Medjugorje - has anyone been out there ?

Started by orangeman, December 15, 2009, 11:43:33 PM

whiskeysteve

Looks like ive taken a pasting from the atheists here  :D

Lads as i said in the post they arent my views. i was just highlighting an area where science has tentatively examined creation. You can laugh at 'psuedo science' (and Van Daniken is a self publicising fraudster imo, i read chariots of the gods and the amount of uncorroborated 'evidence' is ridiculous). But you just need to bear in mind that the scientific beliefs we take for granted these days were laughed at a short time ago. At no stage did I say science could answer questions on the force behind creation at this point in time. I just questioned the possibility of science evolving down the line to possibly provide answers. 'Down the line' being a long, long time of course. If you lads think you know enough about what the future holds in store to say 'Never' then fair play to you, yous have it all figured out.

tyssam5 i hate dan brown you bastard  :D. tried reading da vinci code and couldnt finish it, it was so unreadable then seen the film and it was worse. Will never go near anything he produced again (nor von daniken for that matter  :P)

o and by the way delboy get a grip of yourself tying me in with borderline racism  ::)
Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

QuoteBut you just need to bear in mind that the scientific beliefs we take for granted these days were laughed at a short time ago.

Any self-respecting scientist will consider any theory with supporting evidence - laughing at ideas is not the sign of a scientist. 

QuoteIf you lads think you know enough about what the future holds in store to say 'Never' then fair play to you, yous have it all figured out.

I'll say it once more, as you don't seem to have been paying attention - I don't care what people believe, I just want the legislature making laws that affact me and my family based on flawed belief systems rather than logic and the greater good.

some people think they are too smart for religion... its only useful to the old, insecure and sick. They don't need nor want it, they cannot fathom how so called intelligent people can believe in something that they have never seen, nor that makes a whole lot of sense and can be challenged on a number of fronts  :o

too cool and bright for all that boring stuff and wasting good telly-time or gym-time on going to Mass and don't get me started on confessing sins to a man in a box wearing black

hey guys, whats all this Christmas stuff about anyway? some baby being born or something??

:D   ;)  :o

Quote from: sammymaguire on December 17, 2009, 11:40:39 AM
some people think they are too smart for religion... its only useful to the old, insecure and sick. They don't need nor want it, they cannot fathom how so called intelligent people can believe in something that they have never seen, nor that makes a whole lot of sense and can be challenged on a number of fronts  :o

too cool and bright for all that boring stuff and wasting good telly-time or gym-time on going to Mass and don't get me started on confessing sins to a man in a box wearing black

Sammy, you're talking some dung there kid. People who have no time for religion do not necessarily not have faith and a belief in God. I don't believe in religion for sure but believe in God-youse church goers don't have the monopoly on God. and if you want to go to Mass that is your rite as mine is to enjoy Sunday morning taking my kids to the park. God is everywhere not just in churches. so endeth the lesson. Now f*** off and don't be annoying non-church attenders.   

delboy

Quote from: whiskeysteve on December 17, 2009, 11:30:51 AM
o and by the way delboy get a grip of yourself tying me in with borderline racism  ::)

I think its you that needs to get a grip, I was talking about Van daniken and his views, unless you co-authored it or something i don't see what your problem is  ::)

My only attack on your views was your perception that what van daniken writes constitues science, it isn't. I see though that you have cooled your jets on that particual point after it was highlighted by several people as bogus. 

am I annoying you fox? thats a very irrate message, relax fella, just mind the dog shit, if your kids stand in that and it gets in the car it'll cause a real mess...  and it STINKS to high HEAVEN! People choose not to believe because they don't accept it can be true I suppose. I don't get pi$$ed off if people don't want to believe supporting Man U is the best option, or if they believe smoking is a good idea, or if they believe their cat is Jesus re-incarnated, no big deal.

Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 17, 2009, 11:47:16 AM

Sammy, you're talking some dung there kid. People who have no time for religion do not necessarily not have faith and a belief in God. I don't believe in religion for sure but believe in God-youse church goers don't have the monopoly on God. and if you want to go to Mass that is your rite as mine is to enjoy Sunday morning taking my kids to the park. God is everywhere not just in churches. so endeth the lesson. Now f*** off and don't be annoying non-church attenders.   

