Ignorance

Started by mikehunt, September 15, 2014, 04:33:26 PM

Quote from: Puckoon on September 15, 2014, 11:10:50 PM
And for the records - slashing tires has got to be a misnomer. You'd be slashing for an hour before getting anywhere. You have to pop that thing in the side wall.

Careful now - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BWZ2I16hZSQ

And for the records - slashing tires has got to be a misnomer. You'd be slashing for an hour before getting anywhere. You have to pop that thing in the side wall.
Let the pressure do the work  ;D

It absolutely enrages me but a word of caution. I was about to have a go at this chap about 4 years ago for doing it - fella and girl in their mid-20s pulled up in a disabled space (again in Sainsbury's in Armagh!) and I was about to say something to the chap when he went to the back door and lifted out his disabled son  :-[. Narrow escape.

About 15 years ago I was up in Belfast with friends around the Christmas. I was about to get into a wheelchair friendly twxi and an aul doll shoved me out of the way and jumped in. The driver didn't care, a fare with less of the hassle.

My friends and I were stunned silence.

mikehunt

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 15, 2014, 11:09:29 PM
Seen a lad today at the car park at work, he parked too close to car beside opens door to get out and slams car beside him, I'm sitting in space beside him watching and he gets back in car and drives off, not before I take his number and give it to the receptionist in building I'm working in, total t**ser. Prefer the screwdriver method though.

Also a PT at the gym I go to every time parks in the disabled section, its right at the doorway and this lad is serious fit, could train all day long but has the audacity to park in a disable spot, I'd report him but he's one of these cage fighters and knock my fecking pan in lol

Seen a programme on BBC where they were nabbing people who were illegally using disabled places. One big fella used to use his mother's parking permit and parked in a disabled spot while he went to the gym. They impounded his car. He went to collect it, "give me my fawking car". They told him about the fine and that he'd have to receive a verbal warning. Told them to "fak off", swiped the permit from the council rep and walked out, left his car there. He collected it a week later.

Smokers.
Really get on my nerves, just flicking away fag buts onto the street. They probably wouldnt do it with any other bit of litter.

Zip Code

Quote from: laoislad on September 15, 2014, 09:30:54 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 15, 2014, 09:29:58 PM
I always check the handicapped spaces in the local shopping centre to make sure that the cars are validly parked. Reported a few in my time to the security lads inside.

But my pet hate at the moment are Fascist Cyclists rapping on windows at a traffic light cos they think you/they came too close to them etc.
Eff off ye cnuts. The last one I saw gave out yards for why, I don't know, and then the hoor hops up on the bike onto the path, then off the path and then through red lights.
Cyclists are the biggest ignorant c***ts on the road.

Zip Code

Quote from: Hardy on September 15, 2014, 10:12:18 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 15, 2014, 09:59:40 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 15, 2014, 09:53:35 PM
I got in a row with a lad in a wheelchair once, in the pub part of Orpheus in Belfast.

For some reason there was a queue five deep to get into the men's. So I popped back up to the disabled toilet for which there was no queue. I'm in and out in under a minute, and met the disabled fella on the way out the door. Starts giving me a load of grief about that toilet not being for me. My response is a simple enough 'being able bodied doesn't mean I should have to piss myself in a pub any more than you should', and I fucked him off properly when he wouldn't let it go.

To this day I make myself right; 30 men on the verge of wetting themselves when a toilet is free makes no sense. Though you always look like you're in the wrong when the other fella is in a chair.

Tricky one. Be interesting to hear a wheelchair users view of it, but I always see a wheelchair toilet as "wheelchair accessible" as opposed to wheelchair only. I would see a parking space as wheelchair only. Maybe it's because regulations nowadays rightly have wheelchair accessible bathrooms everywhere, even when no wheelchair users work in the building or whatever at the time.

That's how I see it - they're not exclusively for wheelchair users, IMO - they're accessible to wheelchair users.

Pirate parkers in disabled spaces - how about getting some cards printed with the Garda logo saying "Your vehicle, Reg. No. _____ is  illegally parked. You are directed to attend at __________ Garda station within 24 hours." Fun to think of him walking in to shop himself.

"Family" parking spaces - I have no idea why I'm expected to walk from the far end of the car park so that some fat 8-year-old who could do with the exercise doesn't have to.

I always thought they were mother and toddler spaces not mother and child?

Quote from: Zip Code on September 16, 2014, 09:08:06 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 15, 2014, 10:12:18 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 15, 2014, 09:59:40 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 15, 2014, 09:53:35 PM
I got in a row with a lad in a wheelchair once, in the pub part of Orpheus in Belfast.

For some reason there was a queue five deep to get into the men's. So I popped back up to the disabled toilet for which there was no queue. I'm in and out in under a minute, and met the disabled fella on the way out the door. Starts giving me a load of grief about that toilet not being for me. My response is a simple enough 'being able bodied doesn't mean I should have to piss myself in a pub any more than you should', and I fucked him off properly when he wouldn't let it go.

To this day I make myself right; 30 men on the verge of wetting themselves when a toilet is free makes no sense. Though you always look like you're in the wrong when the other fella is in a chair.

Tricky one. Be interesting to hear a wheelchair users view of it, but I always see a wheelchair toilet as "wheelchair accessible" as opposed to wheelchair only. I would see a parking space as wheelchair only. Maybe it's because regulations nowadays rightly have wheelchair accessible bathrooms everywhere, even when no wheelchair users work in the building or whatever at the time.

That's how I see it - they're not exclusively for wheelchair users, IMO - they're accessible to wheelchair users.

Pirate parkers in disabled spaces - how about getting some cards printed with the Garda logo saying "Your vehicle, Reg. No. _____ is  illegally parked. You are directed to attend at __________ Garda station within 24 hours." Fun to think of him walking in to shop himself.

"Family" parking spaces - I have no idea why I'm expected to walk from the far end of the car park so that some fat 8-year-old who could do with the exercise doesn't have to.

I always thought they were mother and toddler spaces not mother and child?

There's both.

Mother and baby/toddler, which I have no problem with. Then you have the more generic 'family' or parent and child spaces. I've never used one of those, because I think the spirit of those spaces is that they are for use with babies.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 15, 2014, 11:14:41 PM
Let the pressure do the work  ;D

Gas soldering iron in the glove box is your only man, let the heat do the work and confuse the f**k out of the bollox.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 15, 2014, 09:19:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 15, 2014, 09:18:28 PM
Had you tried alternative measures first?

What like screw-driver down the side panels?

Flat or Philips head?

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on September 16, 2014, 09:03:55 AM
Smokers.
Really get on my nerves, just flicking away fag buts onto the street. They probably wouldnt do it with any other bit of litter.

Yep. Go to a funeral and those nice smoker people stand around throwing butts in the graveyard on neighbouring graves. But I suppose if you have no respect for yourself you won't have any for anyone else.

QuoteCyclists are the biggest ignorant c***ts on the road.

Not all of course, but there is a large proportion of louts on 2 wheels.