His name in these lonely verses
Or mention the dark fields where
The first gay flight of my lyric
Got caught in a peasant's prayer.

Mullahinsa, Drummeril, Black Shanco-
Wherever I turn I see
In the stony grey soil of Monaghan
Dead loves that were born for me.

Oraisteach

Jeez, Main Street, you sure have it in for teachers.  Were they all bad or just the English ones? 

Quote from: Oraisteach on April 12, 2013, 12:58:12 AM
Jeez, Main Street, you sure have it in for teachers.  Were they all bad or just the English ones?

These English teachers coming over here taking our jobs.

Oraisteach

guy crouchback

if we are doing poems how about a bit of philip larkin.

This Be the Verse
By Philip Larkin
They f**k you up, your mum and dad.   
    They may not mean to, but they do.   
They fill you with the faults they had
    And add some extra, just for you.

But they were fucked up in their turn
    By fools in old-style hats and coats,   
Who half the time were soppy-stern
    And half at one another's throats.

Man hands on misery to man.
    It deepens like a coastal shelf.
Get out as early as you can,
    And don't have any kids yourself.

Quote from: guy crouchback on April 12, 2013, 09:25:47 AM

This Be the Verse
By Philip Larkin

A hurler and a poet, they're a breed apart down there in Kilkenny!

Quote from: johnneycool on April 12, 2013, 09:39:09 AM
Quote from: guy crouchback on April 12, 2013, 09:25:47 AM

This Be the Verse
By Philip Larkin

A hurler and a poet, they're a breed apart down there in Kilkenny!

Quote from: ONeill on April 12, 2013, 12:37:05 AM
I don't believe you.

O stony grey soil of Monaghan
The laugh from my love you thieved;
You took the gay child of my passion
And gave me your clod-conceived.

You clogged the feet of my boyhood
And I believed that my stumble
Had the poise and stride of Apollo
And his voice my thick tongued mumble.

You told me the plough was immortal!
O green-life conquering plough!
The mandril stained, your coulter blunted
In the smooth lea-field of my brow.

You sang on steaming dunghills
A song of cowards' brood,
You perfumed my clothes with weasel itch,
You fed me on swinish food

You flung a ditch on my vision
Of beauty, love and truth.
O stony grey soil of Monaghan
You burgled my bank of youth!

Lost the long hours of pleasure
All the women that love young men.
O can I stilll stroke the monster's back
Or write with unpoisoned pen.

His name in these lonely verses
Or mention the dark fields where
The first gay flight of my lyric
Got caught in a peasant's prayer.

Mullahinsa, Drummeril, Black Shanco-
Wherever I turn I see
In the stony grey soil of Monaghan
Dead loves that were born for me.

Ha, the joke's on you! I don't see any Latin in there. Ignoramus.

Not so much at the CBS, but I went to a very small primary school which closed down around 2005. There were two teachers, both female - and they beat the shite out of everyone pretty much. Unfortunately that isn't an exaggeration. The girls would get pulled out of their chairs by the hair and I still remember the big red hand prints on the backs of their legs, you'd get hit with dusters, ruler edges, plastic binder sleeves - everything. I got slapped around the chops with my plimsoles for wearing them outside one day at lunch. Up at the teachers desk infront of the whole classroom. She literally asked me to take my plimsoles off to inspect the dirt and then she slapped me with each one on the face! Looking back on it it was serious stuff, and both of those ladies would be behind bars for some of what went on.

I don't think of them as bullies though, I can't quite put my finger on why, but I think it was because they instilled a great education in each and every one of us, and I have nothing but fond memories of that school, even with all the batin's I got.

I have only fond memories of school despite some of the things that happened. Yes we had our fair share of rough teachers, but as Puck mentioned, I also cannot complain about the education we all received.
I think the parents complaining that teachers are not "teaching" manners, needs to step up and start parenting. Too many parents are just not interested in parenting. They expect everyone else to do the work and then wonder why little Madison and Noah are not model citizens......

Our teacher in P6 and P7 was a rough hallion, thought nothing of thumping 8 and 9-year lads over the head and knocking them down. But he was a great maths teacher, really made sure you didn't go to secondary school without knowing your tables and being able to do mental arithmetic.  I needed it at the time too because I went through a bit of a lazy spell when it was time to learn the tables, and he never let up with hassling me into learning them which I eventually did.  Taught us some binary arithmetic and other number systems like Octal, stuff I wouldn't use again until GCSE computer science, but it always stuck with me.

Hadn't a clue about science or art or specialist stuff, but when it came to the three Rs there was nobody better.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 12, 2013, 12:27:21 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 12, 2013, 12:23:24 AM
Corporal punishment could never be re-introduced because of the discipline shift from teacher-led to parent-driven. A teacher is now accountable to the whims and wishes of a parent in almost every facet of their child's education. Too right you may say.

Anyway, to teach through fear is cowardly.
The missus said some parent was giving off in one of the January parents night about teachers not teaching children manners!
Yup, I came across a few like her alright in my teaching days.
I once had a mammy who arrived at the door one day to demand that I should teach her young fella how to speak properly so I should put elocution lessons on the agenda as soon as I returned to my class. And, sez she, a good kick up the arse would do him or any of the other little f**kers a world of good if they didn't speak properly from there on. (her word; not mine.)

ardal

Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 12, 2013, 12:27:21 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 12, 2013, 12:23:24 AM
Corporal punishment could never be reintroduced because of the discipline shift from teacher-led to parent-driven. A teacher is now accountable to the whims and wishes of a parent in almost every facet of their child's education. Too right you may say.

Anyway, to teach through fear is cowardly.
[/b]The missus said some parent was giving off in one of the January parents night about teachers not teaching children manners!

The most incisive contribution on the thread.

One of my students punched another child in the back of the head for fun last week. I asked both students to sit alone and think about why this happened and resolve the situation. They sat for about 30 seconds when I allowed them to join in with the rest of class as per normal. Problem solved, or so I thought. The Father of the aggressive 7 year student arrived the next day and tried to pull me out of my class screaming why I wasn't teaching his child manners? We can support the teaching of parents but is it a a schools responsibility to teach manners or the parents.

When I was at school my parents automatically supported the teacher no matter what punishment they metted out. Since the 1990s the respect for teachers from parents has collasped to the levels for lawyers and tax collectors

Quote from: Fionntamhnach on April 13, 2013, 12:04:30 AM
I remember one day when I was in P7 when the parents of another pupil in my class burst through the classroom door and the father grabbed the teacher by his lapels and told him in a not exactly calm manner not to physically punish his son again, this a couple of years after corporal punishment was banned in schools in the north. The boy himself wasn't much of a trouble maker. The teacher went on leave very shortly afterwards and I don't think he came back eventually.

He should have sued the parent for assault.

gerrykeegan

Both my parents taught me. I remember sitting down for dinner on day, My Mam said "was Gerry good in school today? No I had to cane him my Dad replied. She then brought me out to the garage to cane me for getting the cane in school.
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)