New U.S. Citizen

Started by DrinkingHarp, September 07, 2009, 05:25:15 AM

FL/MAYO

Quote from: deiseach on September 07, 2009, 03:39:56 PM
Quote from: J70 on September 07, 2009, 03:10:36 PM
I use my Irish passport going to Ireland, US one coming back to the states. Never any hassle.

Assuming you weren't born in the States, what did you have to do to get the US passport? (Tyrones own, I'd appreciate your insight too)

You have a lot more privileges with citizenship for example with a green card if you leave the country for more than 9 months you lose the green card, having citizenship you can come and go as you please for as long as you please.

NetNitrate

To acquire US Citizenship, you do have to renounce allegiance to any foreign crown or state. You don't lose your Irish passport, and the Irish gov still recognizes you as a citizen. But you have still taken an oath that renounces your Irish citizenship. I'm sure many invoke the spirit of Dev and issue a "Hollow Oath". But I'd say any such oath would be a step too far for many Irishmen.

Quote from: NetNitrate on September 07, 2009, 05:02:57 PM
To acquire US Citizenship, you do have to renounce allegiance to any foreign crown or state. You don't lose your Irish passport, and the Irish gov still recognizes you as a citizen. But you have still taken an oath that renounces your Irish citizenship. I'm sure many invoke the spirit of Dev and issue a "Hollow Oath". But I'd say any such oath would be a step too far for many Irishmen.

It was for my father - he went to the states in his late teens, stayed nearly 20 years and refused to become a citizen. Fortunately for him, my mother was a little more pragmatic and did become a citizen, which allowed him to later get permanent residency status when they decided to move back in their later years. Patriotic though his reasoning may have been at the time, in reality, the only thing it did was limit his own options.

I use my Irish passport going to Ireland, US one coming back to the states. Never any hassle.

Assuming you weren't born in the States, what did you have to do to get the US passport? (Tyrones own, I'd appreciate your insight too)

Nothing at all....simply fill out the App form at my swearing in Ceremony, had it 4 or 5 weeks later.
I'm assuming it probably doesn't apply to you, but what is the story with having triple citizenship? There are quite a few people who would be entitled to having Irish, US and British passports.
Why wouldn't it apply to me J... sure I'd be one of them

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 07, 2009, 05:19:50 PM

Nothing at all....simply fill out the App form at my swearing in Ceremony, had it 4 or 5 weeks later.
I'm assuming it probably doesn't apply to you, but what is the story with having triple citizenship? There are quite a few people who would be entitled to having Irish, US and British passports.
Why wouldn't it apply to me J... sure I'd be one of them

My assumption was that you wouldn't opt for a British passport! :)

Am I wrong?!

Actually yes,  :P reason being I had a child passport for trips to Spain and stuff as a young lad then when
I applied for a passport of my own to come here on holiday's the nosy Bastards in Dublin wanted
bank statements and all kinds of other quite personal stuff from my parents....things I simply didn't want to furnish them with :-\
So sent off to Belfast for the British one and had it within a month, come out here on it and the rest as they say
is history ;D

I guessed you'd have to fill out a form. I didn't assume they came wrapped in Hershey bars like Willy Wonka's golden tickets. I meant what are the requirements?

man in black

Quote from: NetNitrate on September 07, 2009, 05:02:57 PM

I doubt that very much. A people that would sell out their northern neighbours at the drop of a hat would have no such crisis of conscience
'Till things are brighter, I'm the Man In Black

Quote from: deiseach on September 08, 2009, 12:40:36 PM

I guessed you'd have to fill out a form. I didn't assume they came wrapped in Hershey bars like Willy Wonka's golden tickets. I meant what are the requirements?

What are ye now some kind of comedian......Become a US citizen, other than that there are no fecking requirements!

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 08, 2009, 02:27:52 PM
What are ye now some kind of comedian......Become a US citizen, other than that there are no fecking requirements!

*sigh* I assumed you'd have to demonstrate that you fulfil certain criteria, e.g. live in a country for a number of years, marry a citizen (I'm eligible for a British passport!), parent born there . . . if it were as easy as you seem to be implying we'd all be at it.

Edit: just realised I asked about how you get a PASSPORT, not how you become a CITIZEN. Oops, my bad (as they say in the States). So with that in mind, what do you need to do to become a CITIZEN?

eejits, the requirement for a passport is to have US citizenship, the requirements to become a citizen are very onerous...
If you get a green card, you must then pay tax in the US for 5 years and avoid conviction for a crime. You must be resident in the US for a certain portion of that time. If you qualify through marriage then you get a green card after they interview you to make sure its not a fake marriage and then citizenship after 3 years, assuming you're still married.
there are a number of exceptions for "people of extraordinary ability"

Quote from: heganboy on September 08, 2009, 02:50:07 PM
there are a number of exceptions for "people of extraordinary ability"

No kidding. I remember reading an article how Gisele Bundchen has an unlimited visa. Who've thunk?