Enda McGinley DOESN'T quits Tyrone

Started by ziggysego, March 18, 2010, 02:20:16 PM

To be honest (and I'm gonna sound like a p***k) but I seen this coming. I thought Harte would road him before he quit though. All of the matches this year he's been playing poorly and its plain to see that he wasn't going at it 100%. Someone asked if he was carrying an injury on one thread but there was no mention of it and I could only conclude that he was disinterested and his heart wasn't in it. On the pitch you could tell he wasn't raring to go.

Thats not to say he was standing in the corner with his hands in his pockets but he wasn't putting in that mammoth effort that made him such a player. Even in the formative years of '03 he was always a tryer and you could count on him for that. Once that goes its hard for him to impact any game.

I thought Harte would road him, tell to get his shit together and we'll see where things stand in 3/6 months not unlike SON, Hub and McGuigan's 1st hiatus (none were really "roaded" in the full sense of the word butt you know what I mean. Its obvious now Harte was persuading him to stay on the panel against his will and the time has come now where Enda thinks he hung around long enough. Hopefully its nothing serious on the lads mind and its just a loss of appetite for the game or increased pressure at work. Harte must've thought if he kept him on the panel long enough he would turn it around but it appears Enda wasn't prepared to give all that effort.

Dissappointed to say the least. I loved McGinley as a player and his story was fantastic. As had been said he's hugely, hugely underestimated outside the county. Player of the year in 08 bar none and only Sean C's greater interest to the media meant he got the accolade. No disrespect to Sean, outstanding year but nearly everyone knew it belonged to Enda if you had to pick a Tyroneman.

IMO his story is great too. There was a time in his career (03, 04) that he was the bane of my life and the only way in which I could fathom his inclusion on the team was the thought that he was Harte's EC pet and there on connections and not merit. That corner forward role was awful and his shooting and handling diabolical. It didn't help being compared to SON and God along side him too. I really hated him back then and I remember attributing a number of our defeats to his errors. All the same even then he was a great tryer and 10 times more effective when we hadn't the ball than when we had. He steadily improved through the years though and as he nailed down the midfield role I grew to be indifferent to his presence. Anyway whatever he done in the winter of '07 must have been unreal. He came out that season like no-one had ever seen and followed one blinder of a match by another, racking up some consistent scoring too. His passing, vision, shooting and handling was top drawer. Its a well versed statistic but in that championship when he played Tyrone never lost and when he scored we won. That probably doesn't mean alot but it was notable that the one match we lost that year he played no part what so ever. He had a great year and was a pure joy to watch a footballer who had all the attributes; leadership, balance, vision, shooting boots, physique, stamina, fair degree of pace and terrific workrate which was his hall-mark.

Sad to see him go he will be missed.
Lastly someone said this hints at further disruption in the camp but I think those rumours are a load of bollix. Harte screwed up big time by not culling his panel pre-league and it has lead to guys cutting it for him. Some people think he is untouchable and exempt from criticism but he did feck up here by waiting on young guys who now look like not making it anyway. All the same though the players leaving mean Harte is back with his ould guard who have stuck with him through alot, they are nearly together now for the guts of 10-14 years. To be honest I think the defections strengthen the team spirit rather than weaken it. Harte is now left with his old reliables and they wont be thinking of usurping him for a while.

I hope his retirement doesnt last as long as Colm McCullaghs did!

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Tyrone dismiss Enda McGinley quit claims

Tyrone assistant manager Tony Donnelly has today dismissed reports that Enda McGinley has quit the panel.

However, McGinley has taken a break in an effort to recover from niggling injuries, and will not be involved in the county's remaining three NFL games, against Galway, Kerry and Dublin.

But he is expected to be back in action ahead of the Ulster Championship opener against Antrim on 23 May.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2010/0318/mcginleye.html
"A cynic is a man who, when he smells flowers, looks around for a coffin."
H. L. Mencken

Quote from: trileacman on March 18, 2010, 03:15:26 PM
To be honest (and I'm gonna sound like a p***k) but I seen this coming. I thought Harte would road him before he quit though. All of the matches this year he's been playing poorly and its plain to see that he wasn't going at it 100%. Someone asked if he was carrying an injury on one thread but there was no mention of it and I could only conclude that he was disinterested and his heart wasn't in it. On the pitch you could tell he wasn't raring to go.

Thats not to say he was standing in the corner with his hands in his pockets but he wasn't putting in that mammoth effort that made him such a player. Even in the formative years of '03 he was always a tryer and you could count on him for that. Once that goes its hard for him to impact any game.

