Cill Dara v An Mhí - Droichead Nua 20/3/2011

Started by Donnellys Hollow, March 14, 2011, 11:05:13 AM

I never liked the idea of letting this fella anywhere within an ass's roar of Meath football. I like it less and less the more I see and the more I hear. This kind of shite and his self-serving loud-mouthed prating are an insult to the legacy of Seán Boylan:

Quote from: Declan on March 21, 2011, 08:18:00 AM
Speaking with lads last night and although they know Meath are training savagely at the moment there is still a feeling that the players haven't really bought into Banty's system of play.

There's a system of play?

and these 'lads' you speak of, who are they?

The thing is we've heard not a pip from the players themselves.

Just fellas involved in club football juice who would have knowledge of Meath football and be mates of panel members.

I know what you're saying about the players themselves and rightly so in my opinion they should do their talking on the pitch.

No matter what thuggery happened on the pitch, Sean Boylan could come in front of the cameras immediately afterwards and be the most graceful gentlemanly sportsman, even after losing in the most painful of circumstances.
I know I couldn't do it :)

Meath played some decent stuff yesterday. They dominated midfield but their full-forward line were snuffed out by McGrillen, Foley and McLoughlin. They need to get Graham Reilly and the two Brays back to add a bit of pace to the forward line. I was impressed with Menton who looks a good player.

Are Davy Dalton jnr and that Newman lad on the panel at all? Both were impressive for Maynooth against QUB in the Sigerson.

I think Dalton has been out with a few injuries so far this year. Don't know about Newman.

Stephan Bray should be back from his honeymoon but his fitness might still not be up to the required level yet. Not sure if David is ready yet either.

Kevin Reilly should be back for the Tyrone game.

DB_An_Mhi

Kenny should return to his right half-back position on a permanent basis, given the amount of time and space Kildare were afforded yesterday. If he doesn't we will have much the same set up and shape as last year and struggle to defend and score against stronger counties. Brian Sheridan may be one for the future, but not the present. I don't think Brian Farrell offers that much either, despite some very good performances for his club last season. Our forward line is one dimensional at the moment with only four scoring forwards in the starting 15. Our full-forward line cannot maximise their potential, when they are so isolated from the rest of the team. Despite dominating midfield, we coudn't supply much ball into the full-forwards with such a disfunctional (non-existent) half-forward line. We should have at least five and preferably six scoring forwards at all times. Forwards willing to run looking for ball and prepared to take-on their man when they get it. It's fine saying we have a few key players to return which will add some pace and variety to our play, but we need to be in a place where we can select a balanced side despite the odd injury or suspension. Otherwise the teams effectiveness will be left to chance (and luck). Now where did we hear that before.

I'd agree that Kenny should go to wing-back.
Nestor and Reilly should be our two wing-forwards.
Pace to burn and well able to score.

Our game against Antrim was at 1.30 yday so it meant when we got back in the car after the game we could listen to RTE radio on all the 2nd halves yday, i have to say i couldnt believe when the man commentating on the final stages kildare/meath game said Marty Duffy was refering, Marty is a Sligoman, and this game had a huge bearing on Sligo staying up or going down. I was nervous and hoping Kildare would hold on and how could Marty be any different if he cares about Sligo football.

I dont blame Marty, but the GAA are joke selecting him for this game with a clear conflict of interest? Id be pissed if a Meath or Antrim refs any of our remaining 2 fixtures..

If the flourbags were any use they'd give us a replay.

Meath 2-19
Kildare 3-13

G'wan the hurlers!!  We're a hurling county now didn't ye know.

DB_An_Mhi

1-14 + 3-13 = 4-27 (39) Cill Dara
1-12 + 2-19 = 3-31 (40) An Mhi

Great to win on aggregate. ;D