Football in the Phoenix Park

Started by AZOffaly, June 28, 2013, 12:19:22 PM

I was up in Dublin for work (all too frequent these days) this week, and went out to see my brother playing with Brigids in a Senior League Game against O'Tooles. It was a home game for Brigids, but was played in the Phoenix Park.

Does this happen often? Are many games played in the Park? I thought the Park was used for mainly ad-hoc or 'away from home' lads training sessions. I have to say the pitch was grand, but jaysus the amount of deer shit on the field was unreal. That can't be healthy. If it was dog shit there'd be warfare. Is this not a significant health risk? I was just wondering how many competitive games are on the Park, and is this not seen as an issue? The brother came off after the game with shite all along his leg. Woeful stuff altogether.

The game itself wasn't great. O'Toole's are poor, and Brigids were missing their county men (from many counties!), but they still looked pretty decent. Barry Cahill is still a fine footballer, albeit one who switched off with 10 minutes to go because the game was over. Kevin Bonnar looked lazy, but very skillful in the full forward line.

Sure the GAA was built on fields covered in cow shite. It's no harm for the city slickers to get back to their roots.

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 28, 2013, 12:19:22 PM
I was up in Dublin for work (all too frequent these days) this week, and went out to see my brother playing with Brigids in a Senior League Game against O'Tooles. It was a home game for Brigids, but was played in the Phoenix Park.

Does this happen often? Are many games played in the Park? I thought the Park was used for mainly ad-hoc or 'away from home' lads training sessions. I have to say the pitch was grand, but jaysus the amount of deer shit on the field was unreal. That can't be healthy. If it was dog shit there'd be warfare. Is this not a significant health risk? I was just wondering how many competitive games are on the Park, and is this not seen as an issue? The brother came off after the game with shite all along his leg. Woeful stuff altogether.

Lots of clubs play in public parks as they don't have the pitch capacity to play all their games. In recent years, Oliver Plunketts, Brigids, Park Rangers + one or two others would have used the Phoenix park

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 28, 2013, 12:19:22 PM

The game itself wasn't great. O'Toole's are poor, and Brigids were missing their county men (from many counties!), but they still looked pretty decent. Barry Cahill is still a fine footballer, albeit one who switched off with 10 minutes to go because the game was over. Kevin Bonnar looked lazy, but very skillful in the full forward line.
Brigids have super facilities in Russell Park, so I wonder what was wrong that the pitches there were unavailable for a senior league game?

O'Tooles are down with Lucan at the bottom of Division 1 at the moment. Both might be missing a few lads who are on the Dublin hurling panel. Brigids are flying it at the moment, 7 wins and 1 draw out of 8 - so it was a real top v bottom clash - probably not the best to judge things on.

Your brother might get a more competitive game on Saturday evening when Brigids head north to the wilds of Rush!
(although they'll probably still win well)

Fixture congestion for years hound. We've 6 adult men's teams plus hurling, women's and underage teams to facilitate. Not often the top teams get farmed out to the Phoenix park though.
Russel pk being redeveloped with another pitch etc but its still not enough.
We lost beech pk pitch to the new educate together school a couple of years ago too.