Is it just me or is it quiet around here?

Started by Guillem2, March 28, 2008, 07:54:40 AM

For what it's worth, I agree with most of what GAA Bored has said - but in fairness Star Spangler's reply has more or less summed up why these things happen.

I wasn't one of the 'originals'.  I only dipped me toe in here around 2002, but even then there was some unrest among the natives.

The truth is, once you've seen an eighth renewal of the "Championship Predictions" thread, or the thirtieth rehash of the "Greatest Team You've Seen" thread, or the thousandth posting of the "Why GAA is better than soccer" nonsense, or the millionth cliched posting about "Tyrone Divers", "Dirty Dubs" or "Hurling is better", well it all starts to grate.

This isn't anyone's fault. Newbies to the board want to talk about these things they've been talking about in real life up til now. Oldtimers don't. Oldtimers then have a choice to make: talk about these things again, talk about non-GAA-related stuff, hold out until original threads surface (quite rare), or just quit. Apart from those who are happy to fill in their days talking non-GAA with GAA followers, it can only end up with a good old moan.

who was banned and why ?
drici and hardstation, Mike.
I really don't knew what the reason was but the admin and the pair of them seem to made it up and they are both back again, as busy as ever.
I came in on it when I read a post by hardstation saying poor drici had gotten a warning from the Admin to stop "shite stirring" and drici replied saying something like, "No bad language, please, and why am I being warned in the first place?"
With that drici was reported to be red carded and hardstation began to organise a protest, for which he too got the gate.
Which brings me back to this thread: several posters said they weren't sorry to see the pair of them off the board because they were popping up all over the place and posting irrelevant messages and acting as if they owned it. It was said that they weren't the only ones doing this either.
Maybe that could be a reason why some regulars appear to be staying away or at least not as busy as they used to be.
I really don't know.
The two gents in question are back and acting as if nothing has happened so I suppose anyone who is interested won't get an answer from that quarter.

It doesn't take a genius to work out who gaabored is, he's made the same speech a few times now under various names  ::)

The arrival of twitter had a slight effect on the board.

Personally I've lost all interest in watching Tyrone play crab ball any more.
Was telling a Dub I met in a shop yesterday how I usually get all excited about the new season ahead and who's new coming in to the setup

This year I'm dreading it and whilst some of my Tyrone colleagues are hopeful things can only improve, I think we're going backwards and lack huge leadership from the top down.
Time management is a major issues when you have a young family so it's a much bigger deal now to go away to Galway or Kerry for a night and watch us play sh*te.

On a brighter note the Tyrone v Dubs game in Croker is on my birthday 7th March so that could be fun.

Ye lads just have to accept that Tyrone are back in the pack now like most of us ;).

NaomhBridAbĂș

Quote from: Fuzzman on December 04, 2014, 10:58:30 AM
Personally I've lost all interest in watching Tyrone play crab ball any more.
Was telling a Dub I met in a shop yesterday how I usually get all excited about the new season ahead and who's new coming in to the setup

This year I'm dreading it and whilst some of my Tyrone colleagues are hopeful things can only improve, I think we're going backwards and lack huge leadership from the top down.
Time management is a major issues when you have a young family so it's a much bigger deal now to go away to Galway or Kerry for a night and watch us play sh*te.

On a brighter note the Tyrone v Dubs game in Croker is on my birthday 7th March so that could be fun.

I tend to agree with you there - i hate to face it but the road back might be a long one.

I am more interested to see the u21s to be honest...seems like a good set up and some athletic footballers in the middle of it all...if only MH doesn't pull them into the seniors and not play them.

I can't see any link between what the minors, u21s and seniors are doing - there should be at the very least players identified who represent the future...they should all be looking at playing a similar if not identical style of ball..which hasn't been the case....

If we don't feel suitably motivated after that armagh game, that would be disappointing....we'll end up looking like the knight in Pythons holy grail, were we are fighting a fight based on former results rather than current ability
in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye

Yeah back in the pack unless we get ourselves wan of these

It's a bit strange being a Tyrone and Everton fan at the moment as everyone else thinks we've got a super manager but all we ever seem to do is pass sideways until we lose the ball

Tyrone - quiet because we dont really care any more.
Armagh - quiet because they are all afraid of Mc Geeney
Dublin - quiet because the hype bit them again this year - spectacular fall from grace. took one hell of a beating. 
Donegal - quiet because, hey did we just give our top job to a Fermanagh man.. Oh dear..
Derry - quiet because we all know what Eoin Bradley isnt going to do this year. 
Kerry - quiet because they are smug.. only quiet when they win though.
Mayo - quiet because they are the meek.   

Quote from: Fuzzman on December 04, 2014, 03:59:20 PM
Yeah back in the pack unless we get ourselves wan of these

It's a bit strange being a Tyrone and Everton fan at the moment as everyone else thinks we've got a super manager but all we ever seem to do is pass sideways until we lose the ball
going well in Europe though.
I doubt Everton annoy as many opposition fans as Tyrone does