Alex Higgins RIP

Started by sandwiches_in_the_boot, July 24, 2010, 07:29:25 PM

Quote from: spuds on August 03, 2010, 06:12:35 PM
if someone doesn't deserve your respect in life or death says something about your valuation of yourself and others
we all have our codes of practise and lines that shouldn t be crossed
myself and most of my friends and neighbours were raised to respect life and death
to use someone s death as an opportunity to disparage and run down imo says more about the poster than the recently passed
a standard of decency imo that is slipping
There's a time and a place to say things, to slag someone off when they've just passed is a bit low imo however as time pasts we should be able to reflect on them honestly.  I find it just as sickening when people fall over themselves to put a deceased person on a pedestal and some of the posts on this thread make me want to vomit.

that s more like it pints no need to walk over a freshly laid grave
an honest assessment is more than acceptable imo without resorting to cheap comments

DoireGael

Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on August 03, 2010, 04:16:39 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on August 03, 2010, 03:53:23 PM
Came across him a few times in Belfast around the bars, certainly there is mixed reviews about him, but never the less a sporting genius.

A friend asked him once while playing , 'Are you watching the UK/World chamionship' (not to sure which, not a big snooker fan)

Anyway from what the boys told me he had win it a few times.

He replied by saying he could'nt afford 'Sky Sports'
Actualy crazy to think this guy had won the competition and couldnt afford now to watch it on his TV

Sure this wasnt a case of "Ask a stupid question get a stupid answer"..??

Sky never have shown the major tournaments..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Premier_League_Snooker

Not exactly the 'Lory Meagher Cup'

The Forfeit Point

Quote from: J OGorman on August 03, 2010, 04:25:40 PM
lads, what is the point in taking meaningless potshots at Alex Higgins (does it make you feel more adequate)? For all his faults, he won the world title twice and help put Belfast on the map. RIP Alex Higgins

ahh come on now, it wasn't alex higgins that put belfast on the map back then.

Quote from: The Forfeit Point on August 04, 2010, 11:39:05 AM
lads, what is the point in taking meaningless potshots at Alex Higgins (does it make you feel more adequate)? For all his faults, he won the world title twice and help put Belfast on the map. RIP Alex Higgins

in a positive light maybe?  ::)

The Forfeit Point

Quote from: J OGorman on August 04, 2010, 11:52:26 AM

no need to roll you eyes. by the time higgins won the world championship in 1972, everyone knew where belfast was plus georgie best had made his name well before that too.

so eh yeah, less of the fawning maybe. he was a great snooker player. that is all.

Quote from: The Forfeit Point on August 04, 2010, 03:36:40 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 04, 2010, 11:52:26 AM

no need to roll you eyes. by the time higgins won the world championship in 1972, everyone knew where belfast was plus georgie best had made his name well before that too.

so eh yeah, less of the fawning maybe. he was a great snooker player. that is all.

great indeed, good man

Lads lads lads,

He was the 'People's Champion' after all!   ;)

upmonaghansayswe

Quote from: DoireGael on August 04, 2010, 10:07:35 AM
Came across him a few times in Belfast around the bars, certainly there is mixed reviews about him, but never the less a sporting genius.

A friend asked him once while playing , 'Are you watching the UK/World chamionship' (not to sure which, not a big snooker fan)

Actualy crazy to think this guy had won the competition and couldnt afford now to watch it on his TV

After the world, uk, masters, it ranks allongside the Grand Prix and Shanghai Masters..
Did ya take a chance to read it??

"From 1987 to 2004, the Betfred Premier League matches were recorded and shown as-live, initially by ITV until the early 1990s when Sky Sports took over coverage"

ITV is free to air so only by turning the telly off could ya miss it..

Also, he never won it, and his last competitive win was in 89, before Sky got in on the act..

DoireGael

Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on August 04, 2010, 06:40:09 PM

After the world, uk, masters, it ranks allongside the Grand Prix and Shanghai Masters..

"From 1987 to 2004, the Betfred Premier League matches were recorded and shown as-live, initially by ITV until the early 1990s when Sky Sports took over coverage"

Also, he never won it, and his last competitive win was in 89, before Sky got in on the act..

Well he could'nt afford a TV then, yet he was blocked so wasnt making much sense.

As for putting Belfast on the Map, I would say the troubles successfully done that.

upmonaghansayswe

Quote from: DoireGael on August 05, 2010, 09:01:10 AM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on August 04, 2010, 06:40:09 PM

Well he could'nt afford a TV then, yet he was blocked so wasnt making much sense.

As for putting Belfast on the Map, I would say the troubles successfully done that.

Possibly, or he was just taking the piss out of your friend..

gerrykeegan

Very good, he was some character, loved his story about pissing in front of Michael Lester
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

Quote from: gerrykeegan on August 09, 2010, 11:36:49 PM
Very good, he was some character, loved his story about pissing in front of Michael Lester

I have him now  ;)

Quote from: gerrykeegan on August 09, 2010, 11:36:49 PM

That was funny alright....Michael has now progressed to people talking shite in front of him every week. ;)