactly use the Queen's English, in fact I doubt very much if the Queen would have had the faintest notion what he was saying, but for all that he was one of the best communicators I ever came across. He was full of fun, and had a deep affection not just for us, but for people in general. It was simply impossible not to like the man. When he took over, the team was riven by factions, and club was far more important than county. Some of the lads wouldn't even speak to others. Eamonn cured this quickly. He played cards with the boys at the back of the bus. He encouraged camaraderie. He brought fun. For a strict teetotaler he was full of mischief. He seemed to know everything about us. Who was courting whom, who was drinking, where they were drinking and when. John Mulholland told a hilarious story at the wake that shed some light on this. The morning of an important challenge match in Roscommon, Fergal McCusker appeared at breakfast with a black eye (again). Big John had only just been brought onto the panel and Eamonn approached him after the vittals. " John, I haven't picked this team yet, and there's a big opportunity for you here today" said Eamonn. " Now what happened Fergal McCusker's eye?"

Just a year ago, I met Gary and himself at the league gamein Navan. They were sitting in the stand in front of us, wearing their Derry caps, more like brothers than father and son. He had come through his treatment and was in terrific form, looking as youthful as ever. The Derry faithful were delighted. We crowded round him at half-time as he explained it was the first match he had been to since his illness. Afterwards in the carpark, I shared my picnic with them, and came away with a spring in my step. Only a few weeks ago, he was doing well and looking forward to the all clear. Now, he is dead, and there is nothing anyone can do.

His homeplace is nestled right on the loughshore, in one of the most beautiful sites on God's earth. As we were driving away, I thought of lines from Yeats' Inisfree:
" And I shall have some peace there,
for peace comes dropping slow,
Dropping from the veils of this morning to where the cricket sings;
There midnight's all a-glimmer,
and noon a purple glow,
And evening full of the linnet's wings.
"I will arise and go now, for always night and day
I hear the water lapping with low
sounds by the shore;
While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements gray,
I hear it in the deep heart's core. "
Impossible not to like

Quote from: Cloc Mor on June 17, 2007, 09:49:31 PM
Pathetic one minute 'tribute' to Eamon on the Championship tonight.  Obviously just thrown together today with interviews with ex-managers at Clones today.  The man deserved better than this.

It was poor. However the supporters and players at the game today were fantastic. The clapping before and after the minute's silence was unplanned. Really touching moment.

DoYerJob Linesman

I,like many others, was lucky enough to count "wee eamonn" as a friend.  Whilst most will rightly recall his managerial proess and footballing brain, these are not necessarily what springs to mind when I think of eamonn.

What i prefer to remember is his impish way, his mischievious side. The way he used to "confide" in you, even though you knew when he was telling you the story that he had told it numerous times previously! His obvious love for his children,and the pride he showed when speaking of them.  Margaret, Gary and Viviens loss is infinitely greater than any loss we may be feeling.

Eamonn was a legend living in ordinary shoes, but then I supppose all legends are like that.  I'll miss wee eamonn greatly over the coming years,but I'm all the better for having spent time with him.  God rest you Eamonn.

You were quare craic!!
17/03/02 - Semple Stadium Thurles - Heaven On Earth

honestly the spontanaeous applause before the minutes silence for Coleman today was a lovely moment and showed the warmth that people felt for him and his character.  Fair play to Donegal, Armagh and Tyrone fans for the nice touch. 

Great tribute to Eamon on tonight's Road to Croke, with lovely pieces from both Dessies Dolan, Junior and Senior.  Credit where it's due, well done RTÉ.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 26, 2007, 09:16:20 PM
Great tribute to Eamon on tonight's Road to Croke, with lovely pieces from both Dessies Dolan, Junior and Senior.  Credit where it's due, well done RTÉ.

It was a good tribute alright. I've yet to hear anyone say a bad word about the man.
Every time they play that clip of him in the Hogan Stand with Downey making the speech in 93 brings a tear to the eye.
Pure Derry, Pure Gentleman, Pure Class.

super tribute and well put together. lovely words by dessie when he said he loved to see eamons car in the drive when he came home..

Lovely tribute to him alright. Dessie Snr seems like a nice chap. I never knew that about Eamon living with them in Athlone for years. It's repeated tomorrow night as far as I know. Around 11:30-ish.

mick999

Quote from: hardstation on July 27, 2007, 01:04:27 AM
No matter what grievances I have with Doire, the wee man from the 'Quigan' was something special.

True, his love of the game transcended all boundaries, and infected all those who were lucky enough to have had direct contact with him.

Great piece, both Dessies came across really well, that was some mop of hair Junior had in the picture. Reaffirms my belief that Dessie Senior should be in charge next year, I'd say himself and Eamon had many the fine evening together.