Dublin v Galway

Started by INDIANA, March 24, 2010, 11:08:51 AM

Ah lads, ignore that alp from Down. I was more than surprised to see Galway winning on Saturday. It's hard to believe that Galway are safe.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 29, 2010, 08:30:50 PM
Ah lads, ignore that alp from Down. I was more than surprised to see Galway winning on Saturday. It's hard to believe that Galway are safe.

If it wasn't for those pesky heron chokers Mayo would have gotten away with it.
Come on now Mayo. It's win the league or get off the pot.

I thought we were doomed after the Kerry game and Meehan was carted off. Thankfully they have shown admirable fight and spirit with some of the big names not available and some new lads have put up their hands for selection. Didn't expect to be safe with a game to spare.

Hopefully we can end with a win and finish the league strongly rather than start like a train only to fade like in the previous few years.

Jimmy14

Quote from: Hound on March 28, 2010, 04:22:45 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 28, 2010, 01:45:56 PM
Quote from: Hound on March 28, 2010, 09:00:40 AM
A game the Dubs definitely should have won IMO.

Absolutely rampant at the start, but missing the two gilt edged goal chances came back to haunt us, and we brought Galway into the game by giving away stupid frees.

How de fack do our lads not understand the handpass rule. Feckin eejits. Galway were only caught once or twice, we were caught out a heap of times, and in crucial areas - twice in front of their posts and once right in front of ours. 3 points down the drain in a flash. (seeing the Gooch not pulled up for the blatant palm for the Kerry goal in the other match added to the frustration!)

Very refreshing to see us playing proper attacking football at the start (though it didnt last). Hubbard was very good in the corner, but I still think he's a waste of space out the field. Bonner and Flynn were the worst two players on the field in the first half, so not surprised Bonner didnt return for the 2nd. Amazed that Flynn lasted the 70 given he didnt improve. Hubbard lasting till 65 was silly too, he wasnt in it in the 2nd half. McAuley was very good in the 2nd half, but needs to be more composed when in possession. I get really frustrated with Cian O'Sullivan - super footballer, but makes far too many silly mistakes, which more often than not lead to scores. All down to lack of concetration. If he can sort that out he'll be great. Until then he should be a wing back, with Cahill at 6.

Not sure what happened us when the scores went level and they went a man down. Whoever wanted it more was going to win it at that stage, and Galway grabbed the initiative while we went to sleep.

Great performance by Bernard. Surprised Alan didnt come on, he was warming up on the touchline.

I've said it before and I'll repeat it. I don't believe for one second that Gilroy targeted a league final this year. The aim was to beat Kerry in the first game, then wholesale experiment and not get relegated. The reason we were top for a while was wholly down to poor opposition and bit of luck. Hard to believe Gilroy wouldnt want the benefit of a league final in front of a packed Croker, but I think 3rd place will do him just fine.

I don't think being humiliated by Cork in a league final is what is needed Hound. Think we are as well off out of it. Massive barney between Gilroy and Fennell at the end of the first half. We don't have a midfield that can field the ball. Mc Auley is the only option we have and he was dropped.
It is impossible Hound for a half forward line to function when your midfield can't win aerial ball or have a variety of breaking ball systems that the likes of Tyrone have. When you play on your own 45 line like we do- i'd hate to be a half forward on the Dublin team.
Right off to the Neller to watch the hurlers!
Midfield had nothing to do with the non-performance of the half forwards Indy. Its was an odd game in that both midfields were mediocre and there was no dominant fielder.

Playing against a proper team in Croker would be very beneficial in my view. The rest of Leinster are as bad as us, and we'd learn more in a league final than we will in the whole Leinster championship.
Hopefully the Mgt team will learn from the past two games as they do reflect the weaknesses that exist.
To many backs of the pace, No midfield, half forwards not getting on the ball and over reliance on BB.
On the plus side some strong players to coma back in plus Barry Cahill will be getting sharper.
Fingers crossed on all this!

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 29, 2010, 09:33:25 PM

I thought we were doomed after the Kerry game and Meehan was carted off. Thankfully they have shown admirable fight and spirit with some of the big names not available and some new lads have put up their hands for selection. Didn't expect to be safe with a game to spare.

Hopefully we can end with a win and finish the league strongly rather than start like a train only to fade like in the previous few years.

Kernan has you really well organised. That young lad who came on at corner back looks a find. Sice looks a really good player  as well. Bergin is better suited to wing forward and Concannon has come good. Breathnach is a not a great player but he's a good ball winner and that whjy Joe has him there.
And in Bradshaw you have a superstar- he is some player. Things a re looking up for Galway. Might take a year though.

Quote from: INDIANA on March 30, 2010, 09:25:16 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 29, 2010, 09:33:25 PM

Kernan has you really well organised. That young lad who came on at corner back looks a find. Sice looks a really good player  as well. Bergin is better suited to wing forward and Concannon has come good. Breathnach is a not a great player but he's a good ball winner and that whjy Joe has him there.
And in Bradshaw you have a superstar- he is some player. Things a re looking up for Galway. Might take a year though.

Yeah I think most of Bergin's good performance's for Galway have come in the half-forward line rather than at midfield. Breathnach is not the most skillful player you'll ever see but he's big physical workhorse. Concannon and Sice have done really well up front alright for us recently with Meehan, Army and PJ on the sidelines.

Agree about Bradshaw. When Dublin were flying early on he was like a one man defence. Getting on the ball, driving forward and relieving pressure. If we only had three of him I'd play all three across the half-back line.