Team of your life

Started by Ohtoohtobe, February 20, 2014, 02:40:04 AM

Quote from: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 09:59:01 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 21, 2014, 09:04:30 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 08:58:24 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 21, 2014, 08:53:51 PM
2 separate people have included Liam Harnan at centre back it would appear..Lads, its best 15 players, not hatchet men!

Nobody else giving any love to Tompkins it would appear? I'd rank his performance in 1988 final as amongst the top 3 I've seen in a final.

Where would you put him? Apart from the Lee ;)

I have him on the 40 on my team 5 Sams..don't think anyone was as influential as he was at his peak. Greg Blaney was a fantastic fulcrum for the great team ye had, Ja Fallon had a couple of good years for Galway, McGuigan and Declan O'Sullivan had their moments (albeit Declan played half fwd or 14 a lot), but for me Tompkins shades it.

You've heard the one about him getting sunburned down the mardyke the day before a Munster final I assume? Billy Morgan almost murdered him for it!

Brilliant story CT. I have been in with him a few times...great host and a sound fella....will talk football all day. Good mates with Mickey Linden after the rules in Australia. Bag full of stories!!

I heard the sunburnt story was only a smokescreen for something else. Is that true?

Quote from: thebandit on February 21, 2014, 08:39:35 AM
Cluxton

Marc O Sé
Fay
Scullion

Tomás O Sé
McGeeney
Moynihan

Tohill
Cavanagh

Joyce
Giles
McConville

Cooper
Fitzgerald
Canavan

Probably a team I would pick myself although would love to be able to pick Linden, McDonnell and O'Rourke too.

I wonder if we were to pick players most influential on a team , as opposed to the best players, would there by many changes. For example many posters did not pick Oisin or Geezer but they influenced more players or matches than most. Similar could be said of Dooher fot Tyrone. In club football the player currently having the most influence on matches I have seen in the last couple of years is Aaron Kernan.

Quote from: moysider on February 21, 2014, 08:46:03 PM
Is that the same prince that conceded 2-5 from play in a connacht final?
You managed to keep Syferus quiet with that post  :D

Seriously though Harry Keegan with 3 all-stars to his name is arguably one of best ever corner backs.  Joe McGrath won himself all-star that year with that performance but individual scores don't tell the full tale for example Brogan scored 2-3 off Cafferkey in the AI final yet most would agree Cafferkey had a good game & unlucky not to win the full back All-star.

Don Corleone

Read the choice: 1991-2014?

Out are Gormley(unworthy). O'Keeffe (via time-span)
Why did you go to the police? Why didn't you come to me first?

Armaghtothebone

Quote from: ballinaman on February 20, 2014, 03:47:23 PM
Quote from: heganboy on February 20, 2014, 03:37:24 PM
I would have to say that the team of my life was below (if you meant by single most important team), however I'm going to get to work on wasting hours of my life in figuring out the actual answer to this question, but in the meantime just because it makes me smile and will wind up a bunch of folks:

B.Tierney,

E.McNulty,
J.McNulty,
F.Bellew,

A.O'Rourke,
K.McGeeney,
A.McCann,

J.Toal,
P.McGrane,

P.McKeever,
J.McEntee,
O.McConville,

S.McDonnell,
R.Clarke,
D.Marsden.
Never heard of any of them, is that a club team?

Oh you have heard of at least some of them. I seem to recall that a team from Ballina getting their asses handed to them on Patricks day by a Cross team that contained several of those boys.

Quote from: ross4life on February 23, 2014, 09:04:15 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 21, 2014, 08:46:03 PM
Is that the same prince that conceded 2-5 from play in a connacht final?
You managed to keep Syferus quiet with that post  :D

Seriously though Harry Keegan with 3 all-stars to his name is arguably one of best ever corner backs.  Joe McGrath won himself all-star that year with that performance but individual scores don't tell the full tale for example Brogan scored 2-3 off Cafferkey in the AI final yet most would agree Cafferkey had a good game & unlucky not to win the full back All-star.

The post wasn't worthy of a response.