Worst Sport

Started by its me again, February 13, 2009, 03:44:53 PM

Derry Dolly

Quote from: SidelineKick on February 13, 2009, 05:22:51 PM
Quote from: Derry Dolly on February 13, 2009, 05:05:39 PM
camogie?? skills may not be as up to scratch as hurling but stil enjoyable to watch an even better to play  ;D
also have played gaelic before an the skills needed for camogie are ten fold that off foozball   :-X ;)

worst sports?
cricket (insert yawning face)
table tennis

Tell me Dolly, why oh why do these sportswomen insist on hitting the thing along the gound?  I dont play hurling but I can perform the basic skills to a decent level. This includes getting the ball up into my hand!!!!

WHY DO THEY HIT IT ALONG THE GROUND?!

you said that you were forced to watch these matches at school? wel have you watched a senior game recently?alot more lifting now than in the past. not sure why it was encouraged more to strike on the ground but its changing, not quite to the same standard as hurling yet..but were getting there  ;D
stil think theres much more skill required for camogie than football though!

longball

...... Ladies Gaelic Football  :o
Spotted any unladylike behaviour report within:
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13209.0

billy the kid

Quote from: Derry Dolly on February 16, 2009, 11:37:21 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on February 13, 2009, 05:22:51 PM
Quote from: Derry Dolly on February 13, 2009, 05:05:39 PM
camogie?? skills may not be as up to scratch as hurling but stil enjoyable to watch an even better to play  ;D
also have played gaelic before an the skills needed for camogie are ten fold that off foozball   :-X ;)

worst sports?
cricket (insert yawning face)
table tennis

Tell me Dolly, why oh why do these sportswomen insist on hitting the thing along the gound?  I dont play hurling but I can perform the basic skills to a decent level. This includes getting the ball up into my hand!!!!

WHY DO THEY HIT IT ALONG THE GROUND?!

you said that you were forced to watch these matches at school? wel have you watched a senior game recently?alot more lifting now than in the past. not sure why it was encouraged more to strike on the ground but its changing, not quite to the same standard as hurling yet..but were getting there  ;D
stil think theres much more skill required for camogie than football though!

Your 100% correct there Derry Dolly.

In ladies football they play with a size 4 football (same as u14 fellas) and are allowed to lift the ball straight of the ground and it is still piss poor.

A couple of years ago i ended up going to watch Armagh v Cork in the All Ireland Senior Ladies Football final at Croker and the standard was very poor.  The game was very very slow and the skills were like a poor U16 club team. No player was able to kick the ball (size 4) any more than 30 - 35 yards and all the points were scored from inside 25 yards as they couldnt reach the goals from any further out.  To top it of an Armagh forward went for a point from about 25yards out, straight in front of the goals and like the rest of them, it was struggling to make it over the bar and dropped into the net over the keepers head (who was no stranger to the chippy). 

A good Male u16 club team would have beat the pick of the 2 teams that day. 

I also dont know why they call it 'Ladies' football, when most of them are complete men - look up the Muck Savages thread to hear some nice tales about them.

I agree Curling is a dung sport also. remember that scary 'man' Rona with the banana man Jaw, who was captain of some Brit team that won something? total ming dinger (think she went on to play Ladies football for Armagh ;) ;)

Lawn bowls is a joke also

And that sh*t Dressage and Cricket sicken my hoop.
If it moves hit it
If it doesnt hit it anyway!!

I don't understand why some of ye are having a pop at ladies football, I've watched a fair bit of it and it can be excellent. There is certainly plenty of skill and the pace of the games are good, as for the notion that the players look like men well if you think that you definitely haven't seen too many games. By any standards there are some absolute crackers playing the game at club and county level.

SidelineKick

There's a clinker plays for Roscommon, FF maybe.

It has vastly improved over this past few years, keepers are still way behind.  Why do they insist in putting the "sturdier" weemen in goals?  Also the amount of goals that go in over their heads.
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

Don't get the anti-cricket lobby either but it is all about opinions.
Watched the Australia / NZ one day yesterday morning, great finish to the game and one great piece of fielding http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJisYcXPE6A
One thing that they had was the commentators were linked up to the bowlers!  Basically they were able to talk to the bowler in between deliveries and get his slant on things etc, very unusual but it made for good TV. 

theresagreen

i'd like to play a game with those who have criticized ladies football!
imo formula one and tennis are extremely boring sports!

Eoghan Mag

I'm surprised only one other person here mentioned golf. Pitt and Putt is pure evil too.

