General Election prediction thread - call it now

Started by muppet, February 03, 2011, 08:25:37 PM

Quote from: Main Street on March 01, 2011, 02:03:57 PM
I thought there was only one chance, Muppet :)

Therefore the unrevised Armaghniac would be my winner

Reply #15 on: February 24, 2011, 12:30:15 AM »

Fianna Fail (77) - 22 inc Ceann Comhairle
Fianna Gael (51) - 79
Labour (20) - 34
Green Party (6) - 2
Sinn Fein (4) - 12
PDs (2) - 0
Independents & lefties (6) - 17
No way, waiting until the day before the election is cheating, in fact the moratorium was probably in place by then, so it may actually have been illegal!!

By a similar token Seanie's revised selection is also invalid and so I declare myself the winner based on the fact that I said in the 2007 election thread that FG/Lab would take the next election, and that the greens would be wiped out for sipping from the poisoned cup.

If anyone has any complaints about that the result, contact Mr. Richard Roche of Greystones, Co. Wicklow.  He is an expert in the legality or otherwise of results in contests such as this and between you maybe a class action can be launched.

Quote from: Bogball XV on March 01, 2011, 07:10:22 PM

Fianna Gael (51) - 79
Labour (20) - 34
Green Party (6) - 2
Sinn Fein (4) - 12
PDs (2) - 0
No way, waiting until the day before the election is cheating, in fact the moratorium was probably in place by then, so it may actually have been illegal!!

By a similar token Seanie's revised selection is also invalid and so I declare myself the winner based on the fact that I said in the 2007 election thread that FG/Lab would take the next election, and that the greens would be wiped out for sipping from the poisoned cup.

If anyone has any complaints about that the result, contact Mr. Richard Roche of Greystones, Co. Wicklow.  He is an expert in the legality or otherwise of results in contests such as this and between you maybe a class action can be launched.

One is convinced by this argument and also that the day after the blanket guarantee you said that it could be the biggest bluff in the history of the State. You are declared winner.

First prize is dinner for two with Main Street (he is paying).

Now wise sage, how are Mayo going to do this year?

Quote from: muppet on March 01, 2011, 08:42:42 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on March 01, 2011, 07:10:22 PM

Fianna Gael (51) - 79
Labour (20) - 34
Green Party (6) - 2
Sinn Fein (4) - 12
PDs (2) - 0

One is convinced by this argument and also that the day after the blanket guarantee you said that it could be the biggest bluff in the history of the State. You are declared winner.

First prize is dinner for two with Main Street (he is paying).

There were a fair few on here who called that and other disastrous policies.  It now looks as though the dept of finance also warned them against most of their decisions, but they were ignored too - it's a least heartening to know that they could see what was coming and that their advice was rejected should be the final nail in the FF coffin.  Honestly, to me this is the worst thing to come out over the past few years.  Other scandals like the seanie meetings, the golden circle etc etc could at least be excused on the grounds of irrational exuberance/confidence/stupidity, but the fact that their own civil servants warned them that the path they were pursuing was folly and were ignored is unforgiveable.

As for Mayo:

Retain Div. 1 status, just about.

Lose to Rossies in the Connaught final, could have beaten them handily, but it was the key element of the deal thrashed out between Enda and Ming.

Manage to battle through to the all ireland final after Mickey Moran dramatically leaves Leitrim midway through the summer and regalvinises Mayo.  Unfortunately Kerry are the opponents.  I'll leave it at that.

Quote from: Bogball XV on March 01, 2011, 09:18:18 PM

Manage to battle through to the all ireland final after Mickey Moran dramatically leaves Leitrim midway through the summer and regalvinises Mayo.  Unfortunately Kerry are the opponents.  I'll leave it at that.

Not even Ming himself could swing that for ye :D

Quote from: Rossfan on March 01, 2011, 09:47:45 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on March 01, 2011, 09:18:18 PM

Not even Ming himself could swing that for ye :D
aye, but you never know, Enda has connections with Kerry football and isn't michael healy rae in the heartbed of Kerry football, time for the Healy Rae party to give up something if they want to be part of the grand coalition?