NCAA at Croke Park - Penn State v UCF

Started by AZOffaly, August 12, 2014, 01:49:54 PM

I noticed they had about 18 referees on the pitch. Maybe that's the way we should go in the GAA.

Some razmatazz in Croke Park yesterday. The hallowed turf with cleats in. The place full to the steel rafters. F16 fighter jets with sonioc booms deafening the local residents and not a sign of the Dublin city environmental deptartment with their sound meters. Special dispensation given to take all the alcohol you wanted to your seat ( although the previous week this wasn't on ).Cheerleaders on the grass.

I can see a proper NFL game coming shortly.

And the place coming down with green backs.

Can't believe they misrepresented hurling with that Super Elevens BS at half time. It was an opportunity to showcase hurling. Instead they showcased a non-existent game that looks more like lacrosse.  >:(

Eamonn, it actually looked brilliant. I was very impressed, and the American's there were very delighted with it. Don't worry though, I explained that this was just an exhibition thing, and the real game was even better. I told them to check ye out when they got home.

I didn't watch much of it, but I did hear the American commentator at the start saying, "This place holds 82,000 for soccer". Sorta punctured the PR initiative for football and hurling.

The Biff

I couldn't hear much of the stadium commentator, but it seems I didn't miss much.  Miscellaneous observations:

• Some crowd in Temple Bar beforehand, and it's great to have a part of the city like that to give a focus point for all the tourists.  Really buzzing down there.
  • Shuttle buses from there to Croker were completely inadequate (take a bow of shame Dublin Bus) so we walked.
  • Good chuckle at the parachutist missing the ground; I wonder was he Irish or from UCF?
  • The yanks don't sing their own anthem, leaving it to the choir.  We sang the Irish one though with the usual gusto.
  • Beer at your seat while watching the game - dont think it would really work with a GAA match as there would be too much action and much more lepping around.
  • Very few of the fans around me got in any way animated about the game.  Only good quip was one guy shouting at the refs - "We know you're staying in the Radisson".
  • Far far too many stoppages in play (TV ad breaks I presume).  I reckon the players must hate it if they would only admit it.
  • Really bad planning to let the two teams play in light colours (white vs pale gold/cream).  From a distance, you could tell nothing about what was happening in the scrimmages.
  • Quite enjoyed the Hurling 11's except that the Irish commentator didn't really know which team was which (Munster v Leinster), called both goalies "Nicky Quaid" at different times.  Definitely a concept worth pursuing to suit small pitches with only soccer goals available.
  • UCF were really rubbish, ridiculous amount of "false-starts", couldn't play a rushing game to scratch themselves.  Replacement QB at half-time was way better.
  • Penn State fans so much louder, and justice achieved with the final result.  They were so much better than UCF that it would have shown up badly if UCF had held out in the end.
  • Croke Park looked really well for the game.  With so many on the sideline, I dont know how this would fit in the Aviva.
  • Incredible to see the pitch on TV on Sunday without a trace of the previous day's action.
Never argue with a fool; He'll bring you down to his level and then beat you on experience.

A few of my takes on your observations.
Quote from: The Biff on September 01, 2014, 05:51:09 PM
I couldn't hear much of the stadium commentator, but it seems I didn't miss much.  Miscellaneous observations:

• Some crowd in Temple Bar beforehand, and it's great to have a part of the city like that to give a focus point for all the tourists.  Really buzzing down there.
Yup. I was in there on Friday and it was great. Decided against it on Saturday based on the fact that I thought the buses would be inadequate, so went to Croke Park hotel instead.
  • Shuttle buses from there to Croker were completely inadequate (take a bow of shame Dublin Bus) so we walked.
No Surprise.
  • Good chuckle at the parachutist missing the ground; I wonder was he Irish or from UCF?
Not sure. Jaysus I got a fright though, i thought he hit the back wall of the Hill. He could have killed himself. Apparently he landed on the train track.
  • The yanks don't sing their own anthem, leaving it to the choir.  We sang the Irish one though with the usual gusto.
No, they typically don't. They stand with their hand on their heart. We sing it with our hands behind our backs :)
  • Beer at your seat while watching the game - dont think it would really work with a GAA match as there would be too much action and much more lepping around.
Probably agree, although it was nice to be able to bring a pint in.
  • Very few of the fans around me got in any way animated about the game.  Only good quip was one guy shouting at the refs - "We know you're staying in the Radisson".
The crowd near me, mostly UCF, were into it alright but I thought the Irish fans were good too. Everyone knew what was going on, compared to 20 years ago.
  • Far far too many stoppages in play (TV ad breaks I presume).  I reckon the players must hate it if they would only admit it.
I think they are used to it. Probably doesn't even cross their minds. Plus they like the breather.
  • Really bad planning to let the two teams play in light colours (white vs pale gold/cream).  From a distance, you could tell nothing about what was happening in the scrimmages.
Agreed. I thought Penn State would have been in their Blues.
  • Quite enjoyed the Hurling 11's except that the Irish commentator didn't really know which team was which (Munster v Leinster), called both goalies "Nicky Quaid" at different times.  Definitely a concept worth pursuing to suit small pitches with only soccer goals available.
That guy did my head in. The hurling was great though.
  • UCF were really rubbish, ridiculous amount of "false-starts", couldn't play a rushing game to scratch themselves.  Replacement QB at half-time was way better.
They were missing their starting RB who apparently missed curfew. That probably explains the running game, although Penn States linebackers were good against the run. Yes, O'LEary made the wrong choice of starting QB, and I think that job is now with the lad that came in.
  • Penn State fans so much louder, and justice achieved with the final result.  They were so much better than UCF that it would have shown up badly if UCF had held out in the end.
Were you in the Cusack? I think that was the 'Penn State' side. UCF were loud where we were, but Penn State had far more fans.
  • Croke Park looked really well for the game.  With so many on the sideline, I dont know how this would fit in the Aviva.
the Aviva is perfect for it. Fits like a glove. The Notre Dame game there in 2012 was like it was made for American Football. Bear in mind the length of a soccer or rugby pitch is much closer to American Football which is 120 yards including the end zones. The American Football pitch is much narrower, so there is loads of room even in the Aviva.
  • Incredible to see the pitch on TV on Sunday without a trace of the previous day's action.
Absolutely. Credit to the groundstaff. I stayed in Croker to watch the Mayo game in the premium section, and they were doing the pitch and the goals at that time. Unreal job.
[/list]