Away from Home

Started by Bomber2312, July 17, 2007, 12:21:56 PM

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: his holiness nb on July 17, 2007, 12:48:35 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 17, 2007, 12:36:01 PM
I wonder if Croker Park was in Castlebar, Killarney or Letterkenny would the Dubs fill it so regualary? Or to be honest even if it was in Wexford?

Jaysus there were a good few Dubs in Castlebar for the league game (the mayo "firm" were hilarious), I know its all in proportion to population but nine times out of ten its difficult to find an away supporter in Parnell Park at a league game.

Ya the Mayo under 14 year old eejits and the adult Dublin eejits where a bit of a disgrace alright.

My point is there is no way that Dublin would get 50K-70K at matches that far away if they had to do it for about 5-6 matches a year, like nearly every other county that gets to the latter stages have to do. Its VERY EXPENSIVE.

According to the Cork lads I was talking to down in Pairc Ui Rinn there where more Mayo fans there than last time Dublin visited.

Mayo further away, no train link to Cork, poor roads along the Atlantic Coast, with 1 tenth of your population. Basically what Im saying if there was 1.2 Million Mayo people and Croker was in Castlebar I would expect 800 K to be looking for tickets to games as opposed to 90-100K with Dublin.

Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 17, 2007, 12:53:39 PM
I wonder if Croker Park was in Castlebar, Killarney or Letterkenny would the Dubs fill it so regualary? Or to be honest even if it was in Wexford?

Jaysus there were a good few Dubs in Castlebar for the league game (the mayo "firm" were hilarious), I know its all in proportion to population but nine times out of ten its difficult to find an away supporter in Parnell Park at a league game.

Ya the Mayo under 14 year old eejits and the adult Dublin eejits where a bit of a disgrace alright.

My point is there is no way that Dublin would get 50K-70K at matches that far away if they had to do it for about 5-6 matches a year, like nearly every other county that gets to the latter stages have to do. Its VERY EXPENSIVE.

According to the Cork lads I was talking to down in Pairc Ui Rinn there where more Mayo fans there than last time Dublin visited.

Mayo further away, no train link to Cork, poor roads along the Atlantic Coast, with 1 tenth of your population. Basically what Im saying if there was 1.2 Million Mayo people and Croker was in Castlebar I would expect 800 K to be looking for tickets to games as opposed to 90-100K with Dublin.
Considering their was more Dublin fans the Cork he's one to talk, also wasnt their the minor matter of Ireland V ?  that weekend but i'm sure no one from Mayo watches Rugby like the true gaels you all are

Fishead would you stop talking shite, you know as well as me you need to be 17 to join the firm  ;)
Seriously delusional comment that, at least admit it when a minority of your ADULT fans disgrace themselves.
I am quick enough to condemn Dublin fans when they carry on like that.

And your argument re attendance is based on what some lad in Cork reckoned about one time the Dubs visited for a league game  :o

If there were 1.2 million Mayo people you probably would need much more than 80K tickets, but so what, there arent.
If all of Dublin were from Dublin and all supported the GAA we would be looking for 1.2 million tickets for every game.
But why come out with "ifs" that will never happen?

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: Gnevin on July 17, 2007, 12:57:00 PM

Considering their was more Dublin fans the Cork he's one to talk, also wasnt their the minor matter of Ireland V ?  that weekend but i'm sure no one from Mayo watches Rugby like the true gaels you all are

Have to say I would always choose supporting Mayo over any other sports event. Was in Ballbofey at the Mayo V Donegal national league game the same day Ireland played France in Croker for the first time, there was a large Mayo travelling support there. Hve to say I was a hundred times more interested in the Mayo match than the game in Croker.

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: his holiness nb on July 17, 2007, 01:04:24 PM

Fishead would you stop talking shite, you know as well as me you need to be 17 to join the firm  ;)
Seriously delusional comment that, at least admit it when a minority of your ADULT fans disgrace themselves.
I am quick enough to condemn Dublin fans when they carry on like that.

And your argument re attendance is based on what some lad in Cork reckoned about one time the Dubs visited for a league game  :o

If there were 1.2 million Mayo people you probably would need much more than 80K tickets, but so what, there arent.
If all of Dublin were from Dublin and all supported the GAA we would be looking for 1.2 million tickets for every game.
But why come out with "ifs" that will never happen?

I said 800K not 80K  ;D

Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 17, 2007, 01:03:38 PM
Why is there so much Dub-Bashing on this site???

they bite every time

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 17, 2007, 02:03:49 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 17, 2007, 01:03:38 PM
Why is there so much Dub-Bashing on this site???

they bite every time
To be fair now Gab , i've let alot slide in the last year or so but it has been taken to a whole new level

Quote from: Gnevin on July 17, 2007, 02:05:03 PM
To be fair now Gab , i've let alot slide in the last year or so but it has been taken to a whole new level

why bother replying - seriously? they are only doing it on a wind-up

Bomber2312

Could meath for example have demanded the second game be held in Navan?

Jaysus ye Jackeens are all very sensitive, and no one has mentioned flying the Union Jack for Victoria in 1900 yet  :P

It was Kerry week a few weeks back, then we had a good cut off Armagh, its Dublins turn this week (Mayo have got off very lightly this week the feckers) and hopefully if Louth do a job next weekend we can all have a good laugh at the Langers next week.

Quote from: Bomber2312 on July 17, 2007, 12:21:56 PM
When was the last time Dublin played a championship match away from Croker?
Most Leinster matches are held in Croker, and Dublin are no exception. Its very rare the team that wins Leinster will have played more than one game outside Croker, and often its none.

But when Dublin lose in Leinster, they tend to have qualifiers fixed for provincial venues, e.g. in recent years we've beaten Leitrim in Carrick, Longford in Portlaoise and Derry in Clones. And a few years back we drew with then lost to Kerry in Thurles.

I honestly don't believe Croke Park is an advantage to the Dublin team - with the exception of playing teams who havent played there in years, but that doesnt happen often. I'm probably forgetting something, but I think the Kerry match in Thurles was the only championship match we've lost outside of Croker in more than 25 years, and especially in the 80s and 90s we'd plenty of games outside Croker. We've a super record in the provincial grounds in Leinster.

Playing in Croke Park is most certainly an advantage to supporters who live in Dublin.