Scotland v Ireland

Started by Dinny Breen, August 07, 2007, 01:20:24 PM

QuoteAs usual the discussion is around Stringer and Boss (it should be Boss by any measure other than the 'he plays for Munster' rule  Wink) but misses the real issue of why ROG is still being picked. It doesn't matter who we have at 9 if all they're doing is feeding ROG, who'll then fcuk it up 7 times out of 10.

O'Gara is playing the best rugby of his life, you must be on a wind-up, I always believed Huimphries was the better 10 but time has caught up and passed him. O'Gara is the only contender and I'd be quite confident that he'll have a good World Cup.

QuoteO'Gara is playing the best rugby of his life, you must be on a wind-up, I always believed Huimphries was the better 10 but time has caught up and passed him. O'Gara is the only contender and I'd be quite confident that he'll have a good World Cup.

Agree 100% Dinny, apart from your spelling of Humphreys.

If Ferris goes to the WC, it should be as specialist cover for 8 or 6. He can play 7, but he isn't an openside by any stretch.

Tommy Bowe isn't good enough.

Quote from: SammyG on August 07, 2007, 03:07:54 PM
Quote from: Donagh on August 07, 2007, 03:04:56 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on August 07, 2007, 02:57:07 PM
Your man Bowe is pretty brutal I think. Don't know how he's anywhere near the Ulster team let alone Ireland!!

Why do you say that? He's had a few bad injuries but before that he was a great player and has been showing up well again recently. Should make the squad easily.

Totally agree with Donagh (not often I say that). Bowe is a fantastic player who had a bad injury and is now on the mend. If he continues his recovery. I'd be amazed if he isn't in the squad.

Great to see Tommy Bowe stick it up the begrudgers especially that p***k Neill Francis in the Sunday Tribune!

Quote from: Donagh on March 21, 2009, 08:03:12 PM
Quote from: SammyG on August 07, 2007, 03:07:54 PM
Quote from: Donagh on August 07, 2007, 03:04:56 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on August 07, 2007, 02:57:07 PM
Your man Bowe is pretty brutal I think. Don't know how he's anywhere near the Ulster team let alone Ireland!!

Why do you say that? He's had a few bad injuries but before that he was a great player and has been showing up well again recently. Should make the squad easily.

Totally agree with Donagh (not often I say that). Bowe is a fantastic player who had a bad injury and is now on the mend. If he continues his recovery. I'd be amazed if he isn't in the squad.

Great to see Tommy Bowe stick it up the begrudgers especially that p***k Neill Francis in the Sunday Tribune!
Kind of sad you recall that, but you are 100% right, Tommy had a wee shot across the bowe of the RTE panel in his post match interview too - good man Tommy.

Jesus Donagh I wouldn't want to get a lend of a tenner off you!

Tommy is probably a good shout for the Lions now.

ooo err, looks like I was very wrong about Tommy Bowe. I'd normally stick up for an Ulster player at all costs too!

His improvement in terms of stepping, as well as defensively, since he went to Ospreys has been phenomenal if you ask me. His last year at Ulster was good, but it does seem like he moved up a level once he moved on. There is no weakness in his game these days, not one I can spot anyway.

I was right about O'Gara and Ferris though ;-) 

Schkite

He's bound to get a spot on the Lions squad now, playing great stuff. I think he's the favourite for the no. 14 jersey. Moving to the Ospreys has brought him on a great bit alright.

Who would have thought it, a Monaghan man on a grand slam winning team! Good man Tommy!

Okay, I'll be the first to admit he did settle back into his comfort zone for a bit but Eddie didn't do him any favours - the potential was always there to see for anyone who has even a passing interest in Ulster.

What struck me this evening was the total team effort (hello Munster and Declan) and how even though all the old heads deserved this, it was the young lads who stepped up to the mark during this Championship to push them over the line - Fitzgerald, Bowe, Flannery, O'Leary, Ferris, Wallace (both) and Heaslip. As a Nordie, the day would have been complete if Simon Best had been there with this brother, Trimble been given a decent run in the centre and David Humphreys was five or six years younger.

Still in O'Driscoll, O'Connell, O'Callaghan, Stringer, Hayes, O'Gara and I suppose D'Arcy and Murphy we always had the nucleus of a quality team of winners.

David Wallace young? You sure you haven't been celebrating too hard Donagh?!

Well he's younger than me  :) Nah what I was getting at was he hasn't been ever present in the side over the past six of seven years as the half dozen others I mentioned and to be honest I haven't noticed him until this year (unlike his namesake)