Mayo v Dublin, LSF, Croker 14th April

Started by highorlow, April 08, 2013, 09:43:55 AM

Quote from: From the Bunker on April 17, 2013, 03:13:18 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 17, 2013, 02:09:07 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 17, 2013, 12:21:35 PM

Mayo have a hugely simplictic game plan . long ball from halback midfield into conroy (and hopefully andy come Summer)
my fear is that when some one devises a plan to counteract it mayo could be in a bit a bother.
I trequire a lot of support for Conroy and intelligent running  maybe not the strong point of a lot of the may forwards.
We could really do with C Mort coming back now . it would suit him down to the ground
and mentioning Mortimers the conroy role would be ideally suited for Trevor
Yeah, I'm afraid that you're right. Hoofing the ball in on Conroy and hoping for the best was about all I could see. We'll need to do better in the games to come.
I think it's foolish to think that the return of Andy will overcome all of our shortcomings. There is absolutely no guarantee that he will be back in time to take part in the Championships and even if he does, he can't be expected to take up where he left off.
    The pity of it is that I think we do have pretty good forwards but they don't combine very well.  Still, Horan and Buckley have a few weeks left to try and bate some sort of strategy into 'em.

Conroy kicked 3 points and won 3 other pointed frees. Not exactly huffing and puffing stuff. I see you looking to C Mortimer, but jez that would be Horan begging and that would not good for his authority and standing. Trev Mortimer would have something to offer, if we had the old Trev. You have to remember he is 18 months out of it now and is 32/33? What's the story with Killer? Is he still in England? Thought i seen him around Castlebar? Probably to late this year to bring him in? But then again Conroy came in at his Juncture last year.

We have gone down a rung or two on the ladder in peoples standings as a serious outfit This lower profile will do us no harm coming up to the Galway game and hopefully the games there after. In the recent past Mayo have pulled big results to get to AI finals leading to high expectation the next year which have ended up flops. Will be interesting to see if we can get near the top this year again.

Finally this is probably this groups last (good) year. The AI under 21 group of 2006 which the core of these lads are from are 27/28  this year. Not old i hear you say? But the years are stacking up. Actually if we finish a good bit off the mark, i think Horan will walk.

Huh?
Are you sure you got the right Lar Naparka? ;D
I never mentioned anything about Conroy huffing and puffing but I can understand what rosnarun was saying. He certainly put the effort in but much of it was in vain as he got little backup from the others around him.
I never mentioned Conoreen or his big brother either.
I think Conroy was the best forward we had on Sunday but he was left isolated time after time when he got the ball with nobody showing for a pass and he found himself stuck way out in the corner time and again.
Like Iolar says, he kicked three good points from play with men slung out of him all afternoon and I'd also agree with him that Conroy will be one of the first names down on the teamsheet.

Of course he will. Conroy has more than justified his recall. Played in AI final in 04 as a kid and then shafted  - not the only one. Imagine if he had been nurtured by a Mickey Harte since he was a minor.

The thing about the approach of this team is that it doesn t add up.

In Horans first year we went looking for goals. We got a load. Jason Doherty got a hatfull in the league. We even spurned point chances and went for goals that weren t on. Kevin McLoughlin scored a classic Mayo type goal v Cork. Running supporting move rather that hittin a crowded ff line that is heavily marked.

I saw Mayo play Donegal 3 times last year and the game we did best against them was where we played a running game and did not kick the ball away. Ok It was a challenge but this Donegal team does not waste its time and there was an edge to it. Just wondering why we have gone away from a game that suits us? I kinda think I know the answer. The talking heads in the media suggest that the only way to beat the blanket is to kick the ball in early. That of course is bullshit unless you can kick a ball 80- 100 yards. But even then theres probably somebody back covering. Kicking the ball in early suits blanket defences because there is always cover. Mayo on the other hand dont do cover and the counter attack and early ball kills us e.g AI final. But sure most Mayo people wouldn t have it any other way.

Mayo are one of a few counties that have the personnel to carry ball and support runners at pace from back to front. But we seem to favour the early ball into the corner - even though we still play a running game at times. All our hb line are runners rather than kick passers of the ball and prefer to run the ball. Big Barry and Aidan - if he wants to - can kick. But we re limited with kick passers from deep.

But who cares about that stuff. Supporters ye talk to mostly focus on who s playing shite.

Quote from: moysider on April 17, 2013, 11:41:47 PM
Of course he will. Conroy has more than justified his recall. Played in AI final in 04 as a kid and then shafted  - not the only one. Imagine if he had been nurtured by a Mickey Harte since he was a minor.

In Horans first year we went looking for goals. We got a load. Jason Doherty got a hatfull in the league. We even spurned point chances and went for goals that weren t on. Kevin McLoughlin scored a classic Mayo type goal v Cork. Running supporting move rather that hittin a crowded ff line that is heavily marked.

