Armagh to down Donegal or depend on Down downing Laois down in Laois to stay up

Started by T Fearon, March 31, 2014, 07:38:30 AM

snoopdog

Life can be tough in Division 3 took Down 2 attempts to get out of it. Look at Longford went from Div 2 last year now a Div 4 Team. Its not that Bad for Armagh but its hard to keep producing footballers, you were spoiled in the earyl noughties and should have won at least another all Ireland but look at your neighbours and see how difficult it can be we will be 20 years this year without any silverware and dont look any closer to winning any time soon.

Quote from: seafoid on April 07, 2014, 10:11:46 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 06, 2014, 10:42:55 PM
It's not just Grimley's fault.The current Armagh team should be largely an efficient mix of the 2004 and 2009 All Ireland u21 and minor winning sides,but there has been a systematic failure to manage the progression of both squads into top class senior players.

I would argue that not one player from either squad has truly fulfilled their potential consistently at senior level.

Another thing,what was the big deal with the five or six changes immediately prior to throw in? I mean Donegal weren't likely to be thrown off by drafting in the likes of Moriarity and Vernon?
It's a lot harder that it looks, Tony
Underage success often means nothing at senior level.

Armagh have beaten 4 teams in the last year. Wicklow, Meath , Laois , Leitrim
They have lost to Galway *2, Cavan, Down, Donegal, Monaghan

They need to have a hard look at themselves.
On the positive side, Syferus will not be in the d3 thread next year.

I'm looking forward to the banter between the Sheepstealers and Heronchokers next year. I might just take a peek or two into the second division thread.

Quote from: orange on April 06, 2014, 08:06:06 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 06, 2014, 07:42:00 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 06, 2014, 06:52:32 PM
Three out of four home games lost and you could make a reasonable case for both Louth and Meath squandering commanding leads against Armagh.Reasons to be cheerful? None
At least you have a big(ish) TV.
Well actually at least we have an allireland,  something youse will never have! We had 1 generation of footballers who delivered, youse have several generations that shat themselves when went south of balbriggan!

On the match today, I thought the boys showed great heart and actually played quite well! There are some very good footballers in thd county and gave as good as they took today! I wouldn't be completely dispondent, we've had alot of injuries,  and I would put that down to boys being asked to training they werent used to, so it should stand to them!

Now as for thd referee, I cant wait until SKY comes on the scene to analyse that clowns performance!  A donegal peno that wasnt a peno, a donegal goal after a blatant push in the back and instead if an armagh peno he gives a 14yd free. Armagh were repeatedly foulled and he waved play on yet the slightest touch the other way was a free! He was the most biased ref ive ever seen at county level!

Are you sure it was just the ref who was biased?! :D

You must have some vision (and some vantage point!) when you can definitively say  that two penalty decisions and a goal at opposite ends of the field, with no tv replays, were wrongly called.

Although, both Highland Radio and the Donegal Democrat thought Armagh should have had a penalty. The Highland commentators also thought the Armagh backs were getting away with fouls on the likes of Murphy, but there you go.

Quote from: J70 on April 07, 2014, 02:27:08 PM
Although, both Highland Radio and the Donegal Democrat thought Armagh should have had a penalty. The Highland commentators also thought the Armagh backs were getting away with fouls on the likes of Murphy, but there you go.

The push in the back came after a long ball, where the ref was in midfield and pretty much in a line with the two players, so he wouldn't have had a great view. The umpires could see it plainly, of course.

Get Grimley in. Wouldnt take it
O Rourke will do until Mc Geeney is ready
Get rid of O rourke
Get Grimley in , hes now available.
Oh Feck, No Plan B
Sort Plan B
Get Mc Geeney In.
Grimley and Mc Geeney In, Plan B sorted, now regelated

where'd it all go wrong ?

There is sufficient talent in Armagh to retain comfortably second division status, but without gameplans, Plan Bs (coherent PlanAs even) we are destined to underperform. The inconsistency is mindboggling. We were ok yesterday for long periods, but absolute crap against Louth (for 3/4s of the game), just like last year when we held our own up in Derry in the league and would have got sa point in Mullingar but for a missed free from a scorable position in injury time.Westmeath and Derry were the two top teams in Division 2 last year. We concede goals far too easily, remember the 2002/03 seasons when it was unheard of practically for Armagh to concede a goal in league or championship

We have to believe in better, and as Norwich City have shown yesterday, should not be afraid to change management at any time during the season, and take a chance.

Armaghgeddon

Armagh dont need a change in management we just had an unlucky campaign with injuries to a host of players.
Even with the injuries we were unlucky to lose to Down with that piss poor kick out by McEvoy at the end...cant do anything about it now so lets just look forward to the championship

Quote from: Armaghgeddon on April 07, 2014, 03:03:42 PM
Armagh dont need a change in management we just had an unlucky campaign with injuries to a host of players.
Even with the injuries we were unlucky to lose to Down with that piss poor kick out by McEvoy at the end...cant do anything about it now so lets just look forward to the championship

We simply weren't good enough to stay up. We struggled to stay in div 2 last year too. injuries are just an excuse.

Quote from: armaghniac on April 07, 2014, 02:49:01 PM

The push in the back came after a long ball, where the ref was in midfield and pretty much in a line with the two players, so he wouldn't have had a great view. The umpires could see it plainly, of course.

On the other hand, Colm McFadden commented after the match that out of the 148 matches he's played for Donegal, he never, ever experienced more pulling and dragging than yesterday, which is saying something coming from someone who's played in the Ulster Championship every year, bar one, since 2003!

Quote from: J70 on April 07, 2014, 05:44:01 PM

On the other hand, Colm McFadden commented after the match that out of the 148 matches he's played for Donegal, he never, ever experienced more pulling and dragging than yesterday, which is saying something coming from someone who's played in the Ulster Championship every year, bar one, since 2003!

I am near sure he was being marked by Finn Mo though. He is a rule onto himself that no other Armagh player can be judged against! As someone who was at the game I can honestly say that both teams tackled in a similar vain. Donegal were stronger and cuter though. That comes with training and experience. As an Armagh supporter the gripe is when the balance of decisions go against you and that is what happened yesterday. Missed decisions like Murphy's push on Vernon's back you can forgive. But the foul on Campbell for what looked the most blatant penalty you are likely to see is harder to fathom. Then near the end when McCooey got caught with a high challenge - he had to leave the field with the injury shortly after - and the referee gave nothing only added to the frustration. To be fair Clarke should have been black carded for his rugby tackle reaction to the tackle.

orange

So thats his excuse for playing shite! Lets face it donegal got all the big calls yesterday, murphy blatantly pushed for the goal and campbell should have had a peno, they are facts and a 6pt swing! Donegal got frees for being "cute" some call it diving, but other teams have been at it for years so if you cant beat them!
PS john duffy has wintered well, jaysus he was lean flying corner forward, now he looks like elvis' long lost bro but fine player in his day!

Black Card

Irrespective of the decisions for or against Armagh - they were very poor and never going to trouble Donegal.  The passing at times was inexcusable.

Armagh were relegated because they didn't get the results against the "easier" teams in the early rounds.  Donegal are a better organised and more physical team than Armagh and we were always going to struggle to beat them.
So that's the reason he did feck all in the match only kick frees.