Wexford Vs Westmeath LSFC

Started by Croí na hÉireann, June 10, 2011, 12:31:19 PM

Bill Haven

my prediction depressingly accurate

Maroon Heaven

Fairplay to Loch Gormain. Gave us a tanking

Westmeath,Wexford & Offaly had similar league campaigns just goes to show once again the league counts for nothing.

Orangemac

Quote from: Blowitupref on June 11, 2011, 06:00:43 PM
Yeah newstalk coverage is quite good alright but i'm not so sure about David Brady. As for the game by the sounds of it Westmeath struggling to keep pace with a fitter faster Wexford outfit.
Seems to be good so far. Breath of fresh air compared to rte certainly. Brady made remark at start of the game that Pauric Hughes would find a big change reffing a game in Leinster compared to the cynical nature of Ulster football!

Good to see Wexford going well. Would have a lot of time for Jason Ryan and Ciaran Lyng is a great footballer.This new fella Brosnan is ensuring Mattie Forde is not being missed yet.

boro

Another great win

Jason Ryan seems to have the lads peaking just at the right time, they are flying at the moment and blew Westmeath away in the second half (much like the offaly game). They have scored 3.40 in two games now, but still need to tighten things up in the backs. Still i don't think Westmeath had single shot on goal, so that's an improvement on the Offaly game. As far Ciaran Lyng, he was brilliant yestersday, giving an exhibition of point scoring, a joy to watch.

I guess we are probably favourites for Leinster now  :P

Awful trip on Saturday. Was feeling full of optimism Sat morn until I opened the paper and saw that Padraig Hughes was down to ref. The mood didn't lift all day. We were so far off the pace (apart from Dessie & Glennon) it was bewildering. Backline was completely torn asunder. Gavin & Boyle had shockers, couldn't believe how easily Redmond turned Gavin for the goal. I'd actually throw some of the blame Finnan's way as well, he should have retreated to protect the goal line at all costs and forgotten about his man, Tyrone have the template here. No one could get next or near Lynn although the lack of pressure on the ball coming in didn't help. Boyle must have been under the weather to get the curly finger so earlier, he's only shown such poor form in the O'Byrne Cup before, never in championship. Egan to be fair to him was given a detailed job to do on Brosnan and was managing it until he was asked to put out fires elsewhere. Harte & Martin were firmly in the never seen them as bad category.

There was a promise of a comeback and we had hauled the horrendous start back to a point deficit by the 25 minute mark due to some fantastic points by Dessie & Glennon, they looked dangerous when we could get them the ball, which was all too rare. Greville was supplier in chief but was played too far out for me, shouldn't have come much further than the 40. Lynam, David G and Sharry had a minimal impact on the game although to be fair to Lynam he was being played out of position. You should always play your best players in their best positions and Lynam should be in the corner or at 11, nowhere else. Like the U21s last year though, other players were accommodated at his expense.

We struggled badly at midfield, the lads tried but they were too young a partnership for this level. Couldn't believe Flanagan moved Corroon to the half forwards for the second half, had obviously forgotten the Tipp match. Heslin competed in the air but by that stage we probably needed him in full forward as six points was a big lead to overhaul at half time.

Anyway as I feared we were way too inexperienced between the 40's and Wexford overran us here. Although Lyng stole the plaudits I was very impressed with Roche, the hoor was everywhere. Brosnan is some man for the long range points as well. Would be nice to see them go on now and win Leinster, they will win the semi and they'll certainly put up a better show than their last final appearance.

Stupid decision to have Natchie on the bench if he wasn't fit to come on, unless they threw in the towel and decided not to risk himself or Duffy with the next day in mind, which wouldn't exactly fill you full of confidence either. I hope there is a kick left in this team though, if we can get Natchie and Duffy back for the next day and if the lads get the heads right they can still redeem themselves, Antrim should hold no fears for them. Although if they lose the will and start carrying the ball into the tackle like the last day it could be another schelping.