M50 eFlow Toll

Started by balladmaker, March 09, 2011, 09:54:12 AM

Quote from: armaghniac on March 09, 2011, 06:09:53 PM
QuoteThey can't enforce it in the north

Bollix. They just turn the whole thing over to debt collectors, with fines you could owe thousands. It is not worth doing this for someone there the odd time, but if you make a habit of it.....

Debt collectors can buy the debt but there is no way they can make you pay up.

QuoteDebt collectors can buy the debt but there is no way they can make you pay up.

True. But unless you don't have car loans, mortgages etc they will be a nuisance

Quote from: FL/MAYO on March 09, 2011, 07:01:56 PM
I took a trip home in 2003 and had a rental car, I got caught speeding by a camera on the way into Dublin, two months later a speeding ticket arrived here in the U.S. I paid the fine as I didn't want any hassle from the rental car companies on future trips.

This happened my da once, only difference was he hadnt hired any cars, someone had scammed his CC details.  Awful job getting it put right

Quote from: armaghniac on March 10, 2011, 09:12:09 AM
QuoteDebt collectors can buy the debt but there is no way they can make you pay up.

True. But unless you don't have car loans, mortgages etc they will be a nuisance

How?

They cannot affect you credit rating in the north or persue you through the county courts. This may have changed now but if so why has no one in the north been done yet?

Jeez lads it's no wonder the south is broke. Help your brothers out and throw them a few euro, it could mean the difference to a Dub between getting a fix that night or not.

Drivers caught tailgating at motorway tolls

More than 100 motorists have been penalised for tailgating other vehicles while travelling through the barrier-free tolling system on the M50 in Dublin.

They were caught during four separate Garda operations to crack down on the practice.

The operators of the system had noticed that a growing number of motorists were trying to hide their licence plates by driving very close to heavy goods vehicles.

eFlow has said the practice is an extremely dangerous one that puts lives at risk.

It has also taken its own measures to prevent tailgating.

Rear-facing cameras have now been installed on the motorway in an attempt to discourage any further tailgating.

The trick now is to position yourself between 2 HGV's that are close together or else get yourself a set of northern reg plates  :P

QuoteThey cannot affect you credit rating in the north or persue you through the county courts.

Sez who?

QuoteThis may have changed now but if so why has no one in the north been done yet?

Define "done".

Quote from: orangeman on March 10, 2011, 11:59:28 AM
Drivers caught tailgating at motorway tolls

More than 100 motorists have been penalised for tailgating other vehicles while travelling through the barrier-free tolling system on the M50 in Dublin.

They were caught during four separate Garda operations to crack down on the practice.

The operators of the system had noticed that a growing number of motorists were trying to hide their licence plates by driving very close to heavy goods vehicles.

eFlow has said the practice is an extremely dangerous one that puts lives at risk.

It has also taken its own measures to prevent tailgating.

Rear-facing cameras have now been installed on the motorway in an attempt to discourage any further tailgating.
I was doing that for ages, it didn't seem to matter though as my easypass thingy was beeping anyway.