Val Andrews steps down

Started by ck, April 12, 2012, 11:37:32 PM

Celt_Man

Jaysus some of things being said here is damn near laughable!!! 

Andrews might well be a decent chap and a top bloke (and I don't doubt that he is) and all that carryon but his job/position was to manage the Cavan Senior Team so his personality doesn't really have anything to do with his performance in that position.

This was the second year of Andrews in charge and could anyone really argue they were making progress??  If anything it could be easier to convince someone that they were going backwards at a rate of knots.  So in that respect, Andrews as Manager wasn't working and so him not being in charge anymore is no great shock..

18 months is a long time and plenty of time to put a proper set-up in place...  One thing that really surprised and annoyed me was that Cavan seem to have no idea how to play against a massed defence against Antrim last weekend - despite the fact that we played Donegal and that system last year almost 12 months ago and we will play them - and that system again - in a few weeks time....  Was playing against that system not worked on in the meantime??

Also Andrews was focussing on getting promoted from Division 3 - I believe they had more training sessions already this season than all of last year - and then to only avoid relegation by an unexpected win from Tipp.  Cavan had a terrible league, just 2 wins & 5 losses with 3 defeats from 4 games at home - shocking stuff really

Andrews wasn't doing a good job and I really feel that the rest of the season would have been a "going through the motions" exercise from Cavan which would be a disaster and suck any bit of good from the Under 21s performance - and hopefully our Minors too. 

A lot of people talking about Player revolt and calling them all sorts (pathetic stuff btw) but seen as how the County Board have said that this isn't the case, not sure how anyone could spectuate and say otherwise

The timing and the confusion surrounding Andrews' resgination is unfortunate and hopefully the right man or men can be put in charge to take a step in the right direction...

Considering how a creditable performance in a defeat against Donegal in a few weeks would be a step forward just shows you how low a point we are at at the minute
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

Celt_Man

Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 13, 2012, 11:41:47 PM
Indiana - the only people who want johnson back are some cavan gaels folk.

Myles I'm not trying to start a row here or anything but I'm just gonna pull you on this wee bit above...

That statement isn't true - please try to remember that you don't speak for all of Cavan

Quote from: Celt_Man on April 14, 2012, 02:26:04 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 13, 2012, 11:41:47 PM
Indiana - the only people who want johnson back are some cavan gaels folk.

Myles I'm not trying to start a row here or anything but I'm just gonna pull you on this wee bit above...

That statement isn't true - please try to remember that you don't speak for all of Cavan

Its a generalisation based on the people I've spoke to from many clubs over the past months, of course there are some that think he should come back. On top of that, the vast majority of GAA folk from other counties have told me that Cavan were right to drop him. I don't have means to do a red sea survey but thats the info I get at ground level.

Quote from: Celt_Man on April 14, 2012, 02:22:04 PM

This was the second year of Andrews in charge and could anyone really argue they were making progress?? 

Wasn't he joint manager last year though?

If he's working with (as posters above have said) pretty much the U21's from the last two years, what exactly do you want from him? Most counties can gradually integrate younger players into team - if he doesn't have reliable, consistent experienced players to form the spine of the team there is no quick fix.

tommysmith

Quote from: heffo on April 14, 2012, 03:22:06 PM

This was the second year of Andrews in charge and could anyone really argue they were making progress?? 

If he's working with (as posters above have said) pretty much the U21's from the last two years, what exactly do you want from him? Most counties can gradually integrate younger players into team - if he doesn't have reliable, consistent experienced players to form the spine of the team there is no quick fix.

It was Andrews who got rid of the likes of Dermot Sheridan and John McCutheon who were experienced dedicated players and in my opinion better than what is there at the moment. He wouldnt play one of the best club players in the county in his right positon instead he has stuck him in goals.   He has not helped himself and is not up to the job of managing a inter county team.

Celt_Man

Quote from: tommysmith on April 15, 2012, 11:27:51 AM
Quote from: heffo on April 14, 2012, 03:22:06 PM

It was Andrews who got rid of the likes of Dermot Sheridan and John McCutheon who were experienced dedicated players and in my opinion better than what is there at the moment. He wouldnt play one of the best club players in the county in his right positon instead he has stuck him in goals.   He has not helped himself and is not up to the job of managing a inter county team.

Aye that's about right

If Terry Hyland was joint manager with Andrews how is this accepted by the players? Surely if he was joint manager he was to blame as much as Andrews??

He was joint manager last year. This year he was a selector. Last year the team were very poor and the sthmosphere in the camp poor. A decision was taken to cull some of the older lads and bring in youth. This youth is now the majority of the panel and most will have been part of hylands u21 teams of the past few years. These young lads have a huge respect for hyland (as anyone who heard barry reillys acceptance speech at the ulster u21 final will testify). I think a lot of them would have respect for anthony forde too.

Quote from: ck on April 18, 2012, 11:33:47 PM
If Terry Hyland was joint manager with Andrews how is this accepted by the players? Surely if he was joint manager he was to blame as much as Andrews??

Back-to-back Ulster titles wash away a lot of sins.

tommysmith

Quote from: ck on April 18, 2012, 11:33:47 PM

Why would it not be accepted, sure the players had no problem playing for Andrews why would they have a problem playing for Hyland?