the jacks v the langers

Started by micka the dub, March 17, 2010, 08:30:59 PM

2-12 to 2-5 in favour of the langers now.

Dublin are shockingly bad. Cork are so far the better team it's a joke and if they had a bit more self belief against the Kingdom they'll be hard to beat all year. I know Gilroy had to try something different but really this is worse than puke football. There are at least 5 players on the Dubs team who shouldn't be playing senior club football never mind inter county

All over 2-13 to 2-5. Are Dub supporters not being overly harsh? Dublin are still in with a good chance of a national league final and when they get one or two more players back with games under their belts they'll be a tough enough team to face. I mean I think Cork are level above everyone else, including Kerry, in terms of talent so it isn't an embarrassment to struggle against them in Cork.

QuoteAre Dub supporters not being overly hars
Don't think so Zulu. It's the manner of our performances more than anything that disappoint me. I know Cork are a fine team but look at the amount of time we lost possession tonight in the tackle, Misplaced hand passes, Aimless hoofs into a 2 man FF line. 13 men behind the ball is fine but it's no use if they are just taking up space and not actually tackling or challenging the man. Even if we get a couple of more lads back we are still way off the top tier

Well i think the topp tier is made up of Cork, Kerry and Tyrone (maybe), outside of that Dublin are as well placed as anyone IMO. I think Gilroy is doing a good job because he is trying different things and looking for the what works best with the players he has. From my understanding he doesn't want the players flooding back as much as they are so I think there might be some teething problems with the tactics at the moment. Midfield is a problem, Ger Breenan isn't up to it and the forward balance isn't right but Rome wasn't built in a day and I think ye are going in the right direction with some good young players coming through.

I wish I was as hopeful but I just can't see it myself

Quote from: Declan on March 20, 2010, 08:58:20 PM
Dublin are shockingly bad. Cork are so far the better team it's a joke and if they had a bit more self belief against the Kingdom they'll be hard to beat all year. I know Gilroy had to try something different but really this is worse than puke football. There are at least 5 players on the Dubs team who shouldn't be playing senior club football never mind inter county

thats a good cork team declan, dont be so hard on  gilroy. cork dont do septembers anyway ;D

The league never matters until you lose.

IMO we actually played better today than we did against Mayo, Derry and Monaghan. It was just that those 3 teams played diabolically badly to put us in the false position at the top of the table. The ability of Brogan and McMenamon is almost totally wasted under Gilroy's style of play. Though I'm sure the penny will drop shortly with Pat. Otherwise we'll definitely end the league campaign with no additional points.

Although style of play is not our only problem. No reliable ball winner around the middle of the field, despite playing 4 midfielders alongside our 8 defenders.

Fair play to Cork. Far the better team.

Cork were 11/4 minus 6 points. Was going in to back it and also put 10 on golding first goal scorer at 6s but feckin powers was closed! Ah well, typical end to a week where I had winners but didn;t back the feckers

Quote from: Hound on March 20, 2010, 11:02:14 PM
IMO we actually played better today than we did against Mayo, Derry and Monaghan. It was just that those 3 teams played diabolically badly to put us in the false position at the top of the table. The ability of Brogan and McMenamon is almost totally wasted under Gilroy's style of play. Though I'm sure the penny will drop shortly with Pat. Otherwise we'll definitely end the league campaign with no additional points.

Although style of play is not our only problem. No reliable ball winner around the middle of the field, despite playing 4 midfielders alongside our 8 defenders.

Fair play to Cork. Far the better team.

Hard to disagree with that. Give a team like Cork that much ball you will lose. That system won't beat any of the top 3 although watching Tyrone yesterday I'm not sure they are top 3 anymore. Certainly it won't beat Cork and Kerry. We don't break out with speed using the blanket defence so it entirely defeats the purpose of using it because we don't have the greyhounds to play it.
Its brought us a few wins and we might scrape a league final appearance. But it won't work in CP. Its just too negative. You'd have to question trhe merits of a system where you withdraw 13 men and still concede a big score. You also have to win aerial ball at midfield. Makes the idea of getting rid of 2 allstar midfielders even more idiotic.
Thats was Corks reserve midfield for 67 mins of that game.