Strange GAA Day

Started by Kerry Mike, December 10, 2008, 07:03:11 PM

I woke up this morning, as I do most mornings, but there seemed to be something wrong. The rain and the cold were gone, birds were singing and the sun was out.

Feck it but it looked like a spring morning, not the middle of miserable December and I was strangly in good form and I had no hangover either, I had a feeling it was going to be a good day. I threw a few rashers on the pan and then realised I could not ate the hoors so fecked them in the bin. Fecking lumpy porridge again.

While having my oats and the cupan of tae and taking a quick sconce through the paper but missing the rasher sandwich, my thoughts wandered to another day in the office but soon drifted as they do to more serious things like the state of the GAA world and Kerry in particular.

I was thinking how lucky I have been to witness some of the great teams from the Kingdom and also some of their fantastic achievements over the last 125 years.
A Hurling title in 1891, a first football title in 1903 with another 34 added for good measure, two 4-in-a-rows, a few triples and doubles as well, including the recent great achievement of a first 2-in-a-row in nearly 20 years. The U21's had their medals tucked away, the Jack was back and the future looks bright.

Proud moments and memories and a sense of pride in your place of birth, jaysus but could today start off any better.

But what jumped up off de paper to greet my sleepy eyes brought first a smile, then laughter and then uncontrolable tears of joy. Could it really be so? I checked it wasnt the 1st of April and also that Christmas morning and Mr Claus and his band of merry reindeer had not arrived early.

Something was up.

Off I tottered to work with my Chest out and a grin on me smig. (I work in Langerland, not the TV show BTW, but the county) and shock hands with all the locals who I refer to as D'Langers , they call me D'Kerry bollix but yerra that's okay on a day like today.

"Is it true" I ask D'Langers who think they are in the know , the wans who for weeks have been taking the sides of the Rebel Hurlers , then turning against them and then supporting them again.

Is it true that there is going to be a KERRY TRAINER TO THE CORK HURLERS ?

There is a God and he has a sense of humour after all. Jaysus one of the few last remaining sacred cows of the GAA world and the Langers come looking for a Kerryman to train their Hurlers. I can see us getting alot of milage out of this one. I wish Aodan well in his role, he will have a lot to put up with, in the prima donna former players, the county board and the politics that reside in Cork GAA.

The excuses are out already in Langerland, "What would a Kerry man know about hurling" to which I reply "yerra if he fails at the hurling he might make a few footballers out of them cause God knows with only 6 All Ireland's they could do with a few".

Strange days indeed..........

QuoteI was thinking how lucky I have been to witness some of the great teams from the Kingdom and also some of their fantastic achievements over the last 125 years.

And of course Kerry's getting into 3 figures in the BullSh*tting championship.
You got to love yez.

QuoteAnd of course Kerry's getting into 3 figures in the BullSh*tting championship.

whats that supposed to mean ?

Quote from: Kerry Mike on December 10, 2008, 07:03:11 PM

I was thinking how lucky I have been to witness some of the great teams from the Kingdom and also some of their fantastic achievements over the last 125 years.

Holy Jaysus, what age are ye anyway?