Necknomination

Started by Eamonnca1, February 02, 2014, 03:32:01 AM

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 10, 2014, 05:53:53 PM
So let's get this straight.

Jumping on a populist movement purely in order to get your fb video shared and liked as many times as possible by downing a pint of beer - makes you the life and soul of the party and a great fella altogether.

Jumping on a populist movement purely in order to get your fb video shared and liked as many times as possible by telling people not to jump on a populist movement purely in order to get your fb video shared and liked as many times as possible by downing a pint of beer - makes you a self righteous d**khead.

Is that the gist of it?

No, no, no.
Telling people what not to do  makes you a self-righteous d**khead.
Whereas doing something stupid because you wont be told what to do  (except if you are dared to) makes you a great fellow altogether.

Show me where I said the lads at necknominations were great fellows altogether exactly?

qubdub

A lot of sad bastards have done the whole neck nomination thing and fair play that's there prerogative. 
They've met their match though in equally sad bastards that are getting their friends to video them while they do something cringeworthy like buy someone's groceries for them because that person has a child with them and looks 'poor'.
The first instance is just some puke following a craze that to the best of my knowledge has died down already, the second one is just a pathetic attention-starved individual looking some likes on their fb to try and massage their ego.

Cold tea

Yip the girl who took her clothes off in the supermarket and drank about half a tin falls into the attention-starved individual category.

Quote from: qubdub on February 11, 2014, 03:29:36 PM
A lot of sad b**tards have done the whole neck nomination thing and fair play that's there prerogative. 
They've met their match though in equally sad b**tards that are getting their friends to video them while they do something cringeworthy like buy someone's groceries for them because that person has a child with them and looks 'poor'.
The first instance is just some puke following a craze that to the best of my knowledge has died down already, the second one is just a pathetic attention-starved individual looking some likes on their fb to try and massage their ego.

So someone who makes a dick out of themselves by necking a pint is not "a pathetic attention-starved individual looking some likes on their fb to try and massage their ego"?

Got it.

qubdub

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 11, 2014, 06:19:07 PM
Quote from: qubdub on February 11, 2014, 03:29:36 PM
A lot of sad b**tards have done the whole neck nomination thing and fair play that's there prerogative. 
They've met their match though in equally sad b**tards that are getting their friends to video them while they do something cringeworthy like buy someone's groceries for them because that person has a child with them and looks 'poor'.

So someone who makes a dick out of themselves by necking a pint is not "a pathetic attention-starved individual looking some likes on their fb to try and massage their ego"?

Got it.
Well no, not really.

In most cases they're just sheep following the herd, and in that sense aren't really going out of their way to do anything original or different, for the most part  they're just doing it for the craic because their friends have nominated them and they want to keep it going. Yes you get the odd one who goes to extreme lengths to try and be wacky and yes maybe they fall under that category.

But these do-gooder gimps that feel the need to document their selfless good deeds on fb on the back of neck nomination are ten times worse in the attention-seeking/ego massaging stakes. That is undeniable and if you can't see that well then you're an idiot.

Its a funny old world where someone paying for another persons shopping is viewed as being "10 times worse" than someone drinking a mucky pint in a mankini!

Quote from: BennyHarp on February 12, 2014, 06:45:49 AM
Its a funny old world where someone paying for another persons shopping is viewed as being "10 times worse" than someone drinking a mucky pint in a mankini!

Dont kid yourself into thinking its altruism

Quote from: haranguerer on February 12, 2014, 07:59:48 AM

They are both self seeking acts - my point is, its a strange world that at least the kind act is serving some good, yet is viewed upon as 10 times worse.

Cold tea

Quote from: hardstation on February 12, 2014, 08:03:54 AM

You must concede that it is much more altruistic than drinking a pint with a shite in it??

Currently second in post of the year behind tyrone girl.   :)

Quote from: hardstation on February 12, 2014, 08:03:54 AM

You must concede that it is much more altruistic than drinking a pint with a shite in it??

No, both about the same levels of altruism, none.

Quote from: BennyHarp on February 12, 2014, 08:04:49 AM

They are both self seeking acts - my point is, its a strange world that at least the kind act is serving some good, yet is viewed upon as 10 times worse.

If someone wanted to carry out a 'random act of kindness' then thats great. But if its actuallty out of concern for others, why on earth would you video it?

Like those pricks who are all over the net for buying a homeless person a meal, giving them a makeover, etc. If you were down on your luck, would you really want some self-righteous pricks coming up to you patronising you, giving you stuff, all the while shoving a camera in your face to be broadcast all over the internet?! It doesnt matter how down on your luck you are, everyones got some pride, and that seems to me to be as sure a way of humiliating someone as you'd get.

At least in necknomination the only person being humiliated is the person in the videos themselves.

Lads I agree that the videos posted showing people buying shopping etc are probably more self serving than anything else. Look at me, I'm a great lad.  I haven't actually watched any of those videos for that very reason. I wonder do we know how the beneficiary reacted. If I came into Tesco in a dirty tracksuit after digging the garden or something, and someone paid for my shopping because I looked poor, I may take grievous offence :) However I did watch the lads drinking milk etc because I thought they were quite clever and made a good point.

People don't like being preached to. I was a smoker, and I hated being lectured about it, even though I knew the lecturer was 100% correct. So I get the 'away and f**k off' reaction to some of these videos.

However, to say they are just as bad, or 10 times worse than some of the dangerous (and more importantly encouraging others to 'beat that') stunts that Neknomination has spawned is something I can't comprehend. Nobody has died by buying someone else's shopping, or by drinking a glass of milk.

Just as bad (or indeed 10 times worse) in terms of how much I resent them.