GAA project help

Started by slievegullion, May 02, 2007, 01:57:40 AM

Fishead_Sam

"I think you'd be better of splitting the question into the 26 counties and 6 counties as i know alot of the lads in the north feel BBC NI and UTV coverage is biased to say the least"

Hey Gnevin I know its not the way you meant it but for people watching from the 23 counties will tell you that BBC Norn Iron & UTV are clearly biased towards the 9 counties, it seems they always the favourates even when they are the underdogs, they seem to always rate  the Ulster team the best/winners even when they are not or it is 50-50.

Then again RTE seems biased towards Dublin & TG4 towards Galway, that lad with the baldie head from Galway on TG4 always wrecks me head he always says Galway will win every match and Mayo will lose every match, his predictions involving those two counties tends to be wrong 75% of the time, this smacks of bias and hardly a sign of good punditry.

slievegullion

Laoislad did you get my latest pm, my account is playing up a touch.

shitzroy

The Media's role in society is generally accepted to be one of an unbiased watchdog mainly keeping politicians and authorities of society in check. This can also be applied to sports, the media should hold an impartial opinion on sporting bodies and remain unbiased at all times while covering sporting events. I don't believe this to be the case between RTE and the GAA. It wouldn't be unfair to say that in some way, the two bodies are very much interwined, working together constantly. This can be seen in the way in which I believe RTE refuses to criticise the GAA on any contentious issue. Its almost like the same way Sky constantly try and sell the premiership, never saying a bad word about it and calling every Sunday a 'Super Sunday'. Their business depends on the attraction of the premiership and in the same way the GAA is worth so much to RTE.

There are two blatent examples of this. Some years ago, back when Ger Canning would commentate on the International rules with the Aussie guy, when the first row broke out the camaras turned away, filming the crowd. This was almost censoring the violence, protecting the GAA. Although I do except that the rows in the last series were well covered.

I am much less forgiving of the second example. When the new qualifying system was first introduced, RTE and Micheal Lyster along with the GAA deceitfully conned the whole of the Irish public into believing that the draw was live and transparent. It was indeed neither, as we found out when in typical fashion RTE messed up by showing the actual fixture on screen before it had even been drawn out of the bowl.   

QuoteNext qustion, what would be your opinon on a GAA channel either through the Internet or on a subscription outlet like  sky? Would it be feasible?

It might be a nice idea in theory but I don't think it would be feasible.  It would mean we could reach a wider audiences (and not just the homesick Irish) but what would you have on it? There just wouldn't be enough of high quality stuff to keep people interested.  It would be the same stuff over and over and over again, a bit like that 24 hr news the BBC does.  The first few months would be grand with replays, maybe a few interviews etc but the novelty would wear off.  I couldn't see it being very profitable to run it either.

On the media, useless shower of c***ts in the BBC, they aren't much better on UTV.  I think it's a disgrace that those stations provide little or no coverage (apart from when there is a row) of the GAA. Bigotry is the only explanation.  Look at the way End to End was run, a f**king weather man on it! Says it all.
As for RTE, as someone else said, amateurish is the only way to describe their coverage of the GAA.  There is no other sport that receives such amateurish coverage.  I've said it before, if any of us done our jobs the way they do theirs, we'd be sacked.  They can't even manage a half decent midweek show, actually they had one and it was cut.

Quote from: 5iveTimes on May 06, 2007, 04:07:23 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 06, 2007, 03:43:23 PM
Look at the way End to End was run, a f**king weather man on it! Says it all.

I actually thought Frank (McClory) Mitchell was the best of a bad bunch on UTV, certainly much better than that Gimp Lougie. He also has an All Ireland Club winners medal with Burren and is a regular at Down games.
That doesn't mean he can talk football and give insights.  Granted Logie was far more annoying and I longed for someone to deck him but at least you could see why he was there.

slievegullion

Thanks for responses, keep them coming ;)

Just out of interest, does anyone know how many members there are in the GAA, this is one piece of information I can not seem to find, probably right under my nose too.

FermPundit

Quote from: slievegullion on May 06, 2007, 06:31:58 PM
Thanks for responses, keep them coming ;)

Just out of interest, does anyone know how many members there are in the GAA, this is one piece of information I can not seem to find, probably right under my nose too.

The GAA has around 800,000 members I think
We'll win Ulster some day, not sure when.

slievegullion

I miss Logie is there any way RTE or Setanta can use him ?. Logie was a bit biased and wore his heart on his sleeve but if we could have a show every Thursday night with such characters it would really liven up the summer . I am sure we all listen to local radio and enjoyed the cracking commentaries

slievegullion

Last question.

What was your view on the Medias coverage of the controversial rule 21 and 42 issues?