Leinster Club Football Championship

Started by AZOffaly, November 14, 2008, 11:10:12 AM

Howye lads,

Don't know if there's a thread on this already, but I thought I'd start this one off with Pascal Kellaghan's goal versus Portlaoise in the first round last weekend. If Ronaldo or Rooney did it there'd be mass orgasms on Sky Sports.

Pascal is an awful frustrating lad, prone to indiscipline and bouts of laziness on the field, but when he's on, he's got great talent. He scored a super point off the outside of his boot a while ago in a Leinster Championship game (maybe against Louth or Laois) from the sideline, but this goal is a great example of his vision and instinctiveness when he is on song.

Rhode won by the way.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RYVu2MHMSBs

I disapprove greatly. He should have caught it first!

Nicely summed up Kellaghan there AZ, he was always fond of getting "involved" to the detriment of his game.

Speaking of the Leinster Club, your home town are trotting along nicely...  ;)

mattockranger

great goal more posts like that please!!

it takes a special player to produce brillance like that!!

sidenote
just wondering about Niall Mcnamee was he approached to play for ireland one of the best forwards in the country
will to win is important the will to prepare to win is vital

Don't know if Nialler was approached for Ireland, or if he even put himself forward. Rhode would be a big deal to him, they fancy a run at Leinster this season, but we'll see. He was a bit erratic for Offaly this year. Like the rest of them.

Should be a good game between Crokes and O'Mahony's on Sunday. Having seen them both a couple of times I'd have a fancy for O'Mahony's to take this. If they get enough ball into the Brays they'll do some damage.

This Years Model

Wasn't it the same Pascal who burst on the scene to great fanfare when he first played for Offaly seniors as a teenager? I seem to recall he used to score some mad points from all over the gaff. Then he kinda went off the boil and just more or less simmered ever since that. Or have I the wrong Offaly forward who started out 6 or 7 years ago?

Nial McNamee burts onto the scene in 2003 as a teenager. Pascal is a bit longer on the go than that.

cavan4ever

QuoteShould be a good game between Crokes and O'Mahony's on Sunday. Having seen them both a couple of times I'd have a fancy for O'Mahony's to take this. If they get enough ball into the Brays they'll do some damage.

Got that one very wrong. Good job I didn't back my fancy!!

Wasn't at the game but I would say Crokes were may more battle hardened after their last 3/4 games. O'Mahonys won each of their last 4 games by more than 10 points. Obviously the going got tough and they couldn't handle it. Not unusual for that to happen with such a young team.