Party Politics - The single greatest handicap to the Nation

Started by muppet, October 02, 2009, 04:29:41 PM

Quote from: Bord na Mona man on October 02, 2009, 06:48:48 PM
Quote from: Hound on October 02, 2009, 04:43:52 PM
Left v Right would possibly be better, but for that people would have to stop falling for the notion that FF are left of centre. Too many left of centre people vote for FF, even though their policies have been firmly right of centre for at least two decades.
FF were both left and right wing in the last decade and that's why the country is utterly banjaxed now.
What we experienced what Populism, something far more dangerous than either Capitalism or Socialism.
They gave us the excesses of both left and right wing politics.

A left wing welfare system - €200 a week on the dole, 3 times what is in Britain. An overstaffed, inefficient and heavily unionised public sector.
On the other hand, a right wing economic and taxation policy with low taxation and tax breaks.

With an annual deficit now running at €20 billion, one ideology has to give.

As well as that the opposition were the same. You can't counter populism without becoming unpopular. A weak opposition did little or nothing to counter the direction FF were taking the country in. Rather than hold them to account the oposition stood back and let it happen.

Lawrence of Knockbride

Quote from: Pangurban on October 02, 2009, 08:33:30 PM
Could also be argued that the lack of real party politics is detrimental. the perpetual choice between deedle dum and deedle dee aka FF and FG. allied to the inordinate influence of tiny non representative parties who are called upon to form coalitions of the desperate. Even today following the political debacle and scandals of recent weeks, all the talk is of managing the situation, rather than effecting the root and branch structural changes which are clearly necessary
Fair enough but as you said there are smaller parties who we could vote for but the responsibility lies with the public. A lot of these scandals were well known before the last general election and who comes romping home.
Until we start thinking for ourselves we're screwed. And until people get off their arses and vote the same shite will continue.

Quote from: Zapatista on October 03, 2009, 09:34:58 AM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on October 02, 2009, 06:48:48 PM
Quote from: Hound on October 02, 2009, 04:43:52 PM
Left v Right would possibly be better, but for that people would have to stop falling for the notion that FF are left of centre. Too many left of centre people vote for FF, even though their policies have been firmly right of centre for at least two decades.
FF were both left and right wing in the last decade and that's why the country is utterly banjaxed now.
What we experienced what Populism, something far more dangerous than either Capitalism or Socialism.
They gave us the excesses of both left and right wing politics.

A left wing welfare system - €200 a week on the dole, 3 times what is in Britain. An overstaffed, inefficient and heavily unionised public sector.
On the other hand, a right wing economic and taxation policy with low taxation and tax breaks.

With an annual deficit now running at €20 billion, one ideology has to give.

As well as that the opposition were the same. You can't counter populism without becoming unpopular. A weak opposition did little or nothing to counter the direction FF were taking the country in.

Indeed not.
The opposition has engaged in attempted auction politics too - remember Noonan in 2002.
I recall in the last election, all parties advocated tax cuts and spending increases.

The problem is we the public who encourage it. There is a big streak of self interest in the country, where few will question, so long as the sweeties are being thrown out.
Like the way the stroke puller is looked up to. The councillor who gets you the planning permission on the dangerous bend, or on the flood plain, is the mighty man. And sure what the hell, if people end up drinking the run off from your septic tank.

We still lack civic responsibility. The desire to pull the stroke and get one over the system is probably a legacy from colonialism. But people still haven't copped that its now our own selves we end up fecking up.

I watched this recently and much of what Sean O'Faolain said 40 years ago (3:26) still applies today - the stuff about the church less relevant.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WATBzSYJx1Q

Hopefully we can at least learn something from the current financial meltdown. Now that every one of us are emptying our wallets to pay for the sins of the 'cunning rogues' and 'great schemers' who were venerated this last decade.