Did anyone ever see the version of handball that is played as an Olympic sport? I can't get my head around that one. It looks like a glorified school yard invention. I reckon we could make a better fist of marbles (oh wait that the modern Bowels) or 'nearest flicked card to the wall wins' (Cardies) as an Olympic sport

Quote from: Fionntamhnach on February 16, 2009, 05:24:37 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 16, 2009, 04:42:47 PM
I don't understand why some of ye are having a pop at ladies football, I've watched a fair bit of it and it can be excellent. There is certainly plenty of skill and the pace of the games are good, as for the notion that the players look like men well if you think that you definitely haven't seen too many games. By any standards there are some absolute crackers playing the game at club and county level.
I still maintain to this day that the Mayo vs. Waterford All-Ireland Senior ladies football final in 1999 has been one of the best games of football I've witnessed - it's certainly up in my top 10.

As for some of the cheap pops at the game, if you were to take most adult female sports teams and put them up against a bunch of boys aged 16-17 who are reasonably good (especially if the mens game allows for physical contact) in the same code its more than likely the boys will win simply because the male body at this age will be able to beat the females in terms of speed, strength and mobility. The Wexford and Cork senior camogie teams themselves would struggle to match a good U16 boys hurling team while they're at it. Secondly, most mens football games these days see the vast majority of the scores, especially from play, take place within 25 to 30 metres of the goals - most points beyond this come from either free kicks or 45s unless there is a strong wind behind the kicker, so its hardly fair to pick on females for not being able to do something that most males players seem incapable of doing themselves. Also the size 4 ball effects the flight of the ball more in the wind than a size 5 - don't believe me? Take several of each (size 4 and 5) out to a field and try and score points with them from a spot about 35 metres out from the goalposts into a reasonably strong breeze - it will be more likely that the size 4 balls will drop short or go off course (depending on the breeze) as the smaller, lighter ball and especially if they're not fully blown up will be affected more by the wind compared to a size 5 which will follow a more predictable, less varied path. Finally, the term "Ladies" Football seems to be an overhang from some era regarding the game when Womens football would be a better term as it is in most other sports, but anyone slagging off players because of how they look says more about the chauvinism of the person making the comment than of the players themselves - the players go out to play and win, not to look good and be fashion models! One main problem is goalkeeping, but this is simply down to the average height of women being less than men, and so the gap between the reach of the person and the crossbar is going to be bigger. This doesn't dismiss the fact that managers of such teams seem to put in players into goals as an afterthought where to me a goalkeeper os one of your most important players on the pitch.

Now back on to the thread, there's not many sports that I can say I don't like watching. Maybe tractor pulling and most motor-sports though that still doesn't detract the amount of skill and vision many drivers need and especially in Formula 1, high fitness levels. Before I went to Australia I wouldn't have thought much for cricket but having played a number of backyard games I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it.
The average ladies player is not gonna get any bigger unless we wait several generations so why don.t they just reduce the size of the goalmouth? I know a lot of goals make it seem like an entertaining match but it's usually not the case when you see goalkeepers dropping high ball into the net, getting the ball hit over their head into the roof of the net etc. It draws a poor reflection with the mens version.

Wrestling, I hate that contrived shite from top to bottom. Who wants to watch a bunch of roid abusing idiots pretend like they are engaged in a meaningful contest, it makes me want to puke watching that contrived bollocks.

Nascar is a baud un as well, I know there is skill involved however they turn left and thats it, formula one and the cart series is a far better spectacle to watch.

I am just back from Daytona and the Daytona 500 was held there yesterday, i got out of dodge the day before the race because a man can only stomach so many rednecks at a time and I could take no more.

Table tennis is a tremendous sport btw, someone said they didnt like it earlier.

Ladies football is a great game to watch also, camogie though!!!!!  ::)

Quote from: hardstation on February 17, 2009, 12:48:55 AM
I like watching ground hurling. A great (imo, the best) part of the game.

PSNI v Harland and Wolff Welders Hockey.

Derry Dolly

Quote from: Zulu on February 16, 2009, 04:42:47 PM

i dont mean to slag ladies football as i used to play it, i was just defending camogie as it was being slagged. I've watched and played numerous games of ladies gaelic before and although quite enjoyable, i still maintain that there is more skill required in camogie than in football (mens or womens  ;) )
as for the post regarding what the players look like i dont really think thats relevant in this thread!and not entirely true either,plenty of female footballs are feminine looking..must be the flattering kits they wear!

"Olympic" Tae Kwon Do.  I studied traditional TKD for 10 or so years and used to compete in and referee competitions before it became a fully-fledged Olympic "sport" and Jaysus H. Christo, didn't they only go and ruin the whole damned thing.  Now you score a point for squealing.  Fecking crap. Bring back the original scoring system I say.