Obesity in England. What's going on?

Started by AZOffaly, July 24, 2014, 01:45:17 PM

Once you start dieting then you're fecked so knock that on the head, unless you are seriously fat and need to for medical reasons, balanced diet with all the food groups on your plate throughout the day will stop your body binging or craving the other shite that puts the weight on.

It's easy to put weight on after a certain age and if you happen to stop playing for the club, the idea that you can consume more calories than you burn off and expect to have the same body shape than you had while playing is daft. When I managed our senior team I more or less stopped all physical activities, I still hurled for the reserves when I could but I didn't do a wile lot of training.

When I had more time on I never went to training just turned up and played, I put a stone on during that period, now for someone my height 5'6 its only going in one two places, not a pleasant look, so I made a lifestyle choice/change I joined the gym (something I thought I'd never do) and for 3 months I had just 3 meals a day and cut out the shite, I lost a stone and coupled with going to the gym I've never looked back.

I go 5/6 times a week,  first thing in the morning before work so no real interference with family life. Met a load of like minded people who are very competitive and up for challenges, we enter road races, triathlons and cycles challenges. Will never take away the adrenalin of senior championship match but it's working for me, and that's the key, finding something that works for you.

Course the other side of it is people with low self esteem who use food as fuel to hide behind personal issues, comfort eating.

Christ we all love a Chinese or and Indian for dinner, what gets me is the feckers who get this after a night out on the piss!! First off its so bad for you and generally you will not remember eating it so the enjoyment factor is gone.

gerrykeegan

Quote from: AZOffaly on July 25, 2014, 10:37:06 AM
Nonsense, I'd easily fit 5 Fish Fingers on that smaller plate, and a heap of chips as well!! :)

Seriously, I like my take aways, Chinese, Fish and Chips, the odd Pizza, but what we try and do is use those as treats. Therefore each Friday evening is takeaway night, and we blow out on that stuff. I also drink Coke over the weekend (I was a 6 can a day man).

During the week it's proper dinners, pasta, potatoes, veg, chicken, fish, beef etc. Lunch is ham sandwiches. The little lad is not allowed bring any fizzy drinks or sweet stuff to school in his lunch bag (school rule which is great).

As I said, I'd still consider myself about a stone overweight, but I would not call myself fat or obese, and I think if I dragged my arse out playing soccer or running or something, I'd be grand. But I'm a lazy hoor and I just cannot get into running. It bores the shite out of me.

I hope not every day, that much processed meat alone will kill you.

2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

Most week days. But it's okay, it's Carrolls Cuisine :D

Quote from: johnneycool on July 25, 2014, 10:23:35 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 25, 2014, 10:15:31 AM
People are blamed, it's all a personal issue, we are told. I think it has more to do with the system and what goes into food, the way food is marketed, the power companies have .

This bit here is the crux of it, no added sugar, low fat etc, etc all used by marketing guru's to hide the shite put into food and cons less clued in people that in
some way this shit is healthy or healthier than the normal variants when it couldn't be further from the truth
http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2014/may/31/suzanne-moore-ive-joined-a-gym-weight-training
As I began reading the science behind this, I could see there is pretty much agreement on the evils of sugar. This is a huge industrial problem beyond individual willpower, demanding government regulation of the food industry

And the people have to fund the outcomes of diabetes, cancer etc

Similar to BC1 post above, my missus is a nurse and is working in the Cardiac Recovery Unit.

She took home a book that they use which is full (and I mean full) of illustrations of plates of foods and the break down of fats, carbs, proteins etc in each food and the varying portions of food. It lists all the recommended intakes etc. It very interesting.

Our plates are far too big and we are blowing our daily intake in one meal.

Best 3 simple pieces bit of advice I got:
Use smaller plates.
Chew your food a lot before digesting
Don't race your meals as you will be full before your brain releases that it is.

For an issue like obesity, which is growing in intensity and in terms of cost, you need to have a joined up policy approach. How much does it cost the exchequer every year, what's the trend, and who pays . Work back the costs into pricing so they are borne by users/producers.
You wouldn't be long promoting better company behavior.

Obesity has the potential to kill more people than smoking.

Quote from: Canalman on July 25, 2014, 10:34:24 AM
Quote from: muppet on July 25, 2014, 02:03:45 AM
I recently went to The States (work) for the first time in over a decade.

I reckon there are a lot less morbidly obese people there now than there used to be.

Agree with you there. Was in the States last year and tbh I didn't find them anymore overweight than the Irish. Middle aged in both countries pretty much the same imo.

Tip for losing weight I was told is to buy bags and bags of apples to eat when the late evening munchies hit . You will be surprised how many you eat in a week . Beats hitting the biscuit tin or eating a late evening bowl of corn flakes/ rice krispies.
Its impossible to get a proper red apple any more. By red I mean pure red like as in a deep red all over. Yeah you can get red apples with a slight bit of green on them or a light red color but not a proper red apple.

Quote from: laoislad on July 25, 2014, 08:02:41 PM

I reckon there are a lot less morbidly obese people there now than there used to be.

Agree with you there. Was in the States last year and tbh I didn't find them anymore overweight than the Irish. Middle aged in both countries pretty much the same imo.

Tip for losing weight I was told is to buy bags and bags of apples to eat when the late evening munchies hit . You will be surprised how many you eat in a week . Beats hitting the biscuit tin or eating a late evening bowl of corn flakes/ rice krispies.
Its impossible to get a proper red apple any more. By red I mean pure red like as in a deep red all over. Yeah you can get red apples with a slight bit of green on them or a light red color but not a proper red apple.
and most apples are ultra bland

You'll lose weight alright - the shite yourself thin diet, plus you'll be in the bog that much you'll not have time to eat much else.

I was in Philadelphia a few months ago very few obese people around, most out running and keeping themselves fit.

leaveherinsir

I work as a sales rep for a confectionery wholesaler and one thing thatstrikes me over the last few years is the growth in sales of energy drinks, part. low cost options eg 49p boost can. Kids are consuming this for breakfast in many cases which cant be good!! That said bottled water probably comes a close second in drinks sales, esp in the heat.
Coca-Cola was protrayed pretty much as the anti-christ of drinks and they have suffered, although arguably "energy" drinks are prob unhealthier.
On the obesity point, i dont think you need to go to England to see the problem, a walk round Ballymoney would suffice.
Imo, many people have failed to grasp the old maxim of everything in moderation. Personaly you are also less inclined to eat junk when doing exercise a la the post from Milltown Row. And on that note ive been a lazy bastard and have been eating tio much crap recently so got back out for the first run in ages last night!!

the modern low fat, carb-based diet is a joke.
advertising standards are terrible that allow healthy claims for certain breads, yoghurts, spreads etc

it is sad how cheap fast food is.
so much cheaper to feed your family on shíte than buying decent food, both eating out and in the supermarket.

and then add in ignorance and laziness of the general population.