Rod Stewart

Started by Doogie Browser, December 07, 2009, 11:55:10 AM

"The big-bosomed lady with the Dutch accent. Who tried to change my point of view"

Classic...and it happened to me once!

I had two tickets, front row to see the mod a couple of years ago when he played in Green Bay, I gave them to the wife and told her to take a friend because I wasnt going, I cant stand the smaltzy shite he comes out with now and have lost all interest in him, he used to be a great entertainer, maybe he still is but I will never go watch him live again, not with all that schmoozy bollix he is pimping.

Rod is a cockney but his dad was a scot. He was a trainee professional with Brentford and a grave digger at Highgate Cemetry (where Karl Marx is buried) in London, prior to finding fame.

He went down in my estimation big time the day he refused a photo on Brooklyn Bridge in New York. In spite of that I am a regular attender of his concerts (actually went to see him the following evening in Madison Square Garden) and have to say he puts on a great live show, helped in no small way by a brilliant band.

Funniest story I ever heard was 5 or 6 years ago, on my way to Glasgow Airport in a taxi after watching Celtic beat the huns at Ibrox. Taxi driver pointed out this little pub in Paisley which Rod visits frequenly and buys the cleintele a drink. Driver said Rod called in one Thursday night, bought a round and was leaving when a punter shouted out "Hey Rod, are ye no staying for the karaoke competition?" :D :D :D