I saw Mayo play Donegal 3 times last year and the game we did best against them was where we played a running game and did not kick the ball away. Ok It was a challenge but this Donegal team does not waste its time and there was an edge to it. Just wondering why we have gone away from a game that suits us? I kinda think I know the answer. The talking heads in the media suggest that the only way to beat the blanket is to kick the ball in early. That of course is bullshit unless you can kick a ball 80- 100 yards. But even then theres probably somebody back covering. Kicking the ball in early suits blanket defences because there is always cover. Mayo on the other hand dont do cover and the counter attack and early ball kills us e.g AI final. But sure most Mayo people wouldn t have it any other way.

Mayo are one of a few counties that have the personnel to carry ball and support runners at pace from back to front. But we seem to favour the early ball into the corner - even though we still play a running game at times. All our hb line are runners rather than kick passers of the ball and prefer to run the ball. Big Barry and Aidan - if he wants to - can kick. But we re limited with kick passers from deep.

But who cares about that stuff. Supporters ye talk to mostly focus on who s playing shite.

That is true!

Meant to post here how impressed I was with the Dubs. None of the showboating to the Hill crap. They play a really nice brand of football and have lots of serious players all over the field. They will be very tough to beat. (P.S. Heffo I am serious).

Quote from: muppet on April 18, 2013, 12:10:00 AM

That is true!

Meant to post here how impressed I was with the Dubs. None of the showboating to the Hill crap. They play a really nice brand of football and have lots of serious players all over the field. They will be very tough to beat. (P.S. Heffo I am serious).

Dublin are looking very impressive but you want to be impressive in August not in April when there are a million different factors as to why a young pllayer might be getting out ahead of a more experienced player.

If things stay as they are, Dublin look in the top bunch but there are lots of turns in the road between now and September.

Quote from: muppet on April 18, 2013, 12:10:00 AM

That is true!

Agreed. Find it hard to dislike this Dublin team, some lovely footballers and none of that marching to the hill shite.

I saw Mayo play Donegal 3 times last year and the game we did best against them was where we played a running game and did not kick the ball away. Ok It was a challenge but this Donegal team does not waste its time and there was an edge to it.

All very true Moysider and I think the last 2 championship games we've had with Donegal we too had to play that possession, running game. Its very hard work with high intensity with often a lot of turnovers so attacks are slow, laborious and can often lead to the play just moving back down into your own defensive wall zone outside the 40. Where we failed the last two years is to take our chances when we had them. Yes Donegal force you to shoot under pressure but we tend to dominate the first half but not put up enough scores to put them away so then they grind you out second half. I think that's why Mickey has upped the focus on fitness early on this year so with such an important match so early on then you need to be as fit as Donegal will be.

The other point ye make about the Dubs is indeed true and it is refreshing that Dublin have built such a young energetic squad that are all busting their gut to play this attacking high scoring game that is a joy to watch. I know Heffo, Indiana & Co are always fearful of people getting carried away so early on but the signs do look good. Of course its only April and a lot can happen between now and Sept but I'd rather have that talent, competition for places, positive energy & fight at any stage  rather than being quiet and hoping it all improves over the months ahead.
I think Dublin can now afford to lose Brogan or Connolly as they've loads of other scoring options.
Not so sure the same can be said for Tyrone or Donegal.

jaysus Moysiser dont leave it like that .
please supply a list of allowable topics in case we stray again.
in all seriousness players can play well and badly in the same game. so lets just assume were all pleased by who is playing well.
take cafferkey last sunday did ok on brogan  but still can't catch kick or solo the ball
Vaughan made some great runs but more often than not his distribution was poor and left gaping holes at CHB.
Keane started disastoriously again but settled quiet well after , but can he really afford to keep giving his man a Goal start?
Clarke made som excellent saves and could not be blamed for the second goal but was beaten at near post for the first(or vice versa) plus kick out were a major part of the 1st half collapse.
midfield were very good with the ball they got but must share the blame with clarke for desert of posession in the first half.
Even conroy mayo's best forward hit some horrendous wides.
Cillan is top class from Frees but needs to take more scores from play
Is that a bit more balanced?

Brilliant, brilliant post Moysider. Fantastic.

But here's the thing. The runners can only go so far before they get bogged down in traffic. Do you think Mayo players can still get close enough to the posts to goal, or should be shooting points from distance?

maigheo

by the way Rosnarun, Vaughan did not play chb last sunday.Lee Keegan lined out in the no 6 position and was marking D.Connolly.

Quote from: maigheo on April 18, 2013, 11:46:40 PM
by the way Rosnarun, Vaughan did not play chb last sunday.Lee Keegan lined out in the no 6 position and was marking D.Connolly.
no one did for most of the match . it was a wide open space