Point from Handpass

Started by criostlinn, June 18, 2012, 12:49:21 AM

Lucifer

Quote from: Fionntamhnach on June 19, 2012, 07:21:01 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 19, 2012, 01:54:16 PM
That was what I was getting at. Fisted goal - abomination. Fisted point - fine. Seems a contradiction to me.
A goalkeeper by and large defends the goal, unless they make some pretty big leaps they don't normally make saves on balls going over the bar. A fist passed point over the bar doesn't "cheat" the goalkeeper the same way as a fist passed goal does. Also where do you stop with "putting the foot back into football"? Ban all fist and hand passing? Forbid catching an overhead ball? I think the current score rules work fine, apart from insisting that it should be a fist pass and just simply allow any legal fist or hand pass to count with the ball going over the bar.

Fisting the ball from the 20 metre line - I'd say quite a lot of players could fist pass the ball over the bar when struck from behind the 20m line if they're in a standing position and take up to three steps in doing so. Much less chance though in succeeding in the heat of a game though where you won't have the time to give the striking arm a good follow through.

I agree with all of this.
8)
Maybe the GAA could promote the art of a good long range fisted point with a segment on The
Sunday Game 'Extreme Fisting with Pat Spillane.' 

criostlinn

Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 18, 2012, 01:36:01 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 18, 2012, 11:18:26 AM
Perversely, if your remove the option for fisting a point, it actually makes it more difficult to score goals, as the keeper and defenders have one less things to worry about from an attack.

I would agree with that.
I think a forward bearing down on goal will keep the defenders guessing until the second he fists the ball. In other words, the chance of a goal is there until he opts for a fisted point.
If he knew he had to use the boot, the defenders would also know this and could concentrate on trying to block his kick.
Nine times out of ten, he would have no realistic option but to go for a point before the goalie or the backs converged on him.
Granted, the majority of handpass points appear to be illegal but that's another matter.

This should have nothing to do with increasing the amount of scores in a game or giving forwards another option. Sure if we want to increase the amount of goals why not just let  them throw the friggin thing into the goal. (Im sure the meath boys would be  fans of this).   What Im talking about is lads one on one with the keeper fisting the ball over the bar. Im not on about lads at tight angles or surrounded by players. Obviously with the rules the way they are fisting it over the bar is the right option. No, the boy who thinks he's mighty trudging up the pitch after taking his point when it was probably easier to put it in the net. The auld boys on the sideline telling him how cute he is. "Take the points and the goals will come" sorta shite. No they wont if you keep fisting sitters over the bar.

So whats the point of the rule. If a defender pushes the forward into a tight angle fair play to him. Let the forward pass it to a man who is not at such a tight angle. If the forward hasnt the balls to have a crack at goal or take his point before the keeper is out on him, well pass it to someone who will. If the forward gets himself surrounded well get the ball to someone who isnt surrounded.