G Connaughton
F Boyle, D O'Donoghue, J Gaffey
M Ennis, K Martin, D Harte
D Duffy, P Bannon
J Smyth, C Lynam, A Gaughan
P Greville, M Flanagan, D Glennon

No Dolan  :o  >:( I really hope that's a dummy team from Flanagan. 1 to 5 pick themselves, Kieran Martin is a big call at center back, he did well there for the U21s but it's a big ask for a young lad who started out life as a forward, he'll need to have the motor running to keep up with Hannon who'll tear around the park all day. I wouldn't have played Doran Harte as a wing back either, he's much more effective as a wing forward dropping back to provide some cover and sweep up the breaking ball.

Major reservations in midfield, we don't have many other options here to be fair but I think Gary Flanagan did enough during the league to justify a start. Duffy and Bannon will be doing very well to break even with Stafford and JP Dalton. I expect to see Smyth and Lynam swapping positions at the start and would rather see Lynam in the corner but he'll do a job out there. Massive call with Gaughan, haven't a clue what Flanagan is up to here. Inside line can do well if they get the ball, expect a big performance from Glennon, u never know what you're gonna get from Flanagan and Greville has a good left boot on him.

If the right team had took to the park with the right mentality I would have been very confident we would have seen off Mickla. However not with that team, I hope Flanagan has some hidden football knowledge that he didn't display under O'Flaherta, I fear the worst. It'd be hard to stomach seeing Micko the Mercenary get the curse of the maroon jersey off his back at 5 o'clock on Sunday...

Edit: The Mickla team is...

M Travers
S Kelly, D O hAnnaidh, A Byrne
C Hyland, B McGrath, D Hayden
J Stafford, JP Dalton
L Glynn, T Hannon, N Mernagh
P Dalton, S Furlong, P Earls

Hopefully this will be Micko's last Leinster Championship game..

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 04, 2010, 01:00:26 PM
Hopefully this will be Micko's last Leinster Championship game..

+1 That's the sum of my ambition for this Westmeath team this year, knock back Micko on his arse for the final time, anything after that is a bonus...

I think he'll have another game after this one, sadly (in one respect).

Well, thank Christ for that. That Aussie commentator was right years ago when he said that they shot the wrong Michael Collins. Westmeath were much the better team in the first half but only went in a point up. We didn't get ONE free within scoring distance ALL DAY wheras Wicklow were awarded countless frees, of which they scored 6 & Hannon missed a few. Jaysus, they didn't score their 2nd point from play till about the 55th minute. The idiot started throwing around cards like confetti in the second half, I don't think Gaffey, Glynn or Duffy deserved to get one yellow between them, never mind two each.

I see Micko was whinging after the game saying if they took their goal chances (there was one outstanding save from Connaughton) or even pointed them that they would have won the match.  ::) Doesn't work like that Micko u whingebag

On the game itself I thought Westmeath played quite well considering. The Gaughan gamble backfired and was a stupid one to play really. Ger Egan did really well when he came on for him. I'd also question playing Glennon so deep. At most he should have been on the 40 with Lynam. He's too laxidasical out around the middle and his scoring potential is lost. We saw what he is capable of when the game is there to be won. On the positive side I thought Flan and Greville did really well inside and took their points really well, looked good together. Looks like Dessie will have to try and seek a place on the half forward line, he certainly was up for the game when he came on, never seen him so possessed, touch of the demonic Roy Keanes about him, great to see.

Midfield worked out better than I expected, Duffy had a great game before Collins got card happy. Bannon couldn't compete aerially and although he tried, he just isn't up to it I don't think, fair play to him for turning up the whole time though. I'd try Gary Flanagan from the start the next time though, but we can worry about that another day.

All the defenders stood up to the plate and didn't give their men much of a look in. Collins awarding the softest of frees only kept them in it. O'Donoghue looks a different player at full back than the one who was shown up by Joe Sheridan last year. Natchie still great for foraging up the wing, one of the best in the game. Martin was playing really well in the center until he had to go off injured, hopefully it's not too serious as we can't be loosing lads of his quality. Was surprised to see Warburton come on for him, thought the game was tailormade for Heals at that stage.

Anyways off out for a pint, the semi with Louth will be one to saviour but that's for another day. An Iarmhí Abú!!!

It'd be a great tonic to make it to a Leinster final after all the strife of the last couple of years.

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 06, 2010, 11:52:47 PM
Well, thank Christ for that. That Aussie commentator was right years ago when he said that they shot the wrong Michael Collins.

That was Ollie Murphy that said that!