national league or 21 allireland

Started by spuds, April 15, 2010, 01:22:32 PM

whats the greater achievement

national league title
21 allireland
same difference

criostlinn

Wiil you dont be listening to them roscommon flutes. Back in 2006 the minor was the be all and end all. Jaysus most of them didnt know who won the u-21 that year. When reminded they just brushed it off as nothing. They win a Connacht u-21 and here we feckin go again.

Next year they will be banging on about division 4 titles and how great they are

Quote from: criostlinn on April 15, 2010, 10:18:14 PM
Wiil you dont be listening to them roscommon flutes. Back in 2006 the minor was the be all and end all. Jaysus most of them didnt know who won the u-21 that year. When reminded they just brushed it off as nothing. They win a Connacht u-21 and here we feckin go again.

Next year they will be banging on about division 4 titles and how great they are

Div4 titles, now lets be getting ahead ourselves. By my calculations it'll be 2020 until they get out of div4 :P

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 16, 2010, 12:13:19 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on April 15, 2010, 10:18:14 PM

Div4 titles, now lets be getting ahead ourselves. By my calculations it'll be 2020 until they get out of div4 :P

Wouldn't be to worried about playing in Div 4 all those years! from what i hear you can still win connaught titles from there  ;)

Quote from: ross4life on April 15, 2010, 04:40:11 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 15, 2010, 04:31:55 PM
This is self importance bullshit, who cares, comparisons cant be made, Its pointless. The 2 boys are just winding up each other in the office, with the mayo pride and roscommon pride logging horns, nothing more.

well you could have talked about the one All ireland Sligo won in Junior in 1935

J. Scanlon, S. Scanlon, P. McGovern, J. Carty, M. Kennedy, O. Harte, P. Tiernan, F. Henry, M. Waters, C. Curran, P. Brennan, M. Stenson, J. O'Donnell, S. Tansey, J. Quinn

Those players must be big names in Sligo?

Cosmo Kramer

Quote from: spuds on April 15, 2010, 01:22:32 PM
working with a ballbag rossie whos on and on about the ross 21s and it being greather achievement than league any opinions ? i think that proving at senior is the greater achievement

I doubt you'll get too much hassle off him next week anyway...
A few Mayo GAA videos if anyone is interested - www.youtube.com/CosmoKramer100

In terms of the pure winning of the competition, Under 21 is better. Mayo won the league in 2001 and the U-21 in 2006 and the buzz after the U-21 was way above the NFL. Sure, the NFL might give a more immediate guide as to where you're going (not that it did for us in 2001 as someone already pointed out), but for pure enjoyment, the U-21 All-Ireland is way above it.

Cosmo Kramer

It's hard to beat winning an All-Ireland all right, at any level. For me the best thing about the 06 team has been watching them develop into senior players. I think something like 14 of them have played senior championship for Mayo at one point or another. Having that many players coming through at once has created fantastic competition on the senior panel and not all of those 14 have ultimately make the grade. But at least they can call themselves All Ireland winners and we don't have too many of those in these parts.

Having said that the league win was enjoyable too. Looking back probably less so because of what followed it in the next three years of championship, it was less of a pointer to the future than the under 21s. But I've never seen anyone as happy with a win as David McDonagh that day. A seriously average player at county level, that was always going to be his career highlight and he was making the most of it on the lap of honour around Croke Park.
A few Mayo GAA videos if anyone is interested - www.youtube.com/CosmoKramer100

interesting replys votin was going for 21s for bit but 22 each now with 3 same differences should of put time limit on it
tink 21s in co like mayo be more celebrated due to hunger fro championship but league is winning with the big bucks

Turlough O Carolan

Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 17, 2010, 08:50:04 PM
working with a ballbag rossie whos on and on about the ross 21s and it being greather achievement than league any opinions ? i think that proving at senior is the greater achievement

Wonder what the two boys are debating now. Perhaps, is winning the Queen of Bonniconlon bigger than winning the Rose of Castlerea?

Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on April 30, 2010, 01:31:57 AM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 17, 2010, 08:50:04 PM

Wonder what the two boys are debating now. Perhaps, is winning the Queen of Bonniconlon bigger than winning the Rose of Castlerea?

Sure all those Bonni girls/ladies/women are bigger anyway! :D

Rose of Castlerea has now become the pig race  :D

Either competition would be grand from where we're now at  :-\