Bonding Weekends

Started by Downgael2008, May 05, 2009, 03:22:56 PM

Doire abú

Quote from: Downgael2008 on May 05, 2009, 03:22:56 PM
Its getting close to championship time and a lot of counties are doing the old Bonding/Team building weekend. Down had their s in slieve Donard in newcastle last weekend.

How beneficial are these weekends for county teams ? I know they obviously cost a lot of money but will it really make a difference at this stage and should squads not be already be united considering they v been together for about 6 months?

Just curious, anybody any views on it ?  any other counties been away recently? 

no thats just down.   :D ;)

Quote from: Downgael2008 on May 05, 2009, 05:15:36 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on May 05, 2009, 04:41:05 PM
Quote from: Canalman on May 05, 2009, 04:32:27 PM
A fad that imo will pass. A team "bonds" through hard training in the muck and rain, together with (usually) with some bad painful defeats in the past. A serious sense of grievance can also help.

Dont confuse building "team spirit" and "bonding"

Bonding exercises are good for teams that might have a large turnover of players that dont really know each other. Its often when you have an experience of a bonding weekend that lads become closer. Friendships are made etc.

What your describing is team spirit and heart that you get from those experiences like training (suffering) together, painful defeats etc.

So abbeysider what is better then...

1. Taking a team on a training/bonding weekend with no drink just training sessions and recovery

or

2. Taking a team on a weekend were they go on the complete razzle dazzle and have the craic !!

???

Both are beneficial in different ways. It depends on what kind of team it is. Guys that know each other, or guys that dont really know each other.
The answer is in my post above. One would build spirit, the other would build camaraderie.

Breakforball

Some information on "Break For Ball" Team Bonding Weekends, that may be of interest.

Here's a link a link to our first (one page) Newsletter, which highlights the launch, some of the weekends to date (with testimonial), and a fantastic " Special Offer" for the summer months.

http://www.breakforball.com/news/details/?id=24

SUMMER SIZZLER ONLY £75/80e pp

- 1 nights Bed & Breakfast at avon Ri in Wicklow                                                            

- Team Strength & Conditioning/Core Stability session

- 3 course Evening Meal                                                                 

- Challenge Game

- Use of Gym, pool & Leisure facilities                                             

- Coaching Session & Motivational talk with a high profile coach

http://www.breakforball.com

DennistheMenace

I'd rather go on the rip to be honest.

WhoAreYaWhoAreYa!

We went Donegal town for Steam bonding weekend!! :D lethal craic it was!

the sledger

bit gay do ya not think

"too much male bonding goin on around here for me, im outta here"

back in my day, this male bonding would of been looked on with great disgust

WhoAreYaWhoAreYa!

Na, not atall. Its just to build up team spirit and for everyone to get to know everyone a little better, like when a new manager comes in..

glens abu

Think the bonding weekends can be very beneficial no matter what age or level its for as long as its structured to suite the particular needs,going by what has been said on other threads organised weekends such as "Break for Ball" seem to have the right balance of good coaching,bonding activities and a bit of craic.

CARTON HOUSE in Maynooth is to become the 'Real' deal for Dublin and Tyrone as they crank up their efforts to lift the Sam Maguire Cup this September.

From Ronaldo to 'Ricey' and Benzema to the Brogans, the Kildare venue will maintain strong links with the sporting world over the next fortnight when the resort hosts training camps for two of the leading All-Ireland SFC contenders.

The Leinster and Ulster champions have both been pencilled in to visit Real Madrid's 'home' for the last nine days before their respective quarter-finals.

Both sides are awaiting confirmation of the draws on Sunday night next before making final arrangements.

As Real Madrid prepared to check out of their base this morning, Carton House proprietor Conor Mallaghan confirmed that Dublin and Tyrone have plans to conduct some of their preparations for their forthcoming games at the state-ofthe- art complex.

Carton House anticipates that Dublin could be with them for an overnight stay on the Wednesday or Thursday before their quarter-final.

It is possible that Dublin or Tyrone could have another two weeks to wait before their All-Ireland quarter-final opponents are known if they draw the winners of Meath/Roscommon v Limerick in the outstanding fourth round qualifier.

Dublin played Louth at the official opening of the sports facilities in Carton in April and have conducted a camp there already this summer.

All-Ireland champions Tyrone have been regular visitors to Carton as their manager Mickey Harte is related through marriage to the proprietors.

Dublin, however, won't have Mark Vaughan with them when they visit Carton for their latest training camp.

Vaughan has been dropped from the Dublin squad for disciplinary reasons after missing a training session last weekend.

The All-Ireland club medal winner has played only a peripheral role this summer for the Leinster champions, enjoying a fleeting 15 minutes against Westmeath. The Kilmacud Crokes attacker has been carrying a back injury for much of the campaign.

Vaughan's departure is another example of the strict regime of discipline that manager Pat Gilroy has sought to impose on the squad since his appointment.

Meanwhile, it was confirmed in Cork last night that the county's hurling fullback Eoin Cadogan has been called into Conor Counihan's football squad.

Think illdecide and the Clans were away on one of these weekends there just passed...

Quote from: orangeman on July 22, 2009, 11:17:51 AM

Carton House anticipates that Dublin could be with them for an overnight stay on the Wednesday or Thursday before their quarter-final.

Dublin panel are enroute there as we speak - I hope they double checked the reservation..

Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 22, 2009, 11:33:36 AM
Think illdecide and the Clans were away on one of these weekends there just passed...

Correct...we were in Bundoran last weekend where we (I) went skinny dipping in the Atlantic (so much for your team mates) and afterwards we went cliff diving (scary as fcuk, but enjoyable) i was looking to go and do Muff diving but it was too far away :D. We had some craic when we went out on the lash that night and it was great for getting to know some of the younger lads on the panel who had just joined this year, we trained last night and the difference was noticeable as the younger lads were joining in with some of the conversation whereas b4 they sat quiet...bloody good job they didn't see what went on after the young wans were put to bed...lol ;D

Breakforball

Kilcoo Senior Footballers from Co. Down were away on a BreakForBall Team Bonding trip, last weekend in Donegal Town - stayed at the Abbey Hotel.
Here's a photo of them before their surfing in Tullan Strand in Bundoran.

http://en-gb.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=2958331&o=all&op=1&view=all&subj=40728424213&aid=-1&id=762518689&oid=40728424213

The Rock GAC from Co. laois were away in Monghan staying in the Hillgrove the same weekend, where on the Saturday they took in a Sports Psychology Session, a Challenge Game v Truagh, and then on the Sunday some activities at ToddsLeap in Ballygawley.

Breakforball

Well done to Kilcoo at the weekend.

At Break for Ball we are delighted to have had them on a Team Building Weekend in preparation for their championship. We also organised John O'Mahony to come up and talk to the team, prior to their Sem-Final game.

From our experience of the manager and club, they left no stone unturned in pursuit of their first championship in over 70 years. Sceptics may disagree, but it's a decent endorsement for Team Building Weekends  8)

Ti Chulainn

A much cheaper alternative to some of the offers out there

http://www.tichulainn.com

See the link to the GAA package