Got in just before me. Nail on the head there. If I was unemployed with fcuk all else to do (and I actually gave a crap about religion), I might actually go.
I prefer to do enjoyable things in what little free time I have; mass was and will never be enjoyable to a certain demographic and certainly I'm not paying to do something I don't enjoy (there is more worthy causes to donate my time and money too). It was something you were forced to do growing up by parents, school, peer pressure etc.

Just to finish, I wouldn't be one for the fashion parade that is mass on a Sunday morning too.

Quote from: thebigfella on December 17, 2009, 11:58:09 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 17, 2009, 11:47:16 AM

Got in just before me. Nail on the head there. If I was unemployed with fcuk all else to do (and I actually gave a crap about religion), I might actually go.
I prefer to do enjoyable things in what little free time I have; mass was and will never be enjoyable to a certain demographic and certainly I'm not paying to do something I don't enjoy (there is more worthy causes to donate my time and money too). It was something you were forced to do growing up by parents, school, peer pressure etc.

Just to finish, I would be one for the fashion parade that is mass on a Sunday morning too.

ha ha only kidding!!

whiskeysteve

Quote from: Billys Boots on December 17, 2009, 11:39:23 AM
QuoteBut you just need to bear in mind that the scientific beliefs we take for granted these days were laughed at a short time ago.

Any self-respecting scientist will consider any theory with supporting evidence - laughing at ideas is not the sign of a scientist. 

QuoteIf you lads think you know enough about what the future holds in store to say 'Never' then fair play to you, yous have it all figured out.

I'll say it once more, as you don't seem to have been paying attention - I don't care what people believe, I just want the legislature making laws that affact me and my family based on flawed belief systems rather than logic and the greater good.

re your first point, who's talking about scientists laughing at ideas? i was referring to anyone who would have an interest in a discussion such as this. and plenty of respected scientists have scoffed at theories that turned out to be true anyway.

re your 2nd point, maybe you don't seem to be paying attention, i was replying to a few posters including AFS with that last post. I have no issue with your stance. I have absolutely no argument with you on the last sentence. Sure you said you weren't going to talk to me anymore as im clearly not a scientist. All i set out to do was suggest OTHER perceptions of the relationship between science and God/creation, not the RIGHT ones or the WRONG ones, just interesting alternative perceptions in response to AFS saying science could never give answers about God.

Quote from: delboy on December 17, 2009, 11:52:51 AM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on December 17, 2009, 11:30:51 AM

I think its you that needs to get a grip, I was talking about Van daniken and his views, unless you co-authored it or something i don't see what your problem is  ::)

My only attack on your views was your perception that what van daniken writes constitues science, it isn't. I see though that you have cooled your jets on that particual point after it was highlighted by several people as bogus.

Fair enough i read through the replies quickly the 1st time and took it up wrong. sorry.

I never mentioned Van Daniken in that post you replied to though. You brought him up. I also suggested the work of CERN as an area were science could possibly provide insight into the force behind creation but this was ignored as folks picked up on the 'pyramid' part of the post and proceeded to beat me with the 'psuedoscience' stick.

(maybe i deserved it  :-X)
Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

This thread will have to do for this ...

Just out in the car there listening to the very entertaining Michael Nugent of the Irish
Atheist Association, or whatever it's called, talking to Seán Moncrieff.

He was telling a story about an atheist who died in Donegal and the family couldn't
get a place to bury her because all the cemeteries are owned by the churches up
there, apparently. Eventually, they got a municipal graveyard in Derry and the job
was done. Somebody following up the story, finding out the graveyard is actually
segregated into catholic and protestant sections, asked did they have an atheist
section as well.  "No", they said, "we just put her in with the protestants".

He was also recalling Marge trying to get Homer to go to church. "But Marge", he
says, "what if we've chosen the wrong religion? We're just making God madder
and madder every week".  Must say that always used to bother me as well.