POTY 2012

Started by ONeill, August 20, 2012, 12:04:11 AM

Quote from: J70 on October 03, 2012, 06:35:06 PM
Anyone who has watched Donegal will recognize that McBrearty has been very good this year. His ball winning and distribution are excellent, and that is the role McGuinness has had him playing in the half forwards..

Not saying he should necessarily win it (haven't seen enough of other lads), but it is ridiculous to dismiss him based on his scoring stats.
Who has mentioned scoring stats ?

Atticus_Finch

Quote from: J70 on October 03, 2012, 12:36:40 AM
Quote from: Atticus_Finch on October 03, 2012, 12:18:32 AM
I posed that same question a while back on this thread and as far as I know it hasn't happened before. Could anyone confirm that one way or the other ?

I think Don Johnson is spot on with what he says above. McGlynn deserves it but bearing in mind that most voters won't have watched all of Donegal games they'll gravitate towards voting for Lacey as he is the more recognised name.

Disagree. Lacey or McFadden for me. McGlynn has been superb, but the other two were indispensible to the Donegal team this season.

Think we'll have to agree to disagree then fella.

Out of the three McGlynn has been the most consistent player, he seems to always be in contention for man of the match.  He's contributed extremely well in terms of vital scores and going forward while never neglecting his defensive duties.  He's made a number of high profile players anonymous.

I'd say he's definitely been indispensable to the Donegal campaign. He's been an ever present so it is hard to appreciate how much his loss would be felt but one insight to how vital he is came in the semi final when they played Cork.  After McGlynn went off they conceded a soft goal and I don't think that is any coincidence.

It would be refreshing to see a player in the mould of McGlynn win the award for a change.  It's normally the forward players that get all the plaudits.  But as i've said before he's unlikely to get the nod as those who haven't watched all of donegal's games will vote for the more recognised names in Lacey or McFadden.
"The one thing that doesn't abide by majority rule is a person's conscience."

sheamy

Would Donegal have won Sam without McGlynn? Possibly
Would Donegal have won Sam without Lacey? Unlikely
Would Donegal have won Sam without McFadden? Not a chance

Atticus_Finch

Quote from: sheamy on October 04, 2012, 09:41:13 AM

Why because he scored the points ?  Someone would have filled the void. 

He had more than his fair share of wides. Would be interested to see the stats.

Here is a stat for you McGlynn scored 9 less points from play than McFadden during the championship.

How can you put a value on keeping players like Donnacha O'Connor and Jason Doherty anonymous ?

Fair questions you ask above but I would be flipping the answers to 1 and 3.
"The one thing that doesn't abide by majority rule is a person's conscience."

Don Johnson

Form an orderly queue to collect the winnings lads. Some 14 year old (assuming the 98 in her username is her birth year and not her weight in kilos) has posted up the winner:

Quote from: Don Johnson on October 24, 2012, 02:37:38 PM
Form an orderly queue to collect the winnings lads. Some 14 year old (assuming the 98 in her username is her birth year and not her weight in kilos) has posted up the winner:

Is that true?
He's still 9/2 in Boylesports.

Don Johnson

Do you still believe in Santa?

Is there an exchange for the POTY awards?

sheamy

Quote from: Atticus_Finch on October 04, 2012, 09:53:19 AM
Quote from: sheamy on October 04, 2012, 09:41:13 AM

Why because he scored the points ?  Someone would have filled the void

He had more than his fair share of wides. Would be interested to see the stats.

Here is a stat for you McGlynn scored 9 less points from play than McFadden during the championship.

How can you put a value on keeping players like Donnacha O'Connor and Jason Doherty anonymous ?

Fair questions you ask above but I would be flipping the answers to 1 and 3.

Easy to say. I take your points and agree that McGlynn probably more than anyone typified the difference between Donegal '11 and Donegal '12. However, McFadden took scores all year that I don't believe any other player on the team could have. Especially against Tyrone. Others possibly would have filled the void to an extent, but I don't believe any of them would have completely. The defensive efforts were a sum of a collective effort.  Many many times the attacking threat was still heavily on McFadden's shoulders although to a lesser extent than in 2011.

Dougal

Quote from: Don Johnson on October 24, 2012, 02:37:38 PM

What are ya at,nearly giving me a heart attack?  >:( >:(
Fcuk you I won't do what ya tell me!!!

Don Johnson

Just a bit of light hearted relief in advance of the inevitable, boring hand over to Lacey.

Lacey,O'Connor the winners.

Well deserved Lacey, although McFadden can consider himself unlucky. Lacey now far and away Donegal's most decorated player, with four all stars, POTY, 2 Ulsters and an All Ireland (couple of league medals there too, for what they're worth!).

cadence

no begrudging lacey here, he's been fantastic as usual. but hard lines to mcfadden and mcglynn though, they were outstanding all year too and, along with the rest of the donegal squad, they can enjoy the satisfaction of their achievements. from the noises coming out of the camp, it sounds like they're mad to carry on with the training and defend the title next year and for that we can only thank the dubs fair play to them.