Kildare vs Laois - Challenge Game

Started by Dinny Breen, June 05, 2008, 11:51:42 PM

The official opening of the new Round Towers 'Squires Gannon Stand' will be marked by a match at 6.30pm between Kildare and Laois this Saturday evening in St. Brigid's Park, Kildare.

The local press had this down for 7:30, please be aware the time is 6:30pm.

Sin É

At least your lot are in the back-door Dinny, so the game might have some real real-time relevance, though spare a thought for the poor Wicklovians (who are out), who despite having beaten yourselves (who are in) are condemned to a rerun of the Cup they won last year. Neither fair nor right, though enjoy your evening, hope it goes well for ye. And GAA, get your heads out from up your fecking asses!  ;)

I hope the Kildare hatchet men don't injure their more illustrious opponents as we do have a Leinster Semi Final coming up  ;)

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 06, 2008, 12:09:24 AM
I hope the Kildare hatchet men don't injure their more illustrious opponents as we do have a Leinster Semi Final coming up  ;)

I knew that Liam Kearns was some eejit, sending out his best players for a challenge game! Dump him Real Laoislad;)

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 06, 2008, 12:18:32 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 06, 2008, 12:09:24 AM

I knew that Liam Kearns was some eejit, sending out his best players for a challenge game! Dump him Real Laoislad;)

On what basis .Its not as if Laois have a large pick .Liam Keriins was able to get 5/6 Limerick Hurlers to commit to the footballers in his time there .

QuoteI hope the Kildare hatchet men don't injure their more illustrious opponents as we do have a Leinster Semi Final coming up

You weren't far off, this was a very physical game for a challenge and both sides were getting well stuck in, in fact the referee had to get about 6 players taken off or he was going to send them off and in fairness with no risk of a red card it actually added to the game, there was no diving or cheating from either side just good hard football. Loais are looking very sharp and at one stage were leading by 11 points, Kildare staged a come-back but fell short in the end. I think it was a good game for both managers and Laois won't be bullied by anyone this year might even stick money on them to win Leinster.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 08, 2008, 11:49:38 AM
QuoteI hope the Kildare hatchet men don't injure their more illustrious opponents as we do have a Leinster Semi Final coming up

You weren't far off, this was a very physical game for a challenge and both sides were getting well stuck in, in fact the referee had to get about 6 players taken off or he was going to send them off and in fairness with no risk of a red card it actually added to the game, there was no diving or cheating from either side just good hard football. Loais are looking very sharp and at one stage were leading by 11 points, Kildare staged a come-back but fell short in the end. I think it was a good game for both managers and Laois won't be bullied by anyone this year might even stick money on them to win Leinster.

Christ a Kildare man putting money on us....We're rightly fucked now

QuoteBtw who lined out for Laois?

No team sheets available, but Laois played about 12 of the team from last week. No Munnelly or O'Loughlin in midfield and Higgins didn't start either I think. A lot of changes went on during the game but Laois are developing some very good strength in dept, they were moving the ball out at pace and then very quick low balls into the corners with the occasional high ball into the square. Third time I've seen them this year and there is a definite rising graph in improvement. Donnie Brennan looked for sharp when he entered scored 1-3 I think, the goal was a peach.

The bet is a might, what to have a look at the Dubs today first.