The End of Cheap Flights?

Started by Hurler on the Bitch, August 28, 2008, 10:27:11 PM

Hurler on the Bitch

I see tonight that the soaring costs of fuel have claimed 'Zoom Travel' who flew to Canada from London, Glasgow etc. Would anyone give me odds on who will be next? Jet 2? Easyjet? etc.. I read the book by Paul Kilduff who travelled around Europe on Ryanair - good insight into the world of penny-pinching. Interesting to note that in 2006, O' Leary hedged his bets on fuel not going over £75 a barrel. Well we all know that even Ryanair were caught out by that one. But, the attitude of O'Leary was that 'if we are struggling, well the rest are getting it worse and we'll buy them off one by one as they fall. High risk strategy and it will be interesting to see how this pans out. Personally, I'm going to buy three coaches and start the old bus, boat, bus ride to London trip. Sorry folks, but the days of the 0.01 cent trip mey be FECKED...

Niall Quinn

I had a trip to Ireland booked with them, and I just had to rebook on Air Canada at a 50% price premium, and now I'm battling with Visa customer service (on hold and cut off twice) in the likely vain pursuit of a Zoom refund.
Life's rich tapestry can f**k off today!
Back to the howling old owl in the woods, hunting the horny back toad

Fly, why fly when you can take a train.................... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pq5uJD5J5LI&feature=related

sorry but I needed to find a reason to post that.

This may scupper my plans to fly around europe going to see Angus & the lads as many times as possible on their next tour.

Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on August 28, 2008, 10:27:11 PM
I see tonight that the soaring costs of fuel have claimed 'Zoom Travel' who flew to Canada from London, Glasgow etc.

And me had a flight booked with them to come home in October  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on August 29, 2008, 12:05:28 AM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on August 28, 2008, 10:27:11 PM
I see tonight that the soaring costs of fuel have claimed 'Zoom Travel' who flew to Canada from London, Glasgow etc.

And me had a flight booked with them to come home in October  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

A lot of airlines will fold in the next 6 months. Be very careful with package deals and gift horses.

comethekingdom

looks Michael O Leary will be proved right again!!. The sooner the begrudgers wake up and smell the coffee and listen to the ryanair boys the later this country will go down the tubes - the row in cork over airport charges (something like €2 or €3 per passenger!) is ludicrous. If the DAA gobshites dig their heels in and demand the extra charges, shannon & cork airports will have no traffic worthwhile going thru them!