NME's top 50 albums of the Noughties

Started by Declan, November 17, 2009, 11:05:57 AM

No Declan Nerney
No Mick Flavin

What a fu*kin Joke.

I have most of the albums (well the good ones anyway  :P) and I haven't bought an album in ages, the last few years have been shite for music, the early part of the decade was actually pretty good...

With regard to Snow Patrol, When it's All Over We Staill Have to Clear Up was from this decade and is probably their best album. IMO, Final Straw is just okay, Eyes Open is better and Suns just hasn't done it for me. The Reindeer Section's second album is probably better than them all. Gary Lightbody is a class songwriter.

Quote from: Massey-135 on November 17, 2009, 11:17:36 PM
NME did get too carried away with the Libertines stuff but as i said before they were one of the most influential bands of this decade. bands like arcade fire and fleet foxes have made amazing albums but they're very polished, grand and epic works. the libertines were very of their time and were massively exciting and inspirational if you remember the musical climate they came into, i don't think they're over rated. more people would have been inspired to pick up an instrument and play in a band by them than almost any other this decade. that, and their lyrics were great which not many bands nowadays can claim, especially all this electronic pish that's going about now. as far as timeless and well crafted songs go, bon iver's 'for emma, forever ago' is one of the best albums of any decade, never mind this one
How were The Libertines so inspirational? Who did they inspire? What bands? They certainly never played the big gigs or had the multi-platinum sales that their blanket coverage in the NME would have suggested. At the height of their NME coverage, they supported Supergrass inThe Limelight. And they were crap. They were always bigger and better in the NME than in the real world - outside of a clique in London, few really cared.

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 18, 2009, 02:58:38 PM
I have most of the albums (well the good ones anyway  :P) and I haven't bought an album in ages, the last few years have been shite for music, the early part of the decade was actually pretty good...
It's hard to judge a 'great' album until it's out a while I think. Maybe we'll better recognise the classics from the late noughties in a few more years.

Up the Bracket was a good album, but I agree with maguire - they where not that inspirational.

NME neglected to put anything on that list the band they touted as the saviours of rock'n'roll - the vines :D
Any credibility lost.

Actually surprised they dont have any BRMC on there, they had them on the front cover for about a year - same with Crystal Castles.

windyshepardhenderson

lavey's finest

HowAreYeGettinOn

NME turned from a respected publication - and a good read! - into a harmless comic years ago. Right around the time it went glossy. It's virtually worthless as an artiber of decent music now, you'd be better off with Pitchfork (web-only), Word or Uncut. Hell, even Hot Press are more reliable now.

But even by NME's standards of fickledom it's surprising that Coldplay's 'A Rush Of Blood To The Head' isn't in their top 50 for the decade. They made it their album of 2002 ffs.

And their baffling canonisation of the Strokes continues. Decent band, fine first two albums, but album of the decade? It mustn't have been a very good decade for music then.

Quote from: HowAreYeGettinOn on November 18, 2009, 06:55:43 PM
NME turned from a respected publication - and a good read! - into a harmless comic years ago. Right around the time it went glossy. It's virtually worthless as an artiber of decent music now, you'd be better off with Pitchfork (web-only), Word or Uncut. Hell, even Hot Press are more reliable now.
Word can be a good magazine alright - and i've discoverd some great bands from their free CDs - but Uncut (like Mojo) is obsessed with music from the 60s and 70s.

Massey-135

How were The Libertines so inspirational? Who did they inspire? What bands? They certainly never played the big gigs or had the multi-platinum sales that their blanket coverage in the NME would have suggested. At the height of their NME coverage, they supported Supergrass inThe Limelight. And they were crap. They were always bigger and better in the NME than in the real world - outside of a clique in London, few really cared.

If you read my earlier post i listed some of the bands they influenced, you may or may not think they're good, but as regards the NME and the music they champion, and their readership, I think Is This It? and Up The Bracket were without doubt the two most inspirational albums. Guitar bands were all boring hoors like starsailor and travis when they came out. Whether they sold out big venues or had multi-platinum sales is completely and utterly missing the point (althought the second libertines album sold over a million i think). they are an INDIE band, so obviously they don't appeal to the masses, nor would they want to. Their 'thing' was to play small dirty sweaty clubs and bring back that energy that dull bands like coldplay could never replicate in their arenas with their ballads.
I used to never miss NME but i stopped buying it about a year ago, partly cos it's got a bit shite and partly cos there just aren't many good bands around at the minute. If you get this weeks edition of the magazine and read why those two albums were picked then you might understand me a bit more.

Sandino

I stopped buying it 20 years ago as it had got a bit sh!te!!!
"You can go proudly. You are history. You are legend''