The GAA and controversy

Started by Captain Scarlet, February 22, 2010, 01:03:23 PM

Just saw an incident after the AI club semi's made the front page of the Indo. The ref was given a garda escort leaving the pitch after the Kilmurray and Portlaoise match.
Naturally the story goes that the GAA finds itself amid controversy yet again. Why is it when Paolo Di Canio pushed a ref it wasn't 'the FA are facing controversy'. No it was Di Canio who was screwed. Then when Galvin did it it was the GAA's problem.
It just annoys me. if anything happened that ref it was the responsibility of a Portlaoise club member who was enraged, not the GAA who was at fault. The papers rang Croker for a statement. Why?? What is it to them??
A spokesman in the GAA said: 'Ah well Micki had a few pints on board and sure curse-ah-jaysus he went for the ref.'
Im just sick of the same aul muck that comes out every time something happens, it is an individuals fault not the entire associations.

I see your point but,

The English Premiership and any GAA tournament cannot be compared at any level. THey are two different worlds.

The Indo shouldn't be a reference for anyone. These are the same people (evening hearld) who claimed a minister was having an affair and printed pictures of the innocent woman inthe accusation after they photoshoped her skirt to make it look shorter.

Can't see what the ref did to deserve this.

First sending off was righteous.  First booking for the midfielder when he was p*ssed off that a free was given against him after he thought the ball was handled on the ground.  Looked to be hopping but maybe it wasn't a closed fist (right but still wrong as the game was being played under old rule).  Second booking was merited for the midfielder.

It always amuses me when people seem to be watching a totally different one to one I'm watching ::)

cavanmaniac

Slightly off-topic but it's clear that the Indo's sports coverage has taken a decided turn for the tabloid in the last 3/4 years. It now has a very thinly veiled agenda to hype up anything controversial and pander to cliched or ignorant stereotypes like any tabloid does, and the GAA is often in the firing line. Something like the Galway hurling controversy from a few years back, complete with boot hovering over the head photo (whether it was poised to stamp or not, that's what they wanted people to think) was like all their Christmases coming at once. Putting this latest story on the front page just shows how much they cream themselves when anything like this happens.

I have nothing against the Indo really but I give their coverage of anything to do with GAA violence a very wide berth, it generally comes with bells on the agenda is so obvious.

Premier Emperor

This is the Indo we are talking about.
A rag with an anti-GAA agenda!

Quote from: Denn Forever on February 22, 2010, 01:32:03 PM
Can't see what the ref did to deserve this.

First sending off was righteous.  First booking for the midfielder when he was p*ssed off that a free was given against him after he thought the ball was handled on the ground.  Looked to be hopping but maybe it wasn't a closed fist (right but still wrong as the game was being played under old rule).  Second booking was merited for the midfielder.

It always amuses me when people seem to be watching a totally different one to one I'm watching ::)

I thought the first sending off was legitimate. The secone one, maybe the midfielder could consider himself unlucky but he gave a bit of back-chat and was punished (for the first yellow), the second yellow was a yellow in my opinion. Maybe not though.

dowling

Don't get hooked up on how any of the papers present this. It's still a disgrace that a man should have his safety threatened because some players and spectators, who are maybe 'fuelled' by players' behaviour, think he gave a wrong decision or his performance was bad on the day. Maybe we should all go onto the pitch to berate county players when they don't perform.
As an aside I wonder if Mickey Harte feels tv cameras would have any part to play if reprimanding anyone was needed. Having said that it seemed to acceptable for Ryan McMen to 'robustly' challange the ref after the Mayo game.

To be honest my topic was more rantish and no ref or player should have to deal with that kind of crap when they are on or leaving the pitch. I agree there Dowling, just I was saying it's never put down as basic individual or even club responsibility. The GAA can't control every head the ball within the ranks.
Here is a bit of the match. Feckin first red was a clothesline from Hell!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9jqJuBOFtog