2010 Leinster u/21, Minor and Junior Football Draws

Started by Dinny Breen, October 10, 2009, 12:26:58 PM

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 29, 2010, 06:15:08 PM
Just back from the big smoke. Unreal game altogether. Probably not as good a standard as last week but the excitement and tension was something else.

Kildare squandered too many chances to put the Dubs away towards the end of normal time and paid the price for it again. Fair play to the Dubs for hanging in there. Dublin looked a bit fresher in ET but Kildare showed great heart to come back. Feely showed great bottle to nail the penalty and then kick the equaliser with the last kick of the game.

Cribbin was missed when he went off and Pádraig Fogarty (who was probably Kildare's best player along with Seán Hurley) picked up an injury before ET and wasn't moving freely at all in the last 20 minutes. Comerford from Maynooth also went off injured in ET. With the injuries now beginning to mount up on both sides hopefully the Leinster Council will employ common sense and schedule the replay for after the Leaving Cert.

Heard its either the 19th or 30th June. Its a real pity there has to be a loser in this. Because I think both of them are in the top 4 in the country. That was brilliant yesterday. I still think kildare are marginally the better team but Dublin don't give up easy. Its a very young dublin side and we weren't really expecting to do anything this season. Both sides are beset with injuries now.

Replay set for 29 June in Navan according to the shower of muppets in Portlaoise.

This match should be back in Newbridge. What was the point of Kildare winning the first round match back in April if they don't regain home advantage for the next match?

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 01, 2010, 01:38:33 PM
Replay set for 29 June in Navan according to the shower of muppets in Portlaoise.

This match should be back in Newbridge. What was the point of Kildare winning the first round match back in April if they don't regain home advantage for the next match?
There was no point winning the first game in April. But I thought everyone knew that when the draw was made.

Surely home advantage (which Kildare won the right to in the first round match) should now revert to Kildare again after the replay. Every other match in the minor championships in Leinster is played on a home/away basis. Why should this match be any different?

The Officers of Comhairle Laighean CLG met on Monday night (31.5.2010) to decide upon arrangements for the concluding stages of this year's Leinster Minor Championships.
They considered correspondence from Coisdi Co Ath Cliath, Cill Dara, Longphort and Uibh Fhaili in respect of MFC and from Uibh Fhaili (dual players), Ath Cliath (dual players) and Loch Garman (venue) in respect of MHC.

The following arrangements were confirmed:
A. Iomaint
(a) ESB Leinster M.H.C. Semi Final - Ath Cliath v Loch Garman at Parnell Park on Saturday, June 26.

(b) ESB Leinster M.H.C. Semi Final - Uibh Fhaili v Cill Chainnigh at Tullamore on Saturday, June 26.

FINAL: Sunday 4th July 2010 in Croke Park.

B. Peil
(a) ESB Leinster M.F.C. Qt. Final (Second Replay) - Ath Cliath v Cill Dara in Navan on Tuesday, June 29.

(b) ESB Leinster M.F.C. Semi Final - Uibh Fhaili v Laois in Tullamore on Wednesday, June 30.

(c) ESB Leinster M.F.C. Semi Final - Longphort v Cill Dara / Ath Cliath in Longford on Saturday, July 3.

NB: If Ath Cliath qualify for M.F.C. Semi-Final and M.H.C. Final, then this M.F.C. Semi Final will be played, in Longford, on Tuesday July 6.

FINAL: Sunday 11th July 2010

NB:
1. Extra time will apply in all aforementioned games except the Leinster Finals.

2. If any of these games finish level, after extra time, then the schedule will have to be revisited again.

We got home advantage for the quarter-final, that was the reward for winning the 1st round game, 2nd replays are rare enough especially after two bouts of extra time. I see no problem with the venue, they are good enough and should win the replay.

Blue and Navy

I think its unfair and short sighted that its being played in Navan. A game in Newbridge would nearly be like a home game for Dublin again having played there twice already, plus i think that it will affect the gate on the day hugely. I've talked with a number of neutrals who said they would love to see the third game, but will be unlikely to head to Navan now.

Imo a ploy for Kildare to have a "grievance" about the venue...... a neutral venue at that. Personally delighted to see both our minors and U21s showing some traditional grit and bottle which our seniors in recent years have not shown.

Anyway best of luck to all the lads on both panels sitting the LC shortly.

Final score - kildare 1-13 Dublin 0-13

Well done kildare. Hard luck to dubs

Kildare v Longford now in semi-final next Sunday (I think)

Anyone got a time and place?

cill_dara

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 29, 2010, 10:22:32 PM
Kildare v Longford now in semi-final next Sunday (I think)

Anyone got a time and place?

7pm on sunday evening in pearse park!

What's the Longford minor team like, I see they responded well after being well beat by the Biffo's. There is high expectation around this Kildare minor team but with young lads you never know, they could be very vulnerable on Sunday after finally beating Dublin for the 2nd time.

Not sure if I can fit a trip to Longford and Belfast in the same weekend.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 30, 2010, 11:21:50 AM
What's the Longford minor team like, I see they responded well after being well beat by the Biffo's. There is high expectation around this Kildare minor team but with young lads you never know, they could be very vulnerable on Sunday after finally beating Dublin for the 2nd time.

Not sure if I can fit a trip to Longford and Belfast in the same weekend.

I haven't seen the Kildare minors this year but from the reports from your games with Dublin you'll have no problems disposing with Longford, they are a very limited team who beat a pathetic Westmeath team who were under pathetic management. They have a very good midfielder, James McGivney I think his name is, who ran our backline ragged the last day. The rest didn't stand out at all.

GAA_Punter

Sunday 11 July

ESB Leinster Minor Football Championship final
Offaly 0-01 0-01 Longford, Croke Park, 12.00pm
9min played

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/07/11/gaa-live-scores-sunday-11th-july/