Kieran Donaghy or Enda Muldoon

Started by saffron sam2, June 13, 2007, 08:48:08 AM

If you had to pick one as the double f on your county team, who would it be?

Kieran Donaghy
24 (39.3%)
Enda Muldoon
31 (50.8%)
Stephen O'Neill (for Redhand Fan only)
6 (9.8%)

Total Members Voted: 56

Voting closed: June 17, 2007, 08:48:08 AM

I don't think there's any doubt that Muldoon is te best al round football. some of the skills he can produce on the ball and his deceptive movements are closer to what you'd expect from a canavan or McGuigan rather than a man with his frame. i'd still say donaghy is a better target man as he gets off the ground v v well from a standing jump. i'd also agree that muldoon isn't a natural full forward... the main failing he has in that respect is that when he wins the ball with his back to goal, he will invariably attempt to turn and work through tackles to get his shot away, whereas Donaghy will play others in better in that situation.

I'd pick Muldoon to add to the armagh team out of the two.

QuoteFew good games in the back end of last years championship and suddenly he's the messiah? Bollox

Whats he done this year apart from show himself up as a thug?

What thuggery are you refering to? You wont meet a nicer lad off the field and he has always been very gracious after games to the opposition. He has seen a few red cards this year but for pulling and draggin and normal stuff you pick up 2 yellows for, hardly falling under the category of being a thug.

He has been out of action most of the spring and early summer with a dislocated shoulder, he was very rusty against Waterford, but it was his first game game back and he worked hard all day when things did not go his way. Expect a big game from him against Canty in the Munster final with a fiurther month of intensive traing under his belt.

As for being a messiah, that all media drivel, he helped turn Kerry's year last year but was only ony key players amoung many, Darragh OSe being the most influential over our whole season.

As for comparison with Muldoon, Enda is probably a better footballer, but there are not many who can deal with Donaghy's aerial threat be it at midfield or full forward, and he knows where the goal is too.

KM - As good as Donaghy is at full forward, he could be much better if the Kerry team were better geared towards utilising him. I know its an alien concept to kerry footballers but there are so many occasions when the big fella is one on one in square and waving for the ball but Dara, declan o'sullivan or someone will put the head down and carry the ball instead of letting it into him.

True Uladh but you need a good bit of variety and keep teams guessing, I would have liked to see more direct ball last year, and Tommy Griffin was the main supplier to Donaghy.

I think you will see more of the likes of Brosnan and Gooch feeding off Donaghy this year (hopefully)

Canty is a very good full back and Kerry may use Donaghy as a decoy and have Gooch as the ball winner.
I think Shields is a weak link in the Cork full back line. But time will tell.

Everyone is expecting Donaghy to produce the goods this year and the pressure is on him from within Kerry and the media but It could be someone else who steps up this year to take the focus off him, I have no problem with that as long as we keep winning.

Donaghy simply because he is more effective and has the ability to turn a game.
Muldoon has way more football but nowadays the end result is all that matters.
Will be interesting to see how Donaghy is played this year by opposing defences tho.

Glensman

A few people saying Muldoon is definitely not a full forward - where do you reckon his best position is?

IS he fit enough for midfield these days? - no doubt his class would carry him through in most situations but at the top level?

I reckon Derry are onto a winner with both him and Bradley in the FF line if they can get enough decent ball in.

Give me Enda Muldoon every time! Muldoon has all the same attributes as Donaghy only he's more likely to get you points as well. Unfotunately Muldoon's fitness this last few years has let him down but I think he's proven over the years (With a hugely weaker team than Kerry) that he is class through and through. Remember his goal against Galway in the AISF? What about his 1-6 against Westmeath in the 2003 AIQF? Does anyone know if Donaghy ever scored 1-6 before?

I'm not saying Donaghy's a bad player of course he's good and last year showed it. However it was his first year and it is difficult to compare him and Muldoon properly when Muldoon has been playing and producing since the late 90's.

So in conclusion I think if Muldoon played for Kerry we would be talking about one of the all time greats. As it is he has still won an awful lot as a footballer and is definitely one of Derry's best ever players. I think that if Derry can get the right team out this year and barring injury Muldoon can show us all once again what he is capable of!

Quote from: Stranworst on June 13, 2007, 10:34:18 AM
I am not a big Muldoon fan but I picked him here purely because I think Donaghy is just a flash in the pan.

Few good games in the back end of last years championship and suddenly he's the messiah? Bollox

Whats he done this year apart from show himself up as a thug?

Enda on the other hand had a storming performance on Sunday and has done for years, class

Donaghy was the most influential player in last year's Championship. He missed a lot of this year so far with a bad shoulder injury. How can you write him off as a flash in the pan?

Muldoon has undoubted talent, but his form is far too patchy for me.

SuperDooperCooper

Asking someone to pick Donaghy or Muldoon is like asking you would prefer to see winning the all-Ireland Kerry or Derry.
I'm sure the Derry lads will go with their own as will we.
Donaghy will never score 1-6 in a championship game because his first thought is to lay off the ball.
Forward by their nature are selfish devils but in Gooch and Donaghy we have two that will always give the pass if it's on.
That's not to say Muldoon is anything other than a terrific player he gave an exhibition against Westmeath in '04 and his point into the hill with the scores level was exceptional, he even managed to score a great goal against us in '04 as well.
However I'm happy we have Donaghy. Roll on July 1st and the battle with Canty (who will test the shoulder) but Cork lads who will mark the red haired one........

from a neutrals perspective.
Donaghy is an excellent player.
Muldoon though is a brilliant player playing for a bad team.
If Muldoon was playing for kerry he'd have been chosen on the team of the century.

Muldoon gets my vote.
Brilliant stylish footballer.
There may be those that say on certain days he hasn't performed, but the fact is he's been around playing top class football for club and county for so long he's bound to have quiet games from time to time, especially given his injury difficulties.
Donaghy was excellent last year, the main reason why Kerry won the All-Ireland.
As O'Connor says in Times today, in three games with Donaghy at FF Kerry scored 11 goals, in the four games before that they scored none.
Fantastic FF option, but has a long way to go to be labelled one of the greats, which, in my book, Muldoon is

QuoteIf Muldoon was born in Kerry, would he be a real legend
QuoteIf Muldoon was playing for kerry he'd have been chosen on the team of the century.
QuoteSo in conclusion I think if Muldoon played for Kerry we would be talking about one of the all time greats

Yerra, just for appearances, he might want to turn up to a few training sessions and run a few laps before he waltzes on to the team.

Muldoon is the classier of the two, however does that justify his inclusion on the team.?If you had an excellent other 14 then Muldoon would have them singing, adding a lot more than Donaghy would to an already strong attack.
However if lifting and carrying was required then I'd have Donaghy.
I'd pay to watch Muldoon though- class act

Stalin

what if ye had them i the same team, throw them both in at FF, 2men ff line  :o

surely even a combination of the great ger reid and francie bellew wudnt stop them.....
A single death is a tragedy; a million deaths is a statistic