I thought Harte would road him, tell to get his shit together and we'll see where things stand in 3/6 months not unlike SON, Hub and McGuigan's 1st hiatus (none were really "roaded" in the full sense of the word butt you know what I mean. Its obvious now Harte was persuading him to stay on the panel against his will and the time has come now where Enda thinks he hung around long enough. Hopefully its nothing serious on the lads mind and its just a loss of appetite for the game or increased pressure at work. Harte must've thought if he kept him on the panel long enough he would turn it around but it appears Enda wasn't prepared to give all that effort.

Dissappointed to say the least. I loved McGinley as a player and his story was fantastic. As had been said he's hugely, hugely underestimated outside the county. Player of the year in 08 bar none and only Sean C's greater interest to the media meant he got the accolade. No disrespect to Sean, outstanding year but nearly everyone knew it belonged to Enda if you had to pick a Tyroneman.

IMO his story is great too. There was a time in his career (03, 04) that he was the bane of my life and the only way in which I could fathom his inclusion on the team was the thought that he was Harte's EC pet and there on connections and not merit. That corner forward role was awful and his shooting and handling diabolical. It didn't help being compared to SON and God along side him too. I really hated him back then and I remember attributing a number of our defeats to his errors. All the same even then he was a great tryer and 10 times more effective when we hadn't the ball than when we had. He steadily improved through the years though and as he nailed down the midfield role I grew to be indifferent to his presence. Anyway whatever he done in the winter of '07 must have been unreal. He came out that season like no-one had ever seen and followed one blinder of a match by another, racking up some consistent scoring too. His passing, vision, shooting and handling was top drawer. Its a well versed statistic but in that championship when he played Tyrone never lost and when he scored we won. That probably doesn't mean alot but it was notable that the one match we lost that year he played no part what so ever. He had a great year and was a pure joy to watch a footballer who had all the attributes; leadership, balance, vision, shooting boots, physique, stamina, fair degree of pace and terrific workrate which was his hall-mark.

Sad to see him go he will be missed.
Lastly someone said this hints at further disruption in the camp but I think those rumours are a load of bollix. Harte screwed up big time by not culling his panel pre-league and it has lead to guys cutting it for him. Some people think he is untouchable and exempt from criticism but he did feck up here by waiting on young guys who now look like not making it anyway. All the same though the players leaving mean Harte is back with his ould guard who have stuck with him through alot, they are nearly together now for the guts of 10-14 years. To be honest I think the defections strengthen the team spirit rather than weaken it. Harte is now left with his old reliables and they wont be thinking of usurping him for a while.

:D... after all that it turns out he ain't retiring!

Quote from: T Fearon on March 18, 2010, 02:39:10 PM
Nevertheless a sure sign that its all going pear shaped in red hand land. Why didn't he quit last summer?

You wish ... boys like you were predicting our demise in 2008 too, youse Armagh men never learn, do youse?

Jimmy ONeill

Nice one BBC Ulster.. couple that with TYP story on Tuesday and they're having a good week.. when we asked for more GAA coverage this isn't what we meant. You were saying Maguire.. sure we should just be happy with a bit of improved tokenism, not as good as Saturdays but it'll do rightly, it's all we deserve. And while I'm at it, for once I totally agree with Fearon on the Telegraph and de nort.

QuoteNevertheless a sure sign that its all going pear shaped in red hand land. Why didn't he quit last summer?

Uh oh Tony!  You've spoken too soon again.  I predict even more McGinley misery heaped on Armagh this summer!

A Quinn Martin Production

Quote from: under the bar on March 18, 2010, 07:49:42 PM
QuoteNevertheless a sure sign that its all going pear shaped in red hand land. Why didn't he quit last summer?

Uh oh Tony!  You've spoken too soon again.  I predict even more McGinley misery heaped on Armagh this summer!

In the qualifiers?? ;)
Antrim - One Of A Dying Breed of Genuine Dual Counties

If Tyrone get to the all ireland final, he will be back for it like Steven O Neill

Didnt realise the All Ireland had been brought forward to the end of May.

When did this happen ?

Quote from: Bensars on March 19, 2010, 09:53:07 AM
Didnt realise the All Ireland had been brought forward to the end of May.

When did this happen ?

Steven O Neill came back for the final in 08 after his retirement, maybe Mc Ginley will do the same in 2010, thats what i mean

You obviously haven't kept up to speed on this onion bag...

1. Media reports Mc Ginley Retires

2. Tony Donnelly rectifies this by confirming it's a break from rest of league action to clear up injuries etc.

Storm in a teacup.

Quote from: omagh_gael on March 19, 2010, 10:43:51 AM
You obviously haven't kept up to speed on this onion bag...

1. Media reports Mc Ginley Retires

2. Tony Donnelly rectifies this by confirming it's a break from rest of league action to clear up injuries etc.

Storm in a teacup.

Calm down Omagh, im only winding, this board used to be good sport

Shut your trap you orange p***k ;) I just realised I was hooked as I pressed 'post' will be more aware of the bait in future!