steven mc donnell cries about getting beat

Started by smcafee, August 20, 2008, 10:26:32 AM

Am i the only supporter in Ireland that misses the national league as it was with a pre xmas split.  

winsamsoon

The backdoor system only saved Armagh this year from an even more embarrassing defeat. If they would have met a provincial winner they would have been beaten more convincingly. I also cannot understand how MC Donnell thinks playing provincial champions would be easier than provincial runners up??? Surely the runners up would be easier :-\ It all boils down to excuses lads, when kernan had that team there was never a player coming out and complaining. This was simply because they hadn't time for excuses if they were beaten they were beaten fair and square by a better team (and i have no criticism in this regard for the new management)

The back door system is grand, MC Donnell is only complaining about it now because they were embarrassingly beat by Wexford. The only difference in winning the All Ireland through the back door or taking the traditional way is the fact that there are more matches. that is the only difference. If you are going to win an all Ireland you will beat all put in front of you anyway and have no excuses. Get up and get on with it Stevie.
I never forget a face but in your case I will make an exception.

I wish he would follow more of Paul McGrane's example - never looks for excuses nor talks big about winning all-irelands. Keep the head down and get on with the next game should be the motto.   

There's something about the 'I don't want to play for Armagh if I think we cannot win the All-Ireland' that I'd be a little uncomfortable with. I know many will say he's earned his stripes to say such things but there's something about county pride that's missing there. What about the lads who played from 82-99? He's still on this side of 30 too.

Quote from: smcafee on August 20, 2008, 10:26:32 AM
Hey stevie,how did armagh reach the 2003 all ireland final?

cry baby.

And I do believe that you're the biggest crier on this board. The irony!

Have to say !!

I've always had 100% respect for Stevie McD.

Clinker of a footballer !

And that's coming from a Tyrone man !

youngfella

Pull hard and early

Quote from: Zapatista on August 20, 2008, 04:58:48 PM
Quote from: corn02 on August 20, 2008, 04:56:02 PM
Not true Zaptista, you think teams out by the quarters would have interst in the league?

Plsu Championship games should ot e played in winter conditions.

If it is there preperation for the Championship then they will treat it the same as they treat it now. Why should they not be played in winter condidtions? The league is and many club championships are.

Only 8 teams will be still in it. 24 teams won't give a shit about the league.

League and club Championships are not the showpiece of the GAA, All-Ireland final is.

Quote from: corn02 on August 21, 2008, 09:11:12 AM

Only 8 teams will be still in it. 24 teams won't give a shit about the league.

Good point

Quote from: winsamsoon on August 20, 2008, 06:14:16 PM
The backdoor system only saved Armagh this year from an even more embarrassing defeat. If they would have met a provincial winner they would have been beaten more convincingly.

And if your Auntie had balls she'd be your uncle!

billy the kid

Always had loads of respect for McDonnel as a fantastic player and as someone who always seemed to carry himself well both on and of the pitch but this statement is just looks like another attempt of Armagh trying to make excuses for not performing on the All-Ireland stage.  In the past they have been guilty of underestimating teams and thinking all they had to do was turn up and they would win a couple of times (Fermanagh 2004, Kerry 2006) but on the rest of the days they were deserved to be beat as they had been outplayed (Although 2005 semi V Tyrone could of went either way)

Armagh havent won another All-Ireland because they didnt deserve one as they couldnt beat the teams put in front of them.  Against Wexford this year they were found out and werent up to the task when it really mattered.

I personally am not a fan of the qualifiers even though they have been very kind to Derry, but everyone knows how they work and the rules regarding them before a ball is kicked and the rules are the same for everyone. So stop your whinging Stevie and stop looking for excuses, the buck stops with you and your team-mates when it comes to reasons for not performing on the All-Ireland stage.

By the way criticising your manager in the media is just bad form if your going to sit down and talk to him about staying on the panel or not.
If it moves hit it
If it doesnt hit it anyway!!

Armagh won an All Ireland in 02 by winning every game, since then they have lost at least 1 game in every championship.  They know how to win an all ireland if they were good enough, win the games. 
Kerry have had the same complaint and Tyrone can point to 2 potential all Irelands when they were provincial champions and beaten by backdoor teams in quarter finals this decade.  From 2002 I think outside 2005 when there was but a kick of the ball between Tyrone Armagh and Kerry I cant put my finger on a time when I thought Armagh were going to win a second all Ireland.   They were knocked out by those powerhouses of football, Fermanagh and Wexford, Derry and once by Kerry.  Under scrutiny his argument dosent stack up at all.  Indeed I had an argument with A Dublin fan before last Saturday who claimed that  Armaghs lack of competiveness in the All Ireland arena over4 the last number of years as Ulster champions indicated that we were a third world GAA province again.   

Maybe he should consider that they possibly wouldn't have won their 7/8 Ulsters if the backdoor system hadn't been in place - Tyrone have had superior footballers for most of the period imo and who's to know how they would have reacted in for example 2005 Ulster final if it had been a straight knockout.
He's basically talking shite imo.

billy the kid

Quote from: rrhf on August 21, 2008, 04:37:58 PM
Armagh won an All Ireland in 02 by winning every game, since then they have lost at least 1 game in every championship.  They know how to win an all ireland if they were good enough, win the games. 
Kerry have had the same complaint and Tyrone can point to 2 potential all Irelands when they were provincial champions and beaten by backdoor teams in quarter finals this decade.  From 2002 I think outside 2005 when there was but a kick of the ball between Tyrone Armagh and Kerry I cant put my finger on a time when I thought Armagh were going to win a second all Ireland.   They were knocked out by those powerhouses of football, Fermanagh and Wexford, Derry >:( >:( and once by Kerry.  Under scrutiny his argument dosent stack up at all.  Indeed I had an argument with A Dublin fan before last Saturday who claimed that  Armaghs lack of competiveness in the All Ireland arena over4 the last number of years as Ulster champions indicated that we were a third world GAA province again.   

No need for that son!!

Ave a nice apple and dry your eyes ;D ;D

Honestly think McDonnell is just making excuses that quite honestly dont carry much weight.
If it moves hit it
If it doesnt hit it anyway!!