On The Pitch Celebrations

Started by Feckitt, August 29, 2012, 01:53:06 PM

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 30, 2012, 09:55:26 AM
At that stage the crowd could be allowed out onto the pitch. I think if you advertised this well in advance, then people would be happy enough, and it would be an ideal compromise.

There can be no compromise with 'balubas' or those who are 'moronic'. Here endeth the lesson.

True, but you can compromise with people who genuinely enjoy the occasion and who feel, rightly, that this success is partly their success.

Quote from: Declan on August 29, 2012, 09:11:43 PM
I thought I'd be bursting to hop the fence last year but it was so much better watching the lads enjoy themselves on the pitch. You can always give them a handshake in Coppers later ;)

Me too, never felt the overwhelming need to rush the pitch - enjoyed it just as much in the stand and it was great seeing the players being able to celebrate on the pitch.

Quote from: deiseach on August 30, 2012, 10:16:03 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 30, 2012, 09:55:26 AM
At that stage the crowd could be allowed out onto the pitch. I think if you advertised this well in advance, then people would be happy enough, and it would be an ideal compromise.

There can be no compromise with 'balubas' or those who are 'moronic'. Here endeth the lesson.

A heartfelt 'Amen' to that.

Quote from: Plain of the Herbs on August 29, 2012, 11:12:41 PM
This is the thing.  Wasn't it great that the players got to celebrate with each other for as long as they wanted on the pitch afterwards without being accosted.  Was it Alan Brogan's young son who got his photo taken with his dad and uncles and Sam?  One for the Brogans' mantlepiece.  Stuff like that was brilliant.

But no.  People want to act like balubas, charge the pitch, accost players thay don't know, and shove half the county around the place.  Anyway, if you know a player personally you will always see him later, or that night, or the next night.
I thought I'd be bursting to hop the fence last year but it was so much better watching the lads enjoy themselves on the pitch. You can always give them a handshake in Coppers later ;)

Ah sure what do the players matter. Why would they want to celebrate with the team mates who slogged trough the muck and rain all year when they could have some half tanked baluba they never met jumpin on their backs tellin them they are great fellas.

Quote from: LeoMc on August 30, 2012, 12:29:41 PM
Quote from: Plain of the Herbs on August 29, 2012, 11:12:41 PM
This is the thing.  Wasn't it great that the players got to celebrate with each other for as long as they wanted on the pitch afterwards without being accosted.  Was it Alan Brogan's young son who got his photo taken with his dad and uncles and Sam?  One for the Brogans' mantlepiece.  Stuff like that was brilliant.

But no.  People want to act like balubas, charge the pitch, accost players thay don't know, and shove half the county around the place.  Anyway, if you know a player personally you will always see him later, or that night, or the next night.

Ah sure what do the players matter. Why would they want to celebrate with the team mates who slogged trough the muck and rain all year when they could have some half tanked baluba they never met jumpin on their backs tellin them they are great fellas.
Yerra, we don't want the players getting ahead of themselves and thinking they are any greater part of the occasion than the lad up for the beer.
The fans have as much right to be on the field as the players.
No one is going to tell what I can and can't do in MY stadium.
After 70 minutes of supreme effort, the players love nothing better than a bit of horseplay with strangers... ;)

If the pitch could be cleared and fans relied upon to file onto in orderly manner, then perhaps it is worth considering.

However there will always be the risk of a few buck eejits who will just batter their way on to the field regardless. The others who were waiting patiently to get on will then start to get itchy feet and want to do the same.

Hey, I think that's you with the dodgy leather jacket!

Actually, my prime concern would be for the losing team. They don't deserve to be caught in the middle of that shite either.

Olly

The government need to act here. There are serious measures that would hinder those intent on accessing the field such as taser guns etc but why not have mines all over the field that are activated as soon as the final whistle goes with players given maps of their location beforehand.
Access to this webpage has been denied . This website has been categorised as "Sexual Material".