Westmeath and Roscommon to ground share in Athlone?

Started by From the Bunker, December 17, 2013, 08:22:12 PM

Lone Shark

Quote from: Rossfan on December 21, 2013, 01:31:28 PM
It is simply only one man's opinion in a Newspaper piece - not any type of concrete proposal from anyone in the GAA, any other Sport, moneymen, commercial interests etc.
I for one will not attend any Ros GAA fixtures in such a far away place.

You realise that while of course tis is only a hypothetical idea, it could actually be built in the county of Roscommon? Admittedly on one side of the county, but the idea that you wouldn't follow your team if they play more than a half a hour away from you is daft. What about all the Leitrim supporters who live in the North of the county, Limerick supporters from out in the west or Down football followers from Ards? Should they just not bother following if they've to go to a relatively distant part of their own county?

It is simply only one man's opinion in a Newspaper piece - not any type of concrete proposal from anyone in the GAA, any other Sport, moneymen, commercial interests etc.

Yeah, I'm sure you'll pass on Roscommon county games. Who are you even kidding?

You realise that while of course tis is only a hypothetical idea, it could actually be built in the county of Roscommon?

Presumably somewhere around here might suit.

There is even a disused railway station on the west side of the Shannon that could have match day trains, although where these would come from isn't obvious.  Against that all traffic from civilisation east of the Shannon would have to pass over the bypass bridge and this might well be congested.
What about all the Leitrim supporters who live in the North of the county, Limerick supporters from out in the west or Down football followers from Ards?

Sure half the Down pitch is in Armagh. And I did say before that a joint operation, perhaps the present Casement project, on the Armagh side of Newry would be sensible.

Quote from: Lone Shark on December 21, 2013, 01:50:59 PM

You realise that while of course tis is only a hypothetical idea, it could actually be built in the county of Roscommon? Admittedly on one side of the county, but the idea that you wouldn't follow your team if they play more than a half a hour away from you is daft. What about all the Leitrim supporters who live in the North of the county, Limerick supporters from out in the west ?
Carrick is Leitrim's county town while Limerick City is the capital of the county. We already HAVE a County ground in our capital town IN THE MIDDLEish of our county and I am against any idea no matter how hypothetical of driving past our County twn to go another 20 + miles.
Anyway what are all these lads from other Counties going on about deciding what us and the Westies should do.
Feck off the lot o' ye.

Quote from: Rossfan on December 22, 2013, 07:14:25 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on December 21, 2013, 01:50:59 PM

You realise that while of course tis is only a hypothetical idea, it could actually be built in the county of Roscommon? Admittedly on one side of the county, but the idea that you wouldn't follow your team if they play more than a half a hour away from you is daft. What about all the Leitrim supporters who live in the North of the county, Limerick supporters from out in the west ?
Carrick is Leitrim's county town while Limerick City is the capital of the county. We already HAVE a County ground in our capital town IN THE MIDDLEish of our county and I am against any idea no matter how hypothetical of driving past our County twn to go another 20 + miles.
Anyway what are all these lads from other Counties going on about deciding what us and the Westies should do.
Feck off the lot o' ye.

Calm down, 'fan, just because you're seeing red and green everywhere doesn't mean everyone's supporting MWR.

I haven't come across any reference to the Prenty Project in any of the posts so far.
How much did the Ross CB contribute to this joint venture?
I can't imagine it turning around and chipping in as much again to develop a similar complex with Westmeath or any other party.
I don't know the numbers involved but I'm told that a lot of Rossie clubs are using the facilities at Bekan. Could all or any of them be expected to switch over to another centre in Athlone or anywhere else and chip in for the development costs into the bargain?
I can't see many takers if the that proposal is put up for discussion.

Lone Shark

Quote from: Rossfan on December 22, 2013, 07:14:25 PM

Nobody's deciding. Just discussing a proposal that came from a Roscommon man.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 23, 2013, 04:29:20 PM
I haven't come across any reference to the Prenty Project in any of the posts so far.
How much did the Ross CB contribute to this joint venture?
I can't imagine it turning around and chipping in as much again to develop a similar complex with Westmeath or any other party.
I don't know the numbers involved but I'm told that a lot of Rossie clubs are using the facilities at Bekan. Could all or any of them be expected to switch over to another centre in Athlone or anywhere else and chip in for the development costs into the bargain?
I can't see many takers if the that proposal is put up for discussion.

It's feasible for lots of northern and western clubs to use Bekan but not as much in other areas of the county. To be fair, Bekan is mainly intended as an underage facility with spot training for senior county and club teams.

The facility in Oran will be going ahead - we already own (sorta) something like 50 acres to build it in the heart if the county, ideal for all underage teams in the county. Both Bekan and Oran would be viable and ensure better facilities for even more of Connacht.

There are recommendations of building a training faciliity off the M6 near Athlone so that our county players have a midway point (most outside the county are in Galway or Dublin) to ease the pressure on the players and obviously provide better resources and facilities.

The attached centre of excellence stuff isn't much of a goer, the idea of a stadium is though.

Was Prentypark Bekan not almost entirely funded by HQ with cash from renting Croke Pk to the soccer/rubby crowds?

Quote from: Rossfan on December 23, 2013, 05:35:26 PM
Was Prentypark Bekan not almost entirely funded by HQ with cash from renting Croke Pk to the soccer/rubby crowds?
You could well be right but right now, I couldn't give a damn one way or the other ;D
It's nearly time to go ho, ho, ho: go and kiss my neighbour's wife and extend a Happy Christmas to everyone.
Nollaig Shona Daoibh go léir.

That includes you, Ross, and all your fellow county men. 
With a bit of luck, ye will all develop a sense of tolerance and goodwill towards yer  neighbours to the west and stop moaning about yer unhappy lot before the festive season ends.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 24, 2013, 12:44:25 PM
You could well be right but right now, I couldn't give a damn one way or the other ;D
It's nearly time to go ho, ho, ho: go and kiss my neighbour's wife and extend a Happy Christmas to everyone.

With a bit of luck, ye will all develop a sense of tolerance and goodwill towards yer  neighbours to the west and stop moaning about yer unhappy lot before the festive season ends.

Currently doing the Christmas shopping in Duffsters - happy Christmas to you all from Ballagh, County Roscommon.

Quote from: Syferus on December 24, 2013, 02:37:33 PM

Currently doing the Christmas shopping in Duffsters - happy Christmas to you all from Ballagh, County Roscommon.

Good man, hope you contributed to Kilmovee shamrocks doing the bags in there today.

Quote from: larryin89 on December 24, 2013, 04:51:42 PM

Good man, hope you contributed to Kilmovee shamrocks doing the bags in there today.

The Shams are a Christmas institution in Duffy's at this stage. Not much of the Prenty mega bucks going that far east so of course I tipped them handsomely, Larryin. Did you?

Arrah Bah humbug to you too Lairín.
Have a good one.

Quote from: Syferus on December 24, 2013, 05:44:42 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on December 24, 2013, 04:51:42 PM

The Shams are a Christmas institution in Duffy's at this stage. Not much of the Prenty mega bucks going that far east so of course I tipped them handsomely, Larryin. Did you?

Sure I might of been doing the bagging, ya never know.