Davy Fitz gets the Job

Started by Hurler on the Bitch, June 09, 2008, 11:21:33 PM

Hurler on the Bitch

So much for Antrim catching the Deise on the hop...

Is that true? If it is, it's a good appointment. He will take a completely different approach from Justin.

dodo

Great stuff........he'll have them hopping, and that's not maybe. Every game needs its characters and Davy is one hell of a character. His record with LIT is very good. I'd imagine that he is the ideal man for the job. These lads know that they're out of excuses so it's sh1t or bust from now on.

bottlethrower7

ah I was hoping Tipp would get him.

the game needs its characters. I'm just glad that particular one has gone to Waterford. I wonder is naming Peter Queally as a selector a tactical thing, to bury the ghost of the Munster final replay of 1998.

Not a good appointment if you ask me. I'd be very wary of players going into intercounty management so soon. I know they were under pressure but a man with more experience would have been better suited

Good luck to him ! He will need it !

Quote from: thejuice on June 10, 2008, 09:45:55 AM
Not a good appointment if you ask me. I'd be very wary of players going into intercounty management so soon. I know they were under pressure but a man with more experience would have been better suited

Dunno Juice... Davy has been taking LIT for the last few years and by all accounts he's a good man. Of course there is a big difference between Fitzgibbon management and Inter County management but good luck to him. He's a complete headcase but I'd say he's copped himself on a bit now to know when it's needed and when it's not.

As for the Waterford Hurlers well they've got what they want now and if they don't achieve it's on their own heads. In fairness Davy's done well here because the pressure is on the players rather than him and even if he is useless the players can't come out and blame the manager twice so he will be richer for the experience either way!

slow corner back

Davy has quite a bit of managerial experience, as well as LIT he managed clare u-21s for a year or two while he was still playing with the seniors. As I recall he managed to get himself suspended for something he did in one of the u-21 games. Tends to suggest that he manages like he played!!!

homeofhurling8

That was the infamous battle of Ennis in 99 when Davy made the fatal error of sending his troops out to "timber" a Tipp team,he was like a rabid dog on the sideline all night culminating in the melee in which Redser turned him arse over tit ensuring he would never have to buy a pint in Thurles again for the rest of his life ;)

Quote from: homeofhurling8 on June 10, 2008, 04:44:10 PM
That was the infamous battle of Ennis in 99 when Davy made the fatal error of sending his troops out to "timber" a Tipp team,he was like a rabid dog on the sideline all night culminating in the melee in which Redser turned him arse over tit ensuring he would never have to buy a pint in Thurles again for the rest of his life ;)

Out of curiosity, where is the Redser now ?

not sure it will work a lot of baggage from the past with davy and waterford. people make comparisons with offaly. i was at that infamous leinster final. offaly were pure shite but they didn't throw the towel in. waterford did last sunday and will do again this year. you odn't just get rid of that out of a team. i wouldn't touch them with a bargepole from a managament perspective.

Quote from: INDIANA on June 11, 2008, 06:10:52 PM
not sure it will work a lot of baggage from the past with davy and waterford. people make comparisons with offaly. i was at that infamous leinster final. offaly were pure shite but they didn't throw the towel in.
I'd say the biggest gripe the Offaly players had was the complete disassociation Babs took from events on the field.
It was very much "they are playing badly, they aren't listening to me, they did this wrong".
While the "sheep in a heap" jibe became a catchphrase, it wasn't that in particular that caused the rift.
In Justin's case you have to feel sorry for him as he seemed extremely committed to the Waterford cause.

Quote from: homeofhurling8 on June 10, 2008, 04:44:10 PM

I was actually coming around to the notion of Davy possibly being the man to lift Offaly hurling.
He'd have that bit of madness about him, but I'd say his enthusiasm would be something else and would surely be bound to rub off on the players.

Granted he has had his rash moments in the past!

I liked reading his interviews. He has a lovely turn of phrase that is very close to the Gaeilge.